Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Marcus Garvey Elementary And Preschool

Private | K-8 | 52 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $253,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2011

Excellent math and science program in a small classroom setting. So students who could get "lost" in these subjects, instead develop a sound understanding and appreciation of math and science. The exposure to history for people of color is more diverse than LAUSD. The campus is small and the kids can't get away with much trouble making. Excellent learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

My daughter attends Marcus Garvey now but after just 1 year her last day will be coming after she graduates from pre-school. The school is very good when it comes to acedemics and im pleased when it comes to my daughters learning accomplishments but theres alot of negatives about this school i have learned about. #1 The principal and staff are very unorganized and last minute when it comes to school paperwork. #2 Events are planned at the school that dont start on time and are handled unprofessional and to top it off they had a prom last week and my daughters teacher was more so on a date with a married parent sharing heavy liquor bottles under the table at a preschool/elementry school prom. How unprofessional is that? I thought we were here for the kids, not on dates. It showed bad charecter, bad morals and just looked bad on the schools behalf and as a teacher. Also, upon me noticing another parent that was with me noticed as well and approached me explaning her dislike with the situation. I thought this school would be the best but its just not for my child. Overall, there are some good things but the bad out weigh the good in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

Marcus Garvey School has been a blessing for my family. I believe that the academic expectations for African American and Latino American boys are extremely low. I wanted to find an environment where African Americans excelled and are not allowed to give excuses. We are simply amazed by our 3 year old who is writing, spelling, adding and is excited about going to school and learning more! Marcus Garvey has a well-rounded academic and arts curriculum instructed by caring teachers. I can t pick my son up too early from school because he doesn t want to miss any of the work. Although my child is in pre-school, I am working with the middle school students at the Marcus Garvey Robotics Club where we meet once a week. We have many intelligent parents that get involved here. I think that the future is bright at Marcus Garvey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

Marcus Garvey School is a wonderful school. As a result of their excellent teaching and advanced curriculum, I attended my first college class at the age of 14. Also, since I graduated from MGS, Sis, Saunders continue to make sure that I am involved in varies programs. At the moment, I am the president of the MGS Junior National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE), which is organized by students from Cal State LA. Thanks Sis. Saunders and the Marcus Garvey family for all of your support. TT


Posted August 25, 2010

Marcus Garvey is a wonderful school. I have a grandchild at this school and he is doing well. I recently attended his kindergarten graduation and was amazed to hear and see these children learning things that I didn't learn until I was in the 8th grade. They are also learning about themselves, which is something they definitely need to know. I also had a grandchild graduate from MGS and he is attending high school and doing exceptionally well. Yes, Marcus Garvey has a very good curriculum for our children.


Posted August 25, 2010

As a former student of Marcus Garvey, I can truly say I would recommend this school. They teach you about yourself in a positive way. It is a caring environment. I liked Marcus Garvey.


Posted February 24, 2010

My daugther just enrolled in Marcus Garvey about 3 months are so ago, and so far so good, but I do feel that they want us to come out the pocket alot for different thing, like dance class and uniforms for the class, food fundraisers, and skate fundraiser, us as parent are already paying alot to educate our children and they need to draw the line somewhere and look at how much we are paying just for the education, and since there's no sports programs, the dance classes and things like that need to be free!!!! This school is a little over priced..But right now I think I would recommend this school to another parent if they could afford it.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

My wife and I are very pleased with Marcus Garvey School...I've heard about their accomplishments all my life and when we had our daughter we knew we would give the school a try...Our daughter is in the pre-school and peope are amazed at what she has learned: States/Capitals, spanish numbers, counting and writing into the hundreds, addition/multiplication, etc, etc... Our little girl just wowed the the entire family over Thanksgiving dinner and we are so grateful for this jewel in our community!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

My daughter attended Marcus Garvey during her 7th grade year. I loved the school. The curriculum was challenging. Mr. Kingsley (English teacher) was the greatest teacher I have ever met. He was very inspiring, engaging and motivating. He was the greatest assest the school had. I watched my daughter blossom under his instructions. My daughter did not have the same positive expereince with the math teacher. I think it is great to have a school that focuses on African-American students and provides a challenging curriculum that prepares them to compete in the education and social arena.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

i hate this school. i used to go there & i dont recommend it to anybody. its overpriced & 600 a month, lunch is disgusting & barly anybody goes there. the teachers are not qualified & the ruls are rediculous
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2008

This is the best school I know for black kids. They educate them for their style and ways of learning. The teachers are like 2nd parents so the kids don't get out of line. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

I love the education my son recieves from this school I went here myself in the eighties and the curriculum and care is still the same
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

I love this school. Outside of school, no ohter kid my son's age compares to how intelligent the school has made him. People are literraly in disbelief at the level my son's at. Marcus Garvey is an excellent school that teaches kids to be proud of who they are! As for the sports, i have my son play sports at the local parks which makes up for the fact there is no sports at the school. This works out fine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

The quality of academic programs,and parent involvement zero. The kids often complained about the lunch. I do no recommend the school for any students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

This school is based on the past education and has failed at teaching. This school has no sports and have a high turnover for teachers. Most teachers are not skillful in their field. I do not recommend this school for anyone. The school has no policy or procedure manuels, no school rules, and no parent/teacher manual.The school is based off of past teachings. Look at the school website, that is not the education you get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

Marcus Garvey is a very good school. My son has been there for almost 3 years. He is very smart. He's now 4 years old in Kindergarten. I like the school alot and his teacher is great. I plan to take him out this year because he needs to interact with more males and the staff is mainly female. They also lack sports, which my son loves, they have tap, but he wants to play ball. Other than that I would recommend the school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

I love how they teach the students. My daughter has attended since pre-school, she is now five and in the first grade. She learned things I learned in high school and I went to private schools. The only thing I dislike about the school is as a parent you are always coming out of your pocket for something. They need aid or help from other sources. Many people love the school but can not afford it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Exceptional teachers who love what they do. It shows in the children academic achievement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

The quality of academics at this school is above and beyond.I have not seen a school that can come close to Marcus Garvery. This school teaches the truth about everything. The kid are highly advanced and challenged in every subject. The programs music,art,dance,etc. I feel are good however every school should be innovated in this are and branch out for the kids. Parent involvement to me seems to needs improvement, the parents stay to themselves and they do'nt really talk to other parents. But my child will attend this school until 8th grade. This school prepares hot/cold breakfast and lunch healty food and no pork for the kids. If their is a problem they get right on it and will dismis kids that causes problems at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

This school is very good but I really dont like it though. I mean Im learning a lot but Im the oldest girl there and some of the teachers just get on my last nerves.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 82%
Two or more races 15%
Hispanic 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
White 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5760 6th Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90043
Phone: (323) 294-1020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dawah Community School
Los Angeles, CA




Marie Fegan Schools
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT