Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mirman School, The

Private | 1-9 | 360 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,077,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

101 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2007

This school was recommended by other schools for our son who is exceptionally gifted. What a mistake. The academics are fine, but the teaching/administrative style is highly punitive. It teaches kids to be afraid and hate school. It squelches creativity in kids whenever possible and encourages conformity, passiveness and fearful obedience. Art and music are limited, after school activities are basic. PE is ok and is a favorite with our child. The administration is hostile to even the politest parental inquiries and rewards only those parents who donate in large sums. We are eager to move him to another school. He is at the top of his class but he is miserable. I would rather have a happy child and give him extra work at home than a scared and beat down child that hates school. We were really disappointed with our experience at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

A few years ago the administration changed and not for the best. The head of school caters to certain parents and plays politics. A wonderful music program was cut and replaced with an inferior and smaller program. The overall culture of the school has declined and teachers don't seem as happy. Many of us wish for the old days when the Mirmans were actually involved in this institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

The school is a mixed bag. For some kids, it is a good school but for many it is poor choice. Unfortunately, it is hard to predict which kids will thrive and which will fail. About 1/3 to 1/2 of the kids who start in room 1 end up leaving the school prematurely because the school was not the right choice for them. THere are good art and music programs. The school is very academic. The sports programs and the amount of physical education are lacking. There are some exceptional teachers and many average teachers. Not a very family friendly school as the school does not give siblings much of an advantage in the admission process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

I would definitely not recommend this school. The administration of the school heavily favors those parents who give large amounts of money. The school has changed from a school centered upon academic excellence to fundraising excellence. Many parents are heavily involved in the school. But unfortunately this also is a negative as one of the main reasons for parental involvement seems to be so that the parents can get a edge up for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

My daughter currently attends Mirman. She is thriving! The school is definately not for every child. It is very intense and fast paced. The right kid will reach great heights there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

I went to the school for 5 years and finished last year. The quality of teachers is quite variable. There are probably 2 great teachers in the school. The rest of the teachers are average to below average. The academic programs are intense. However, the teaching style is very old-fashioned and does not inspire one to want to learn. There is an excellent violin program. Compared to other private schools the availability of sports and other non-academic activities is quite limited.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 24, 2007

My son went to the school for 4 years. He is highly gifted. The school was an absolutely miserable experience for my child. Instead of inspiring kids to love learning, it inspires a loathing of school. My son is thriving at his new school.There is a very high turn over rate among students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

It's mission to teach gifted children sounds great. Unfortunately, the school falls far from the mark. The curriculum at the school is dull and uninspiring. Instead of developing at love of learning in the students, the school tends to burn out kids. Furthermore, since the school is supposed to be for 'highly gifted' it tends to attract parents who are ultra-competitive and who want the prestige of being able to say their child goes to a school for highly gifted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

The academic programs are accelerated and excellent. At the lower levels, the style is very traditional -- focusing on information and product to some extent over process and experience. The extracurricular programs are extensive and of good quality. Art, music and sports are a regular part of the curriculum as well as the enrichment offerings. Parent involvement is extensive outside the classroom. The level of actual classroom involvement depends on the teacher. The school is quite sober and serious, especially for young children. The environment is less nurturing and more stern than other schools. It is not for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2005

Excellent learning environment. Teachers are very involved in student's academic progress and are communicative with parents. Lovely campus and facilities. Overall and outstanding school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 30, 2005

The Mirman School is a fanatstic school. It is a very nurturing environment where students can develop and enhance their many talents.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 26, 2005

We attended this school with the hope that a school designed for highly gifted kids would meet our highly gifted child's needs. Unfortunately, the curriculum falls quite short. There is very little differentiation, and only in math when at all. We were extremely disappointed and after a couple years there have decided to move on. They are not familiar with some of the most basic concepts regarding highly gifted children. Knowledge that you and I as parents gleaned with countless hours reading, researching, networking, etc., to better understand our very special kids and how to best meet their needs. Our feeling is that you could go to most private scools in the same general area and you will have just as good a chance at getting your child's needs met as you would at Mirman, unfortunately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

Fantastic - lovely motivated kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

Lovely - motivated kids, great campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Stay away from this school. Our gifted daughter spent one year - the worst of her life - at mirman. They are haughty, non-caring, holier than thou in their teaching and handling of the school. My daughter came home one day telling me, in tears, not to go to the open house that night. Why? She had nothing on the board. Why? Because she had corrected a mistake by erasing and correcting it. Dr. Mirman did not want prospective parents to see that students could make mistakes - and correct them - as he was afraid of losing potential students. Stay away if you love your child - they love your money!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2004

We love this school. Our daughter has been here since Room 1. There are not grades, per se, but instead the children are grouped according to age group and they work at their own level. It is a very enriched school, with a great music program, theatre program, sports, and more. The children learn how to be good citizens as well as learning their academics. The whole child is very important. It's multicultural and very diverse. You will find all kinds of children here. The children are very well behaved also. The staff is excellent and the parent body is very involved. It is a small school and there's a real sense of community here. Our daughter has been here 4 years and we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2004

My daughter attended this school for a year and a half and enjoyed it tremendously. If you have a gifted child who needs a school to allow him/her the opportunity to learn and grow at their individual pace this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

This is an excellent school. The teacher involvement is wonderful, the courses are diverse and challenging and it is a wonderful environment for learning and growing. I look forward to having my children attend someday.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 6, 2004

An amazingly warm, friendly and dynamic atmosphere, the children here are happy and very excited about learning. Core teachers are excellent, the specialists are unusually talented, and the administration is responsive. Where children at many other schools drag themselves to the classroom, these kids run like cheetahs, happy to be in an environment where there is no limit to what they can learn. The Mirman School is truly an amazing experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2004

I spent all nine years at Mirman, from ages 5 to 14, and I loved every year of it. Mirman is a haven for the gifted chid, a place where he will be challenged by a curriculum geared to his needs, supported by teachers who understand him, and surrounded by other students who share his need for a faster pace. It is a place where he will not be an outsider. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 26%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Black 5% 6%
Hispanic 5% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Royal
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16180 Mulholland Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone: (310) 476-2868

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westland School, The
Los Angeles, CA


Berkeley Hall
Los Angeles, CA


Curtis School
Los Angeles, CA


Wise School
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT