Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Centers Of Learning

Private | K-12 | 94 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $294,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,280.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

My daughter is about to graduate from Centers of Learning. The amazing teachers and beautiful campus have been an absolute joy. The teachers are accessible and I really felt like my child received a great education in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2014

Both of my boys attended Centers of Learning's elementary and high school. I love this school. My oldest son is now an English professor and the youngest a lead database programer. The teachers and staff at Centers helped prepare them for success; for that, I am thankful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

I attended this school from 2nd grade through High School. It is an excellent school that provided me with a great education allowing me to pursue a successful career as a structural engineer. The teachers truly care about the students, and their education.


Posted July 24, 2012

This is an amazing school. I am an alumnus of Centers of Learning, 5th-12th. I graduated and went directly into University and I was very well prepared for college. What they have done with the campus is amazing. The beautiful playgrounds, lush green grass for the kids to play on and fun study areas for the kids to be in are wonderful. The classes are still small as they were when I attended, a definite plus. They even have an animal training program now with a horse, goats, and chickens. I'm so thankful I had the opportunity to attend this wonderful school. This school is like a treasure hidden in a field.


Posted August 8, 2010

If you want your child to read early and read well, this is the school for you. They have perfected the art of teaching reading and writing at an early age--- with very high standardized test scores overall. Loving, nurturing environment with an eye on the limitless potential of each individual student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

I have two elementary school-aged children attending this school, and they both started there in preschool (age 3). I can't say enough about the dedicated staff, the great curicculum, the small class size...I could go on and on. My kids actually love going to school and look forward to learning. There is such a family environment- the other parents/kids are so involved and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

Wonderful school. Great teachers. A surprise find in the middle of the valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

They have been very very kind and loving - the staff is phenomenal! Lots of great activities and a wonderful campus! It really says something when the staff and all the kids look like they are happy to be there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My sons first year here, so far we are extremely pleased, the teachers are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

One of the best private schools in the Valley! My daughter is now in the 11th grade and she has been attending this school since age 3 (pre-school). I love Centers of Learning and am so thankful for its principal and teachers. They have integrity, tremendous dedication and express real love for all of the children. The academic level is also very high--most kids score well above average on SAT tests. Beautiful facility, wonderful people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

Great School! I am an alumna of Centers of Learning and loved every minute of my education there. The teachers were very caring, and were continually challenging me to do my best. I was well-prepared for college and have now graduated and have a successful managerial position with a global company. Pros: wonderful staff, great campus, great opportunities that you don't get at larger schools
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

Great School! Great Teachers! Great Administration! Our son is a sophmore at Centers of Learning, and has been attending the school since preschool. We chose Centers of Learning because of the strong professional administrators and teachers, the curriculum, and a philosophy that says all children can learn if taught. The school creates a climate condusive to learning -- safe, clean, caring, well organized, small classroom sizes -- and has a high level of parent involvement and support. Through every grade, each of our son's teachers has played a significant and important role in his growth and development. They've held him to the highest standards, provided him with ample opportunities to practice the skills he's been taught in order to grasp concepts, and have genuinely cared about him personally. These parents couldn't be more delighted!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2007

This school has provided a great learning experience for my children. The staff is remarkable and most importantly they care about the kids. My children have been exposed to a variety of activities that are not provided in public school. Proud Parent of COL
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation California State University Northridge
UCLA
USC
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Debra Grill
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (818) 893-8074

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Public and Private Universities
California Community Colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8854 Haskell Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 91343
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 894-3213

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tiny Thinkers School
North Hills, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT