Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Horizon School?Los Angeles

Private | K-6 | 50 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $378,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 17, 2010

The school is nice .The loving care the teachers provide ,and the Islamic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

Great quality education with an excellent Islamic foundation.


Posted November 12, 2010

This school provides tha basic islamic education to children which plays an important role in shaping up their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

The school is guiding in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

My kids are getting the best school education along with Islamic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

I have my three kids at New Horizon L.A,I thank all the teachers for their commitment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

How engaging the teachers with the parents. Simply because my child loves school, especially his teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

i love the school and the teachers and the educations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

High standards, dedicated teachers, diverse student body and great results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

It is very great school from all sides and it has a capable/efficient staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

This a school which is teaching, our kids about Islam and educating them with everthing else too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

Good teachers,taking care of each student in times of need, great environment and i could go on....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

Teaches values for life. Great staff and teachers. Diverse environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

I love New Horizon LA, because they care about the kids.


Posted November 6, 2010

Newhorizon school is a private school located in a wonderful location. It has a wonderful staff. I really recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2010

I have been associated with the school since 1989, in different capacities. For the past year my grand daughter goes to this wonderful school. Under the able leadership of the School Head, the school has been serving the community for the past 25 years, providing quality education in a safe and caring environment. I rate the school very high.


Posted November 6, 2010

They have well-educated teachers in order to provide each student with high quality of education and sincerely care about each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2010

great teachers and great environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Passionate teachers, trying their best to help the students to outperform. Great administration, which works with the parents to provide nice environments for the kids to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

New Horizon is dedicated to nurturing spiritual growth. They provide an academic program that promotes excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Shahida Alikhan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

434 South Vermont Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90020
Phone: (213) 480-3145

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Horizon School
Los Angeles, CA


New Covenant Academy
Los Angeles, CA


New Covenant Academy
Los Angeles, CA


Mid-Wilshire Christian
Los Angeles, CA


Pilgrim School
Los Angeles, CA


Equitas Academy Charter
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT