Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 329
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 53 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


62 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a community member
Renaissance Arts Academy's philosophy is that all students can succeed. All of the teachers work in a way that allows for all students to keep learning and developing no matter how long it takes for them to make the progress they need to. They offer tutoring before school and after school, and it's taught by the teachers! They are interested in the skills and interests that students bring. Several projects have started as a result of student interest. They have build a robot from scratch, programmed web pages, and the shows that these students create are amazing. The shows also include almost everyone. There is a commitment here to helping students achieve excellence that is difficult to find. And, because students are given the time they need to move forward, they all do get to a place of success.
1 person found this helpful

Renaissance Arts Academy 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
I went to school there for Junior High and right away I found myself not really learning. I just went with the flow and just stuck around. But once I hit 8th grade I finally found out why i was doing okay at this school , because I was a "Favorite". Once I found a highschool with better opportunities for me and what I wanted to major in in college, and I told the director she immediately treated me different. There is a lot of favortism at this school. And sure they have good gradings, and rates and a lot of they kids end up going to really food universities but its only because they have a grading scale of only A's and F's, and of course everyone gets A's therefore giving the child a 4.0 GPA. Also when I went to another High school and I took the placement test for math class, I scored very low, and I'm the only one how has gone to others schools and scored very low, it goes to show that they are not teaching right. And some classes that I am taking at the moment, I'm lacking a little bit of background that I should I learned in middle school but at RenArts they didn't teach for example history. I struggled so much in History. Its not a very good school.
1 person found this helpful


Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
My child has special needs. There has never, ever, been a school where he has been treated as bright, capable, and "a pleasure." The teachers make sure that he can succeed.

Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
This school has been an amazing experience for my daughter. She is in her second year and I have seen her grow so much at this school. She is totally engaged academically and love's the small school environment. It is definitely not a school for everyone but it has been a wonderful experience for my daughter.

Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
This is the first school that ever saw my child for who he is. The teachers "advisors" actually took the time to get to know that my child was intelligent and caring. They did not just treat my child like someone who is not as "smart" as other students.


Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted April 20, 2014
- a community member
First, it is small. Only 350 students. It means that kids don't get lost. Second, they work together. It's more about helping each other succeed than being the best. I like it most for those reasons.

Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing!! My son is doing so much better and has a much better understanding of mathematical concepts. I wish they had a school like this when I was a child! I recommend this school to any parent who is tired with the old conventional way of teaching and is open to new innovative ideas!!

Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
This is the second year at Ren Arts for both of my daughters they both love it! I have watched them grow so much in these two years. My youngest has really come along way academically and I give credit to her advisors, especially Sid who she really enjoys working with. I am a single struggling mother who is so thankful to Ren Arts for providing access to the arts (dance and Viola) it takes a village! The schools dedication to the students makes all the difference. Thank you Ren Arts!


Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Don't know where my daughter would be if it weren't for this school. She has blossomed into an amazing dancer, and her academics have never been better. The advisors are extremely helpful and the directors are caring and genuinely concerned about every scholar that attends their school. I love RenArts. I only wish there were more schools like Renarts.

Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a community member
Being at Renarts from 7 years I come to the conclusion that this is a great school due to its college level self-learning and interdisciplinary studies. The "Great Books" are questioned, deconstructed, and loved so you are receiving the best of the best here at Renarts. People have a negative connotation associated with the milieu of a "Liberal Arts Education" because of reviews from Newsweek ranking the "Liberal Arts" in a list of "The Most Useless College Majors" filled with vast unemployment and low salaries. I completely disagree with the world's perception. Renarts teaches you how to teach yourself. I agree with the president of Dartmouth college John Sloan Dickey who said " The Liberal Art present choices ranging from the largest philosophic issues of wisdom and wrongdoing through the dilemmas of statecraft, the hypotheses and many wrong ways of science to the most delicate variants of taste and style and expression and all arts form, could any other field other than the liberal arts yield as broad and as significant an introduction to life's comparisons and choices? " As he tagged them as "liberating Arts" making you a independent student here at Renarts.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Renaissance Arts Academy
1800 Colorado Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90041
(323) 259-5700
Last modified Renaissance Arts Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Renaissance Arts Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. Top