Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
An absolutely unique school that challenges students -- actually, they call them scholars -- to work hard, learn hard, rehearse hard and then reap the benefits. I could not be happier with the program, and my son loves it too.

Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted March 27, 2015
- a student
I'm a second year at this school and I absolutely love this school there academic studies is unbeilevably outstanding as well as for the musical and dance studies I'm a violist and this school has taught me how to be the best I can I learn slot at this school and I hope my future kids can go here


Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a community member
Renaissance Arts Academy's philosophy is that all students can succeed. All of the teachers work in a way that allows for all students to keep learning and developing no matter how long it takes for them to make the progress they need to. They offer tutoring before school and after school, and it's taught by the teachers! They are interested in the skills and interests that students bring. Several projects have started as a result of student interest. They have build a robot from scratch, programmed web pages, and the shows that these students create are amazing. The shows also include almost everyone. There is a commitment here to helping students achieve excellence that is difficult to find. And, because students are given the time they need to move forward, they all do get to a place of success.

Renaissance Arts Academy 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
I went to school there for Junior High and right away I found myself not really learning. I just went with the flow and just stuck around. But once I hit 8th grade I finally found out why i was doing okay at this school , because I was a "Favorite". Once I found a highschool with better opportunities for me and what I wanted to major in in college, and I told the director she immediately treated me different. There is a lot of favortism at this school. And sure they have good gradings, and rates and a lot of they kids end up going to really food universities but its only because they have a grading scale of only A's and F's, and of course everyone gets A's therefore giving the child a 4.0 GPA. Also when I went to another High school and I took the placement test for math class, I scored very low, and I'm the only one how has gone to others schools and scored very low, it goes to show that they are not teaching right. And some classes that I am taking at the moment, I'm lacking a little bit of background that I should I learned in middle school but at RenArts they didn't teach for example history. I struggled so much in History. Its not a very good school.

Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
My child has special needs. There has never, ever, been a school where he has been treated as bright, capable, and "a pleasure." The teachers make sure that he can succeed.


Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
This school has been an amazing experience for my daughter. She is in her second year and I have seen her grow so much at this school. She is totally engaged academically and love's the small school environment. It is definitely not a school for everyone but it has been a wonderful experience for my daughter.

Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
This is the first school that ever saw my child for who he is. The teachers "advisors" actually took the time to get to know that my child was intelligent and caring. They did not just treat my child like someone who is not as "smart" as other students.

Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted April 20, 2014
- a community member
First, it is small. Only 350 students. It means that kids don't get lost. Second, they work together. It's more about helping each other succeed than being the best. I like it most for those reasons.


Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing!! My son is doing so much better and has a much better understanding of mathematical concepts. I wish they had a school like this when I was a child! I recommend this school to any parent who is tired with the old conventional way of teaching and is open to new innovative ideas!!

Renaissance Arts Academy 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
This is the second year at Ren Arts for both of my daughters they both love it! I have watched them grow so much in these two years. My youngest has really come along way academically and I give credit to her advisors, especially Sid who she really enjoys working with. I am a single struggling mother who is so thankful to Ren Arts for providing access to the arts (dance and Viola) it takes a village! The schools dedication to the students makes all the difference. Thank you Ren Arts!

Nearby schools

Renaissance Arts Academy
1800 Colorado Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90041
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. (323) 259-5700
Last modified Renaissance Arts Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top