Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public charter
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 1,300
Before care: No
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Larchmont Charter High School Open House Apply to Larchmont Charter High School today!!! Application deadline is 5pm on February 18th! Larchmont is a progressive, college preparatory, diverse, public high school located in Lafayette Park just west of downtown Los Angeles. This amazing school has a tight knit community where every student is known and kids have a voice in shaping the program. OPEN HOUSE Thursday, 2/5 at 6pm at 2801 W. 6th St. LA, CA 90057 WEEKLY TOURS Thursdays at 9am (sign up at larchmontcharter.org or click here http://www.signupgenius.com/index.cfm?go=s.signup&urlid=20f0f4baeae23a3fc1-larchmont) ADMISSION APPLICATION - http://www.larchmontcharter.org/about/enrollment
February 04, 2015

5 stars
Based on 194 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

660 reviews of this school


Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
We literally won the lottery when our daughter got into LCS kindergarden this year and we chose the Hollygrove campus. The teachers are caring and nurturing. Our daughter is thriving, and her academic progress and achievement has been remarkable. The only drawback is the small class size and high teacher:student ratio. On the bright side, the out-door space is huge and spectacular, and the school provides after school care and enrichment programs until 6 pm that are very affordable.

Larchmont Charter School 3

Posted March 09, 2015
- a student
The elementary school is good, very good to be exact. Unfortunately the same does not go for the middle school at LFP. I'm in 8th grade here and the teachers are well enough but the campus is small and crammed. The teachers have high-ish expectations and don't really challenge students. However, there aren't really any cliques...more of everyone's "friends".


Larchmont Charter School
no rating

Posted February 04, 2015
- a school leader
Larchmont Charter High School Open House Apply to Larchmont Charter High School today!!! Application deadline is 5pm on February 18th! Larchmont is a progressive, college preparatory, diverse, public high school located in Lafayette Park just west of downtown Los Angeles. This amazing school has a tight knit community where every student is known and kids have a voice in shaping the program. OPEN HOUSE Thursday, 2/5 at 6pm at 2801 W. 6th St. LA, CA 90057 WEEKLY TOURS Thursdays at 9am (sign up at larchmontcharter.org or click here http://www.signupgenius.com/index.cfm?go=s.signup&urlid=20f0f4baeae23a3fc1-larchmont) ADMISSION APPLICATION - http://www.larchmontcharter.org/about/enrollment

Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
excellent education development, congratulation , congratulations to the campus of Larchmont, very helpful for the students, very safe in the building and the students, all reporting to the parents regarding to progress to the students and if they need help are those given an especial programs to level them where need, congratulation on your excellent work.

Larchmont Charter School 1

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
For Lafayette Campus; This is a failing school. The school once thriving (elementary level) now disastrous. Unfriendly administration, inexperienced teachers, bullying, no gymnasium, no theater, no computer lab, no music, no art, cramped campus, still taking in students, elective classes are embarrassing, there is nothing. Parents teach sports after school, poorly taught. Do not be fooled by Open House, glamorized through entry level (6th grade). Rough environment. Most 8th graders last year did not return, most this year will not return, revolving door. Our children walked in above the bar, now below the bar. Common Core curriculum brought in, not mandate for charter schools. We were once a thriving constructivist learning environment. Do not be fooled by the 4/5 star reviews, must be administration. This September, new administration (again) is stepping in due to endless failures, and problems.


Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
Larchmont Charter School is amazing! Our child thrives in the most nurturing educational environment! Our principal is incredible and we are so happy and blessed to be a part of the LCS community!

Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
Larchmont is a gem of a school system and it's being grown fresh right before our eyes. It's a 10-year-old system, which merged and grew out to high school in the last couple of years. I've seen the whole curriculum K through 12 and it's amazing, I'm especially interested since I am getting my Masters of Education from UCLA. As the parent of a 3rd-Grader, I am in a sweet spot. This school is on the cutting edge of scientific research about what helps all kids learn and grow. No one is panicking about Common Core because, since inception, they've been practicing top-notch educational practices like learning math by having multiple opportunities to connect to the same math concepts and learning reading via non-fiction texts and fun projects. For reading, every child is in a small pull-out group with kids over a two-grade spread who are at their level. This is essential to have kids feel like successful readers. Different learning styles are supported in every classroom. I couldn't be happier with the academics. I have been shadowing at the middle school and the teachers are top notch. The high school is even on a block schedule. I know these kids will be ready for college!

Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted November 15, 2014
- a parent
This review is for the LCS Fairfax Campus (K-3). Our son is in his second year at LCS. We've been impressed with the teaching, curriculum, and community at this amazing school. Reading groups are tailored to the individual child's level. The writing program is excellent. LCS' Edible Schoolyard and gardening program gives kids a chance to experience science in a meaningful way. The art class is great. Socially, the way LCS teaches conflict resolution has meant my son's surrounded by a group of lovely kids who work things out with each other.


Larchmont Charter School 3

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
They are having a new executive almost every other year --as the school grows into a bigger school from K to 12, there have been a lot of growing pains. Communications have not been great last year and the sense of community doesn't seem as strong as it used to be. A lot of Hollywood type parents(at least on Fairfax and Selma) --it's not as diverse as they say when it comes to the parental body. Some wonderful teachers already took off and many others seem overwhelmed. The school is OK so far...not sure what the future holds.

Larchmont Charter School 2

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Just left Larchmont this past yr, a tough decision b/c our child attended LCS k-5 & we miss the kids&parents.There're some great aspects of LCS, most important being its 12 grades,but the problems we saw at the start, including poorly trained teachers, cramped inadequate facilities [no lib, gym, computer lab], and a "teach to the middle level of academics continued & in fact worsened by the time we went to Selma Campus for 4th & 5th.Other concerns included erratic/shaming discipline, inappropriate use of parents in some teaching spots& a top down leadership fail so our&other parents requests for change were resented/ignored.We switched at 6th b/c it is the most typical time to matriculate for middle school.Our concerns with LCS were also informed by having an older child who did k-12 in LAUSD & not seeing "LCS-type issues" during that time.So, we're more savvy consumers, if you will, which I don't think is true of many of the gushing reviewers here.I guess my best observation is that the earlier grades were fine, but if you want your child to have an excellent educ, LCS is not your best option for later grades.This is born out by the many spots now available at LCS for 6-11

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Larchmont Charter School
444. N. Larchmont Blvd. #207, Los Angeles, CA  90028
(323) 380-7893
Last modified Larchmont Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Larchmont Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 194 reviews. Top