Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
Thanks you to Mrs. Ayala who showed persistence and professionalism in her teaching. My son showed a lot of growth across areas. Very patient and resourceful.

Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
I really like the amount of communication we have with the teachers-email, Remind texting system and notes.


Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
I feel the school is moving away from "paper homework" and doing projects. I like a little of both.

Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
There is a message that the students will achieve and persevere in their endeavors. The school setting sets high expectations.

Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center
Develops respect: Agree

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
First of all, that stems from home. Student appropriate behavior is developed at home and practiced at school. The kids all seem nice to each other.


Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
The Parent Center offers gently used uniforms for those who cannot attain them-they ask for donations at the end of the year-My son gave his uniforms.

Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
Their students are polite and respectful every time I have seen them. There will always be a "bad apple" but the Principal does a good job of presenting expectaions.

Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center 4

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
This a true GEM! The staff, students, and teachers have a partnership. We are a multicultural school and I love my son explaining the importance of KWANZAA or great scientists and inventors from all backgrounds. I feel so fortunate to be chosen in their school lottery. The California Science Center is so crucial in their science development. I just wish there were more after school programs there in the school- for the little ones-without having to stay till 545pm.


Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center 4

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
A great and friendly school. My daughter has been in the dual language program since first grade. They have the best teachers in the dual program and the staff is really friendly. ThePTA at this school is amazing and wonderful. The teachers and parents work together to achieve in all areas. Alexander Science Center School has come a long way and it will continue to succeed year after year. My daughter has one more year to go and we are looking forward to graduating from Alexander Science Center school in 2016.

Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center 5

Posted February 01, 2014
- a community member
I am a former student from here. I was in the first 2nd grade class when it first opened back in 2004. From then on I stayed until the 5th grade. I have to say that this a great school to send your children. The teachers are great!! When I went there the school had many field trips which was great because it exposed students to the outside world. I learned a lot from that school and now that I'm a junior in high school I still remember things they taught me back when I came here. Thanks Science Center for everything and thanks to the wonderful teachers too. Elementary Class of 2008!

Nearby schools

Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center
3737 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA  90007-4366
(213) 746-1995
Last modified Dr. Theo. T. Alexander Junior, Science Center is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top