Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 592
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School 2

Posted August 04, 2014
- a student
It's a small building with no nurse's office, no library, no lockers (yet each teacher expects like a binder from us), some teachers arent qualified for their work and at times hesitate to help you. It's really broke and there wont be any after school programs this coming year. There is no school spirit, they make us have lunch at the rooftop which is small and not as cool as it sounds, which hardly has any shade and they wont let us in the building.when the sun is burning us. There is also no where to go during lunch because the rooftop is all there is. The students at times are also rude and irritating, and you often dont know who your real friends are or you just dont have real friends. The work is confusing because it's just not like the teachers taught you. for example, they teach you how to do the basics of a math question and then give you the advanced stuff which you know nothing about. I say that this school might be good for only one thing: students who don't want to do their work and are lazy because sometimes it puts them on track (not always though) but it's not a good place to go overall. It's stressful and horrid.

Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School 4

Posted June 20, 2013
- a teacher
I have been a teacher at our school for more than 8 years now, and while we have much room for growth, we've had some great successes that are not reflected by our "6" rating. This year, we had 12 students get into UCLA, 3 get Posse full tuition scholarships at schools in New York and Pennsylvania, our first student going to Dartmouth, many more going to UCs and CSUs and private schools, and many going to community colleges who might have never thought of college. Our mission is to prepare ALL of our students for success in college, leadership, and life, and we take this very seriously and work very hard to reach this goal.


Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School 5

Posted February 12, 2013
- a student
Good school! Teachers help you and make sure to keep an eye on you until you pass the class!

Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School 5

Posted October 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School 4

Posted July 06, 2009
- a student
This is a good school for students who need extra attention. If the student is having any problems, the teachers will get strait to the case. The is a closer net of communication in this school, and compared to the rest of the public schools in the area ODLH is a great school that gives much attebtion and care to the students. Though, for the students that are 'advanced/gifted' it may not be the school for them. The classes aren't as challenging, as I have experienced, and being in a class with students of different levels, the gifted student may fall behind or become bored. There are AP classes, but not many to satisfy the need for the gifted students; nor are there Honors classes. But overall, this school is a pretty great one!


Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School 2

Posted June 18, 2009
- a student
The teachers are cool but the principal gives students a slap on the wrist when they misbehave. We don't have school spirit, or choices to take another language than spanish. My other school was better.

Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School 5

Posted April 15, 2009
- a student
This school is really great. I am happy i am attending this school. It has many clubs to join and wonderful teachers who take their time after school to help. It offers several AP classes and sports. It also prepares you for college thanks to College Readiness class. I really recommend this school.

Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School 0
no rating

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
this is a great school, my son is very happy there and the teachers and,atmosphere is beautiful and i am very happy.


Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School 5

Posted May 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School 5

Posted February 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School
1114 South Lorena Street, Los Angeles, CA  90023
(323) 780-1259
Last modified Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top