Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Camino Nuevo Charter High School 1

Posted April 01, 2015
- a parent
THE (((MALE STUDENTS ARE RUDE))) AFTER THE SOCCER GAMES, THEY HANG OUT TO SMOKE AND DRINK IN THE PARKING LOT! THEY TAMPER WITH THE VEHICLES OF THE NEIGHBORHOOD, POKING HOLES INTO TIRES, SCRATCHING THE PAINT AND EVEN BRINGING EGGS FROM HOME. THE GAMES MONDAY THROUGH SUNDAY OVER-STIMULATE THE STUDENTS. THE SECURITY NEED TO STAY UP TO ONE HOUR *AFTER THE GAME ENDS BECAUSE STUDENTS RETURN AFTER LOCK-UP AND DO DAMAGES TO THE SURROUNDING AREAS!! THEY ALSO HAVE BEEN SEEN TAKING PICTURES OF LOCAL HOMELESS PEOPLE AND VERBALLY TEASING THEM BECAUSE OF THEIR SITUATION, AND THROWING EMPTY GLASS BOTTLES. THEY QUICKLY RETREAT AFTER DOING DAMAGES AND CAN BE SEEN RE-FIXING THEIR CLOTHING TO MAKE IT SEEM AS IF THEY WERE JUST HAINGING OUT. MAKES ME WONDER WHAT IS MORE IMPORTANT TO THE SCHOOL, THE ACADEMICS AND GAMES OR WINNING GAMES AT ALL COST? I PLAN TO REPORT THIS TO THE POLICE! ITS TIME TO TREAT THESE WANNA BE ADULTS LIKE ADULTS!

Camino Nuevo Charter High School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a student
I graduated from here and looking back, it was a great school. It helped me with college questions and to care for the world.


Camino Nuevo Charter High School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent Charter High School. That helps students predominately of low imcome families. This school offers AP classes, Chasee preparation classes, SAT and ACT prep. Most of their students are getting acceptance to 4 year universities like UCLA, USC, UC DAVIS, UC SANTA BARBARA etc. Most of California State Universities are accepting them too, and some Ivy league universities (which is hard to believe, and a big dream for low income students) Some Camino Nuevo students are studying in some of the best private universities of US. With its rigorous academic program Camino's graduation rate is one of the highest in the neighborhood.

Camino Nuevo Charter High School 5

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
Small classes, commited teachers, and very good curriculum make it an excellent school. The teachers have the full support of the administration and always work in the best interest of the students. The school has a webstie where parents can check the progress of their child and if there is any question they can email the teacher and get a response quickly. While LAUSD teachers were on strike asking for more pay (not for their performance, just more money) this school was open as it should.

Camino Nuevo Charter High School 2

Posted January 25, 2011
- a parent
The teachers are alright but the administration is horrible. The school is run by three administrators/assistant principals who have questionable ethics. The school was founded by a pastor whose goal is to turn students into "agents of social change". The school effectively indoctrinates students. There are frequent changes in staff because teachers tend to quit after learning how bad things really are.Atleast 4 out of about 16 teachers quit every year, forcing Camino Nuevo to higher new teachers with little experience. Most of the teachers are young college graduates who just need a job to pay off their loans. I graduated thheir last year and my sister is currently a student there, she would leave but it would mess up her transcript and reduce her chances of going to an Ivy league university.


Camino Nuevo Charter High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is attending Camino Nuevo High School. She's in the 9th grade. (Charter School) This is the first time ever (including private school & public) that I have seen the teachers/staff so committed to the childrens education. The involvement between teachers/parents is awesome. These professionals care and want to give so much to the community so one day in the near future, these young men and women can be independent and able to face the world. And be respectable citizens! So...I was interest telling my story on camera and hopefully winning Camino Nuevo HS $20,000. I wish I had the funds to give, but I don't. There is no value set on obtaining an education especially in the times we are facing. From a mother's heart....we worry so much about our children, their education, and their safety. There are no gangs, weapon or drugs allowed. The children are taught to RESPECT eachother and adults. You couldn't find any other school around my area as GREAT as Camino Nuevo Charter High School. Thank you,

Camino Nuevo Charter High School 5

Posted September 04, 2010
- a student
This school is amazing! I am currently a senior at Camino Nuevo High School, and I really would not be able to deal with all these college things without the staff. They make sure we all register to SATs, ACTs, etc. and they call us one by one to make sure we have all of our A-G requirements. A lot of students say it's a tough school but it's only tough if you don't stay on track with your work. Even if someone is one of those students who doesn't stay on track, they are always on your back making sure you pass your courses. At Camino, you can not fail. They always expect the best out of you and they promote social justice. Anyone who disagrees with my review does not know what they are talking about. I am a student. I know!

Camino Nuevo Charter High School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a student
Amazing!!!!!! They really helped my out with a college aplications!!!


Camino Nuevo Charter High School 5

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
This is amazing, my daughter had failed most of her classes the prior year. This year her GPA was 3.5. Happy and enjoying school with confidence in herself without rude teachers that don't care about students.

Camino Nuevo Charter High School 1

Posted August 14, 2009
- a community member
This school claims to be 'college ready college bound' yet they do very poorly in their academics. They seem to be experimenting most of the time so see what works, which is clearly putting student's learning in jeopardy. At a glance they seem to be an ideal school but once explored it is clear of how incompetent they are. Another aspect of the school that stands out is the lack or manners/respect that the students show throughout the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Camino Nuevo Charter High School
1215 West Miramar Street, Los Angeles, CA  90026-6115
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (213) 240-8700
Last modified Camino Nuevo Charter High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top