Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 182 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


655 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Larchmont Charter School 1

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
This review is for Lafayette Middle/High School. Greatly disappointed, endless problems. We started at the elementary level which was wonderful. In two years we have had two Principles. Teachers come in go in bundles. Administration is incompetent and behave like children. Direction change constantly, parents are mistreated, mocked and gossiped if they don't play along. Parents are required fingerprinting in order to help (Not LAUSD Mandate). Minimal computer lab, music, and art. Homework site is ridiculous, many teachers do not post. LCS has fallen, curriculum is basic, not what it once was. Not recommended, many children will suffer for it. Any school will be better, do NOT BE FOOLED.

Larchmont Charter School 2

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
We were an "original family" at LCS and ended up leaving when my son hit middle school. Be very careful about this school for the upper grades. Lovely for K-5 but falls off dramatically after that. Classrooms are chaos, weird curriculum and inexperienced teachers with a few exceptions. Students don't learn basics well and LCS in general doesn't do well with parents who question their academics. Gotta drink the kool ade or you'll be tagged....if your child is bright, much better options for middle school and high school. But fabulous school for younger students.


Larchmont Charter School 2

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
Do your homework....Not recommended, Unfriendly administration. Inexperienced teachers. Very liberal. Too much favoritism amoung students.

Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
If you want rigorous academics and socio-economic diversity, this is the best option in Los Angeles, or maybe anywhere. My kids have been at the school for 4 years, and it has exceeded our expectations in every way. There are so many reviews posted here - and they're overwhelmingly positive. I do feel bad for the handful of middle school parents who have posted here during years of transition - sounds like there have been some issue. But personally, we choose this school over all of the LA private schools for the quality of education, the character of the families and administration, and the diversity of the students. So happy to be among a community of hundred of other like-minded parents who agree that we have truly won the lottery in every way.

Larchmont Charter School 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This review is for the Lafayette Middle School. While many of the teachers are exceptional, they can't make up for the horrible ones (worst my child has ever had) and the incompetent administration. The executive director is the only one who could be relied upon and he is leaving. The Larchmont philosophy is lovely in theory but the implementation at this campus is abysmal and a massive disappointment. The campus has no outdoors, music and arts are barely emphasized and the school lacks resources- these issues would be livable if inept teachers were dealt with expediently and administrators were more organized and effective. This past year was just awful and we are happy it's over and even happier not to be returning. I have to give 2 stars for teacher quality rather than 1 because there are several 5 star teachers whom we loved but again, they can't make up for the school's deficiencies and the other horrible teachers who ruined the whole experience.


Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
One of the best schools on LA my girl got graduate this year from 8th going to 9th next year she love her school

Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
The first day I took my child to Larchmont I knew it was special. I could only wish that every school in Los Angeles could be like this school. It has talented teachers and a challenging curriculum with art, music and gardening classes. The school was founded by both concerned and proactive parents who wanted the best public education for their children. Today that is no different and that just might explain why there are 642 reviews for this special school.

Larchmont Charter School 3

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
I would not recommend this middle school at this time [2014]. My son is in 8th grade at the La Fayette campus. We joined the school in 6th grade based on the positive reputation and class offerings in art, music and language. Unfortunately the school is constantly adjusting to transitions [2 new campuses in 3 years] and suffers from inconsistent and poor leadership, high faculty turnover, lack of after school enrichment or recreation/sports, low supervision, verbal and physical bullying, overwhelmed, or disinterested, teachers, poor parent/teacher connections, and slipping academics. We will not stay for High School. The only positives: they do still offer art, music and Spanish, courses our public middle school does not offer.


Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
Our children are enrolled at the Hollygrove campus in elementary school and kindergarten. The teachers are enthusiastic, dedicated, supportive, communicative and involved. The community is engaged and active in furthering the academic and social growth of each student. The leadership has changed, but remains wonderful. Our Dean is soft-spoken with a steel spine. Her approach is open, approachable and invaluable. The campus has improved in facilities and offerings each year. It is a wonderful place for learning. We have very high academic expectations and LCS Hollygrove is hitting the mark. The after-school program has varied enrichment classes and incredible staff. We feel confident every day that our children are being challenged, nurtured and encouraged every day. It truly is hitting a lottery. We are extremely grateful.

Larchmont Charter School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is so much to so many different kids and parents. The school tries so hard; the teachers, and administrators. They have been very successful over the years... Yes a real track record... Yes sometimes there are some growing pains. Some decesions are not popular with some parents. Be mature, use the appropriate forum to express your thoughts.... Don't put down an amazing program that fulfills so many children's dreams of a quality public education.... Including my children...nothing is perfect however Larchmont really tries their best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Larchmont Charter School
6611 Selma Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90028
(323) 836-0860
Last modified Larchmont Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Larchmont Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 655 reviews.