Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westside Jewish Community Center 5

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
My child attended the WJCC preschool for 3 years and had a wonderful experience. All her teachers were loving, kind (yet firm), and showed genuine concern, for instance when offering constructive comments on my child's challenges. Our child always liked going to school. Apart from how the school encouraged her love of art, and gave her the setting to form some of her first friendships, my favorite was how she learned about charity and concern for others. We will miss everyone here. I thought I'd write this to express some of my gratitude, and to send it out to other parents like me who may obsess over reading online reviews before checking out a school. =)

Westside Jewish Community Center 1

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
Average school, great teachers all except for one, hence the rating. Stay away from the senior citizen teacher in the pre K class. She's very passive aggressive when she doesn't "like" your child and contributes to situations so that it appears that it's always your child at fault. Thankfully we used the horrible experience as a teaching moment to illustrate to our child an example of a very, bad teacher.


Westside Jewish Community Center 2

Posted October 25, 2012
- a parent
School has mostly good, nurturing teachers, and a few way past their prime that should be retired, due to their prickly and curt manner with the children. The pluses: the families that you meet here are friendly, warm and helpful. The office staff are accommodating and endlessly pleasant. Also the school offers lots of year-round social functions that provide a home-like, family environment for all children who attend and their parents. But the extreme minus, and this is a big one and why I'm only rating it with two stars: Beware and do not attend if your child deviates anywhere from the norm either with advancement or if they have any learning disabilities or behavior issues. While armed with plenty of resources they do not have the knowledge or ability to help you. And their program will not suit your child. Worse they will blame your child and label them deviant or problematic rather than admit it just may not be the right program for them. If you have a child like that, save yourself the mental anguish and do not send them here.

Westside Jewish Community Center 4

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
I have had my child at the WJCC for 3 years and they have all been fantastic. This is a loving environment where children are nutured while learning independence. This is one of the few schools that has a full day (8am - 6pm) schedule for 2 full time working parents.

Westside Jewish Community Center 5

Posted February 20, 2009
- a parent
WJCC is a wonderful school. it's old-fashioned, in a good way - the teachers have been there a long time & are very experienced, the toys are simple & largely wooden, the facilities are humble and slightly shabby. if you want a 'prestigious' school with fancy new equipment and an expensive price tag, this is not the place for you. my second child is there now and we've been very happy with the school.


Westside Jewish Community Center 4

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
Best features: big, bright classrooms, beautiful outside play areas and a real 'neighborhood' vibe. It's also almost completely without pretense of any sort, and has many schedule options. Finally, great enrichment classes...and the other affiliated JCC programs are big bonuses.

Westside Jewish Community Center 5

Posted January 15, 2008
- a parent
The Westside JCC is a terrific school for kids. The teachers are old-school style teachers who are loving and also focused on ensuring that kids have good manners and values and playing well with other kids. They stress good hand washing and not sneezing on other kids. The administration tries to do everything to accommodate the needs of families and children. Parents and families tend to be friendly and easy-going. This is an administration that has been around for a while and believes in their teaching approach.

Westside Jewish Community Center
no rating

Posted August 01, 2007
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. It has caring teachers and a great curriculum. The yard is huge and there are separate areas for different ages. The school has early morning and afterschool programs to accomodate working parents that need a few extra hours. Any parent would be fortunate to have their child in a program like this one.


Westside Jewish Community Center 1

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
Challenging administration and rigid teachers make this a poor environment for students.

Westside Jewish Community Center 1

Posted November 28, 2006
- a parent
WJCC wants all children to fit into their box. The teachers are unwilling to go the extra mile and work with kids who needs alittle extra - they just can't be bothered.

Nearby schools

Westside Jewish Community Center
5870 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90036
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (213) 938-2531
Last modified Westside Jewish Community Center is a Private school that serves grade K
Top