Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 186 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


659 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Larchmont Charter School 3

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
They are having a new executive almost every other year --as the school grows into a bigger school from K to 12, there have been a lot of growing pains. Communications have not been great last year and the sense of community doesn't seem as strong as it used to be. A lot of Hollywood type parents(at least on Fairfax and Selma) --it's not as diverse as they say when it comes to the parental body. Some wonderful teachers already took off and many others seem overwhelmed. The school is OK so far...not sure what the future holds.
2 people found this helpful

Larchmont Charter School 2

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Just left Larchmont this past yr, a tough decision b/c our child attended LCS k-5 & we miss the kids&parents.There're some great aspects of LCS, most important being its 12 grades,but the problems we saw at the start, including poorly trained teachers, cramped inadequate facilities [no lib, gym, computer lab], and a "teach to the middle level of academics continued & in fact worsened by the time we went to Selma Campus for 4th & 5th.Other concerns included erratic/shaming discipline, inappropriate use of parents in some teaching spots& a top down leadership fail so our&other parents requests for change were resented/ignored.We switched at 6th b/c it is the most typical time to matriculate for middle school.Our concerns with LCS were also informed by having an older child who did k-12 in LAUSD & not seeing "LCS-type issues" during that time.So, we're more savvy consumers, if you will, which I don't think is true of many of the gushing reviewers here.I guess my best observation is that the earlier grades were fine, but if you want your child to have an excellent educ, LCS is not your best option for later grades.This is born out by the many spots now available at LCS for 6-11
2 people found this helpful


Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
We knew we won the lottery financially when our daughter got accepted to this school. We heard the school was amazing, but had no idea how amazing it really is. From the ridiculously dedicated teachers, active parents to really competent administration (this is important), we keep pinching ourselves. We also love how diverse the school is - not just racially but socio-economically as well. Living in LA, it's important to keep your kids grounded and this school does that. No frilly bells and whistles - just a great education. The best part? Our daughter loves it too! She used to cry every morning going to school and now she can't wait to go every morning. It's been a real game changer for us.
2 people found this helpful

Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
Larchmont Charter High School is a eclectic school with awesome teachers! We are a new 9th grade family that recently joined the high school. Our son came from a private, rigorous middle school, but has been more inspired and motivated by the teachers he has at LCHS. His Bio teacher is so organized and detailed with college-level curriculum, labs, and lessons. His Span. 1 teacher is so diverse and dynamic and the first Spanish teacher that makes him want to speak and learn the culture. He is having a blast with his Eng 9 and Geo teachers that constantly keep the class engaging with lectures, socratic seminars, portfolios, detailed reading, writing, oral presentations and innovative projects, along with traditional tests. The quality of his education is comparable or exceeds the pedagogy that some of his friends are getting who go to private schools like Loyola, Notre Dame, Campbell Hall, etc. He reads the same books and learns about the same content. The rotating block schedule and later start time is the perfect fit for us.I think all this school needs now is more parents volunteering (fingerprinting is common now in private and public schools for volunteers).LCHS is growing gem.
1 person found this helpful

Larchmont Charter School 1

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
This review is for Lafayette Middle/High School. Greatly disappointed, endless problems. We started at the elementary level which was wonderful. In two years we have had two Principles. Teachers come in go in bundles. Administration is incompetent and behave like children. Direction change constantly, parents are mistreated, mocked and gossiped if they don't play along. Parents are required fingerprinting in order to help (Not LAUSD Mandate). Minimal computer lab, music, and art. Homework site is ridiculous, many teachers do not post. LCS has fallen, curriculum is basic, not what it once was. Not recommended, many children will suffer for it. Any school will be better, do NOT BE FOOLED.
1 person found this helpful


Larchmont Charter School 2

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
We were an "original family" at LCS and ended up leaving when my son hit middle school. Be very careful about this school for the upper grades. Lovely for K-5 but falls off dramatically after that. Classrooms are chaos, weird curriculum and inexperienced teachers with a few exceptions. Students don't learn basics well and LCS in general doesn't do well with parents who question their academics. Gotta drink the kool ade or you'll be tagged....if your child is bright, much better options for middle school and high school. But fabulous school for younger students.
2 people found this helpful

Larchmont Charter School 2

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
Do your homework....Not recommended, Unfriendly administration. Inexperienced teachers. Very liberal. Too much favoritism amoung students.
1 person found this helpful

Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
If you want rigorous academics and socio-economic diversity, this is the best option in Los Angeles, or maybe anywhere. My kids have been at the school for 4 years, and it has exceeded our expectations in every way. There are so many reviews posted here - and they're overwhelmingly positive. I do feel bad for the handful of middle school parents who have posted here during years of transition - sounds like there have been some issue. But personally, we choose this school over all of the LA private schools for the quality of education, the character of the families and administration, and the diversity of the students. So happy to be among a community of hundred of other like-minded parents who agree that we have truly won the lottery in every way.


Larchmont Charter School 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This review is for the Lafayette Middle School. While many of the teachers are exceptional, they can't make up for the horrible ones (worst my child has ever had) and the incompetent administration. The executive director is the only one who could be relied upon and he is leaving. The Larchmont philosophy is lovely in theory but the implementation at this campus is abysmal and a massive disappointment. The campus has no outdoors, music and arts are barely emphasized and the school lacks resources- these issues would be livable if inept teachers were dealt with expediently and administrators were more organized and effective. This past year was just awful and we are happy it's over and even happier not to be returning. I have to give 2 stars for teacher quality rather than 1 because there are several 5 star teachers whom we loved but again, they can't make up for the school's deficiencies and the other horrible teachers who ruined the whole experience.
1 person found this helpful

Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
One of the best schools on LA my girl got graduate this year from 8th going to 9th next year she love her school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Larchmont Charter School
6611 Selma Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90028
(323) 836-0860
Last modified Larchmont Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Larchmont Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 659 reviews. Top