Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wildwood School

Private | K-12 | 720 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $699,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

I used to have concerns that Wildwood was strong in liberal arts but not so strong in math & science. But currently my child is taking a math class 2 years ahead of grade level while a group of students in his same grade are 3 years ahead in math. The science program is inspiring and fun yet rigorous in teaching scientific methodologies. One of my two children at Wildwood would certainly get better grades at a school that is more structured and directed. But we believe that the challenge of Wildwood's open ended assignments will provide a stronger foundation for success in the future. The teachers at Wildwood are incredibly caring and compassionate, and are always approachable. I would prefer a different head of school---someone less promotional with stronger leadership skills. We have found the "ruling class" of Wildwood families to be cliquish, unwelcoming, and obsessed with status (as perhaps many expensive private schools are). But our children have made some good friends at Wildwood and have many friends outside of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

I attended Wildwood School for two years and having had experience at other schools I can genuinely appreciate what Wildwood offers. A Wildwood education is truly comprehensive. The teachers treat each student as an individual by helping to develop their unique strengths and challenging their deficits. The evaluations provide so much more than a single letter grade, you clearly understand where you have exceeded expectations and how you can work to improve in other areas. Students are encouraged to communicate proficiency orally, visually, or verbally, which is tremendously confidence building. There are many extracurricular opportunities for academic enrichment generated by students, teachers, and from outside venues. The preparation for college was excellent and everyone in my class was accepted by their first choice school. I am much more prepared for college because of the work I did at Wildwood. I wish every student in the country could be educated this way!


Posted October 11, 2012

My daughter graduated from Wildwood last year, and now attends an ivy league college in NYC. I was worried that this progressive education (which I loved) would leave her unprepared for such a big college experience. I was completely wrong to worry- she actually seems more prepared than many of her peers who went to more traditional schools. She is able to solve problems and seek out help when she needs it. I am thrilled that she was able to get such a good education, (leading to such an amazing college choice,) but still had a wonderful and balanced high school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

Wildwood progressive attitude towards education is something to be recognized. As a graduate, I was excited and prepared to enter the world of college and real life with my Wildwood education. It taught me the importance of my own voice. The environment of staff and students were nothing less of encouraging and supportive. I cannot thank Wildwood enough for everything it has given me.


Posted May 20, 2012

This school is an amazing progressive school if hat is what you want for you child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

Anyone who knows anything about this school will recognize that the previous reviews are extremely suspect. This is an excellent progressive school with an inspired and inspiring staff of teachers. The children leave well prepared for college and for life.


Posted June 3, 2011

My kid also came here for one year. She hated it. The entire experience was dreadful, especially because of the lack of intellectual stimulants my child received, so we switched to Campbell Hall. And THAT was the best choice of my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

At wildwood, my kids failed to gain a sufficient education due to arrogant kids and mediocre teachers. I wish i sent them to a better school such as Harvard Westlake or Campbell Hall where it is at least challenging and many more programs are offered. Also, the grading system at Wildwood is very hard to understand and I would have prefferred a normal letter grade system. My kids failed to be accepted into any prestigious colleges and now both attend Visible school - Music and worships arts college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 85%
Two or more races 7%
Black 4%
Asian 2%
Hispanic 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Michelle Meena

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11811 West Olympic Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90064
Phone: (310) 478-7189

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westview School
Los Angeles, CA



New West Charter School
Los Angeles, CA



New Roads School
Santa Monica, CA


New Roads School
Santa Monica, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT