Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center

Charter | K-5 | 625 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

A great and friendly school. My daughter has been in the dual language program since first grade. They have the best teachers in the dual program and the staff is really friendly. ThePTA at this school is amazing and wonderful. The teachers and parents work together to achieve in all areas. Alexander Science Center School has come a long way and it will continue to succeed year after year. My daughter has one more year to go and we are looking forward to graduating from Alexander Science Center school in 2016.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

I am a former student from here. I was in the first 2nd grade class when it first opened back in 2004. From then on I stayed until the 5th grade. I have to say that this a great school to send your children. The teachers are great!! When I went there the school had many field trips which was great because it exposed students to the outside world. I learned a lot from that school and now that I'm a junior in high school I still remember things they taught me back when I came here. Thanks Science Center for everything and thanks to the wonderful teachers too. Elementary Class of 2008!


Posted October 25, 2013

Alexander Science Center ha been a great experience for my 4th grader. Dedicated and Passionate teachers. The Dual program has been awesome for my daughter. The school has been working in all areas in order to improve and became one of the best elementary schools in Los Angeles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

My daughter has been at The Science Center School since kindergarten and I have to say that the experience has been great. She is in fourth grade now and The Dual Program has also been one of the best opportunities we have had at ASCS.Teachers and staff at this school are awesome. They are also working in all areas so they improve in order to become one of the best schools in Los Angeles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

My son has been at this school since kinder. I have had no bad experiences until this past school year. I was very displeased with the way my son's teacher conducted herself. Unfortunately I am one voice and if all the parents would have gotten together we would have made a difference. Hopefully this next school year will bring a better more positive attitude towards my feelings of the school. I have never had a problem with the principal and feel that if you want somethings done you must approach her with the utmost respect and she will give you the same in return. Overall if the parents would get more involved in the school it would make a big difference for our kids and their test scores!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

I have been teaching at the Science Center School for the past 7 years. It has been a wonderful and growing experience. Our teachers are dedicated and our students are hardworking. The teachers work hard to provide effective, quality instruction for all students. We're still a relatively new school and are working on our school's culture, but we've made tremendous progress in the programs we offer. I have thoroughly enjoyed working with the administration, fellow teachers, amazing students, and positive collaborative parents. This is a school that offers tremendous opportunities for students to DO science, work with technology, and receive a quality education that focuses on learning math and language arts through other content areas. At the end of the school year, we had our first talent show and the kids did a stupendous job sharing and showcasing their talent. I am excited to start the new 2011-2012 school year!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 18, 2010

The science center school has no excuse for not reaching and even far exceeding test scores and academic achievement for the students, given all the resourses available to it. the university, the science center partnership and the museum row that are at arm's lenth of the ASCS campus. I hope that the survey that was sent in may helps in some way and does not end up as just another thing that should of and /or could of.


Posted May 12, 2010

There is a lot of discord between Principal Denen and the teachers. sadly this has really affected the culture of the school. if they do not fix that the school will suffer and this translate into the children suffering. yes the principal is hard to approach, because she is very defensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

The principal at this school is difficult to approach. She has a negative attitude, especially in respect to her teachers. It does not seem she offers them the support they need to teach effectively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I was a student in this school I loved the school so much the playgrounds and teachers were really nice especially Ms.Dongon, Thanks for helping me Ms.Dongon through fourth grade. Ricardo Beltran. Thank you also Ms.simon take care.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2009

This is a great school with an awesome staff. My son's 4th & 5th grade teacher, Ms. Shuler, has exhibited her commitment for the success of her students. Principal Denen's has great leadership qualities and maintains parents informed of constant changes. I highly appreciate both of these amazing women.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I totally agree with the parent who posted that Fong and Simon are the best!!! I love Ms Simon!!! My daughter is doing fantastic in her class! Mrs. Simon is very creative and teaches her children to think 'out of the box'. She is very nurturing and totally committed to the students. The school is doing much better under Principal Denham's direction and the security is enforced much better. I am very happy with the school's growth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

Great School, Wonderful PTA!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Great School! Child Safety is Strickly enforced, Have a Kinder and First grader, I am VERY HAPPY with the staff at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

I have been very pleased with this school. I have two children attending ACS since the school first day it opened and I have not heard of anything bad happening, hopefully it stays that way. As a parent, I know that the gate is not opened until 7:30 and the state police officers don't get there until 7:15am I know better not too leave my kids there unattended. I have had the pleasure to know Mr. Peterson he is a great teacher and another great teacher I have to give credit too is Mrs. Dongon she is a fantastic teacher. I feel that teachers like them would help our kids learn and be better prepared for the years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

This has been an amazing year at the school. Filled with various field trips, events, and recognition for teachers! The dual language program is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

The culture of the school is based on inclusion and working together. This is a great fit for our family. Our child's attitude towards learning is so much better than before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

My dauther has beind in this school from opening day to currently in 5th grade. This school is great all of my dauther teachers have beeen outstanding . Ms lemle , mrs gomez and ms. Letterie . My dauther is in the gate program and has learn so much from this wonderful teacher their the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

This school is great! I was there for two years I had a great experiance with all the learning activities! This year I think the teachersshould do a better job ecxiting the kids about mat and science.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2007

I am the parent of a 4th grader, I think overall the school is great academically, but the discipline needs to get better, my daughter has been there since 2nd grade and thankfully all her teachers have been wonderful, especially her third grade teacher (Mr. Peterson). She has learned so many new skills both academically as well as life changing. I have to say that, 'without a doubt he is the best teacher at ASC.' If there were more teachers like Mr. Peterson, then there would be more students interested in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

766

Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

766

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females52%
Males44%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state57%

Math

All Students62%
Females69%
Males55%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate61%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students34%
Females39%
Males26%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state37%

Math

All Students49%
Females52%
Males43%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females63%
Males57%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state62%

Math

All Students64%
Females66%
Males63%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Females30%
Males43%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)21%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state22%

Math

All Students47%
Females43%
Males54%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state48%

Science

All Students40%
Females34%
Males49%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 76%
Black 21%
White 2%
Asian 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
English language learners 29%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 381 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
67%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
77%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
76%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
76%
 

District average

 
74%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
70%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
87%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
53%
 

District average

 
58%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
65%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
65%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents13624%
Students24587%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Norma Spencer
Fax number
  • (213) 746-7443

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3737 South Figueroa Street
Los Angeles, CA 90007
Website: Click here
Phone: (213) 746-1995

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Global Education Academy
Los Angeles, CA


Maple Primary Center
Los Angeles, CA


Accelerated School
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT