Advertisement
Advertisement

Summit View-Westside School

Private | 2-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $615,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2013

The school is geared towards children with learning disabilities and it was a godsend that we found it. Public school, while making an attempt to aid children with various learning disabilities, are woefully lacking in the skill required to make school a place of joy and fulfillment for children like mine. Summit View West provided my child with the structure, the attention, the individualized program and rigor for my child to succeed. She has more than reached her grade level in math, science, history and reading. (each year at public school she had fallen further and further behind.) The school teaches the child as a thinking, feeling individual and they go above and beyond. There is also a very warm whole family atmosphere with events, plays, sports, and comraderie. Everything is led by the very competant and insightful director Nancy Rosenfeld. Her leadership is noteworthy. She inspires confidence in the student body, the parent body and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

Summit View School is the real deal. For students with learning differences, this is a school that will help students reach their highest potential. As they progress to a higher level, they will be encouraged to go even further. For my daughter, this included taking courses such as chemistry, physics, and other challenging college prep classes. The teachers are continuously updated with new specialized teaching methods and help students access their academics. It is a school that will help students reach their academic goals and maintain their self esteem. If that isn't educating, then what is? I am proud that my daughter has succeeded in an environment that helps her learn and then advocate for her way of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

I have to disagree with the parents who have posted here recently. Our child has been there for 8 years and is thriving. The principle and staff are excellent and very caring. Unfortunately, behavioral problems often go hand in hand with LD, because the kids have extra frustrations, but the staff deals with the kids and gives them ample opportunity to improve. And when that doesn't work, the school has to let the children go, because they are too disruptive to the rest of the students. "Assaults" at this school occur less than at other public schools, and students are disciplined for them. We have had nothing but a great experience at this school, and we highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

Summit View had been the go to school for the public school districts to refer students with learning disabilities that could not manage on the larger campuses of high schools. High Schools also didn't have the resources needed for my child. We got in to Summit View in my child's 9th grade year. At first, he seemed to adjust well. Within a few weeks, the behavior of the other kids who where more troubled then learning disabled became a problem. There is bulling that the school is aware of but does nothing. My child had expensive outside testing that proved he needed several special programs which Summit View had. SummitView retested my child and she tested out of those much needed programs. The teachers are completely overwhelmed. And actually resentful that these kids are hard to handle. Hello that is your type of school. My child was pulled out of so many classes for "behavior" and left to sit in a room for hours. They'd call me to come get her. They have counselors,program directors, and a very controlling principal - thinks extremely high of herself. If your kid doesn't fit-they will recommend therapeutic boarding school-believe me; that is a whole other problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

This school lacks trained teachers in special education that truly care about teaching students. That staff and administration allow students to regularly be physically assaulted, girls are regularly bullied and verbally assaulted. Staff has been aware for years of these problems. Worst is that your child will NOT be educated here - the Westside location is known for having behaviorally out of control students that had no where else to attend school. Very disappointed, have pulled our child and are have been contacted by at least 8 other parents who want to pull their children as well. Staff turnover is a major problem - teachers suffer from burnout and take it out on the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

I would highly recommend Summit View! My son is going into his 3rd year of college and has a 3.0 gpa. I know Summit View prepared him not only academically, but socially for his future. The teachers and staff are amazing and really worked to assure he had a successful experience at the right college. If your child has learning differences...this is the place to send them!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2010

Great school. Very Elite, Incredible school. I am surprised how my child has grown academically. My child loves math! My child did not thrive at all in the traditional school setting. At this school, kids learn with various techniques, lots of acdemic field trips. My child went to UCLA Hospital to learn about the human body. They also took the kids to PALI Institute for 3 days to learn SCIENCE "hands-on." The kids grocery shopping to learn about the economy. The school offers, SIGN LANGUAGE, Public Speaking and has a nice gym. Also has an after school program with extra curricular activities. What I like best, the school does NOT accept kids with behavior problems. which makes a huge difference in my child's learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

Summit View West is a school that is geared towards helping children and teens with special needs. My child attended here for 5 years and for the first 2 years the school was an excellent environment that allowed here to work on here disorder. But as time went on she was greatly bullied by the other students, she was the center of horrible rumors, often her school items were stolen or broken by others, and constantly her classmates made cruel sexual comments towards her. This type of behavior was not only happening to my daughter but also to her friends and the school took Little to NO action when spoken to. I am so happy she is out of there!


Posted October 5, 2009

We are thrilled with how well our daughter is doing at Summit View West. Her confidence is so much better than it used to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

If your child's issues are severe and they cannot learn, Summit View is great. If your child has any potential to learn, run! They will not challenge/educate your child, they will teach down to them. They will not prepare them for the outside world. After leaving mid high school my son could not transition into a regular high school, he was totally unprepared/uneducated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

My son recently graduated from Summit View. He is well prepared and excited about attending college, this fall. His experience at local public school was disasterous and Summit View was an excellent alternative to a system that would have otherwise allowed him to fall between the cracks. Their administrators, faculty & staff are outstanding. The support and guidance that is offered to students.... priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

This school left my high school child completely uneducated to transition into an other private high school. He has to retake many of the same classes over. I would highly warn you not to send your child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 76%
Black 15%
Hispanic 3%
Asian 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12101 West Washington Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90066
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 751-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Wildwood School
Los Angeles, CA


Culver City Adventist
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT