Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Los Angeles Adventist Academy

Private | K-12 | 153 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $154,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,280.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 20, 2010

My daughter has been attending since pre k. She is now going to the third grade. The classroom size are small. The teachers are caring. My child loves the school. She enjoys going to school everyday. Academics, Wonderful. I love it. The school is predominantly black. This helps with my daugther, as she can identify with people of her race and not feel like and outcast. Same hair, skin, No identity crisis here. Last but not least, they have a great teaching of the bible studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I am an alumnist of LAAA and in my opinion, here is no place like LAAA especially if you are a Christian. At this institution there is no doubt that your child or ward will be taught the love of Jesus. Although I have fond memories of the school as a future educator, there are some things about it that I feel need to be Changed in order for the school to reach its full potential. However even though there are some things that must be fixed, I can honestly say that their institution adequately prepared me for college and life in general.


Posted December 18, 2009

I attended this school from 8th grade until my senior year. Though I am not Adventist, LAAA has helped me not only acquire a good education but also establish a stronger bond with God. My parents both saw the impact this school had on my older sister and I and hence have decided to send my two youngest brothers as well. I am currently a Senior at a 4 year University and will be applying to law school in hopes of starting in the fall. While given that there is room for improvement at LAAA, if a child chooses to make the best of what the school has to offer the child will grow both intellectually and spiritually.


Posted September 8, 2009

This is an amazing school!! My child has learnt so much since she started to attend two years ago. The teachers and staff truly love their students. They do not only worry about academics but also about the social and spiritual development of their pupils. The discipline is excellent, the students respectful...Before enrolling my child in this school I visited school in Long Beach, Torrance, Cerritos...etc. Who could imagine that I would find such a wonderful school in L.A. Trust me, it is a long drive from my home, but it's worth each and every mile. Give it a try
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

I am an alumni of Los Angeles Union (aka Los Angeles Adventist Academy). It is unfortunate when individuals share negative remarks regarding our teachers. In Christian schools, our teachers are the lowest paid and their works go unrecognized, most of the time. I have witnessed first hand the dedication our teachers they bring to their students. My mother has been an elementary school teacher at LAAA for over 45 years. My two adult children have graduated from LAAA, and now my 4 1/2 year old son is attending the Pre-K program. At some point, we must stop blaiming others for the challenegs we endure as parents raising our children and find a resolution instead of pointing our fingers at others. With that being said -- LAAA is a wonderful school! Alumnus & Parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

This school is excellent! My son has learned so much in his first year of attendance. The teachers are nurturing and dedicated. Thanks for helping our family, Los Angeles Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

I have had nothing but amazing experiences from this school. First is very nicely equiped, the campus is big and well taken care of. The students are well behaved, but most important the teachers trully care about the students. They worry not only about the academic instruction but also spiritual and social skills. A++++++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2006

This is my daughters first time at this school and I have already started to have problems. The school is very unorganized,my daughter is not learning anything.I am going to pull her out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 87% 6%
Hispanic 9% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 11%
White 2% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Carol Todd
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

846 East El Segundo Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90059
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 321-2585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Community Preschool
Los Angeles, CA




Carver Elementary School
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT