Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bright Star Secondary Charter Academy

Charter | 9-11

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $595,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

This school has so much potential! The thing that makes it not as functional as it could be is that the planning and collaboration between teachers and staff occur at the last minute for everything. If this school were able to set aside more time for teacher collaboration, planning and have the year schedule planned prior to the start of school year it would be 5 star. All the problems that this school has are organizational problems. Perhaps having older, more mentor-like teachers would also help. In terms of academics, the school is amazing. At times, the irrational inconsistency of the scheduling, rules and so on make it difficult to see how well the students are performing. A stable school community would facilitate more stability in the classroom because the teachers would be on the same page. Perhaps, if the teachers functioned more like a team then they could be consistent across the board about how they want the school community to run. It seems that the more successful teachers are engaged with building a community, a team and are constantly trying to improve. Academics is a given and improves with teacher experience, thus, the need for mentor-like teachers is great.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 19, 2014

this is only a test, not a real review. I will be deleting this post very soon. I just want to see what the registration requirements are


Posted September 24, 2013

I would like to start out by saying that for the past 5 yrs. both of my boy's have expressed so many positive things about their teachers. As a parent i'm very involved and make sure that my boys are receiving the proper education. I have seen how the teachers are invested in the students education. I disagree with the negative comments that were made. If I felt that my boys were not receiving the proper education and nothing was being done. They would not be there at all. I'm a great advocate for my children. So again I disagree with the negative comments. We should be positive and optimistic and supportive instead of critizing and being negative. I can't speak for no one else but for my own experiece and I have dealt with very positive teachers and staff thru out these 5 yrs. I have also seen great improvement overall in this school KUDOS to Mrs. Bonilla and to all the Teachers and Staff. Love , Mrs. Salinas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

I completely disagree with all the negative comments post up on this web site . I have been attending bright star since sixth grade in 2007 and i have practically grown up in this amazing school surround by the same students who start off in this school as 11 year olds with the whole world ahead of them and 6 years later as 17 year olds in the twelelth grade are ready to hit the real world and thanks to this school that has provided us with this opportunity to stay in the same school 5th though 12th grade without changing schools every few year we have been able to build strong bonds with our friends as we have helped each other grow stronger and also this school has some of the best teachers in the world so of the teacher i had in sixth grade are now my teacher in 12th grade again. Therefore i say thank you to the founder of this school mr.hilger


Posted August 7, 2013

I agree with the review posted a few days ago. Bright Star is a good school with some teacher problems. I have multiple kids currently attending and have heard from my children that they hadnt learned much from some classes, including the history class mentioned below. I was told that this teacher has been at Bright Star for some time, close to 5 years. And each of my kids who were in his class all mention how they dont remember a thing from his class. Far from perfect, my kids get decent grades, and they all did good in his class, but say they didnt really learn anything. Aside from that, Ive heard the same innappropriate comments and innappropriate relationships are involved with this teacher. How does a person like this remain a teacher at a school with pretty good leadership? I hope Bright Star catches on eventually and does something about this. Ill be sure to speak my mind to other parents since it seems others are having the same problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I currently have one child attending Bright Star Secondary. I completely agree with everything the school stands for and strives to achieve. The reason for my poor rating has to do with what I've heard my child complain abot regarding some of the teachers, in particular their 7th grade History teacher. I've heard from multiple kids that this particular teacher has made several inappropriate comments about students. I didn't believe it myself until meeting with this particular teacher, and he was just as advertised. He was ill-mannered, quick tempered and didn't seem to have any grasp of who my child was or where their level of understanding was in terms of subject matter. Despite that, there are some teacher's who seem to shine above these underachievers including the math department. Also, the principal at the school was very approachable and listened sincerely. If it wasn't for this one particular teacher, and a few others, Bright Star would certainly merit higher in my regards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

Bright Star is a really good school. They make you think of college and TRY their best to help you. They have fun and academic trips and I think that was the best experience I had there. Though, its not the same as 3 years ago when Hilger actually reinforced rules, students have rebelled more. Maybe in a few years the school will be more organized but i think they need a lot more staff and mentors. They really screwed over a lot of students that took alot of wrong classes and they dont offer many extra curricular or AP classes. The new grading system of standard based grading has its negatives and its positive but as a student, we all know its more on the negative side. The school needs to get back to Hilgers old rules (Missing Assignments, Uniform, Hair ect) , Get organized (they really need more $$) , Fit each students needs, and get students to start acting like a family again. Parents, remember that other students can either build or break your son/daughter . Even the adults/teachers get annoyed of the sudden changes of the school,


Posted February 7, 2013

I was a student here for 5 years & it was definitely a mixed experience. The reading program (which students always complain about) is probably one of the most valuable things Bright Star has to offer. I can safely say it helped me prepare for the all the reading I need to do in college. The WLAC program is of immense help, considering it gave me a taste of what school's like in a more competitive field. Some teachers/staff members left lasting impressions on me & helped mold me into a mature young adult. As much as I'd like to continue on the positive, I can't. The way the school operates is one of the most disorganized things I'll ever experience. Their grading & reading systems change almost yearly, leaving students in danger of not graduating. Many of the rules are plain asinine. Some of the higher-ups love to play favorites, offering those favorites all the help while leaving others to fend for themselves. I had to do all of my college apps with no help whatsoever from the man we all placed our trust in; in the end, it was my own work that got me into one of the best schools in the nation. Overall, it's a good alternative to LAUSD, but the school still needs major improvement.


Posted February 5, 2013

I will like to acknowledge the great team work over at BrightStar. As a Parent I admire how the teachers take great interest in supporting every student by assisting them achieve their educational goal!. I also commend the teachers efforts in making the students understand how education should be their great priority and how they can invest their time being more productive. My first has attended for 3 consecutive years and has not only built a great rapport with his teachers they take the time to keep communication with Me. My other son just began attending this year and the teachers facilitated his transition easier than other schools would. The Principal has done so much for our school is increadible. Great Work!!! These are the positive feed back that I have for the Teachers and Staff. Sincerely, Mrs. Salinas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

My daughter hs been in this school for 3 consecutive years...the first one was okay, the second one was not good and the third year was excellent. I as a parent will accept that children are sometimes irresponsible and so cause their own failure, but I didn't give up! I am very happy to say that my child has learned from that. This is a great school. I'm definetley with them on their strict rules. Mrs. Bonilla is a great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

To all parents looking for an alternative to the rat race that is LAUSD give Bright Star a try. My child was at a crossroads, she could have went either way.Since attending Bright Star she has made a complete turnaround.The one-on-one with instructors, the attentive counselors and the high standards in which students are held to has rekindled my teens love for learning. And the best part is the student body and administration are like family. I'm so grateful to have found Bright Star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2011

Me siento muy orgullosa que mi hijo asista a esta escuela puedo ver su progreso en sus buenas calificasiones siempre estan pendientes de eyos tanto en estudios tareas y avances como en su alimentacion todo lo que nosotros como padres buscamos para nuestros ninos lo mejor y siempre hay mucha informacion felicidades a todo el persona de la escuela y gracias por preocuparse por nuestro ninos Dios los Bendiga por esa gran labor que se esmeran por aser todo lo mejor para nuestros ninos. Clara Gonzalez madre de un nino de noveno grado
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

This school has a great academic curriculum. They prepare their students to go to the University. The students are rewarded with trips at the beginning and at the end of the year. These are incentives for the students to do better, they know that if they don't do good with the classes they don't go to end of the year trip.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

It was recently announced that Bright Star Secondary is the recipient of the 2011 California Distinguished School Award!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 7, 2011

Bright Star Secondary Charter Academy is a great school! The programs are always changing for the better. Students we're not passing in the prior years and the principal decided that another program be created to help those students get the credits. The program is called Elements, the teachers assign homework, but the students crumble it and don't ever go back to it. The school also has a Junior college program where, some students go to West LA college in the morning to take college courses and then in the afternoon they take high school courses. The school is prestigious and wants only the best for its students. Of course everyone complains about the long, dreadful hours, the homework, the online assignments and the strict rules, but in the long run, it's helpful. I love my school, even though it's strict and the curriculum is hard. We have sports, clubs, cheer&dance, ASB and two computer rooms. This school is going to be a high ranking, prestigious school in the future!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2011

This school is disorganized, they make up rules as they go, they change A's to F's if a child being absent due to illness! The principal does not addresses concerns. I must say some teachers are dedicated; but others terrorize our children w the modem of "My classroom, my rules your parents do not count here". Students are racists toward the few african-american students and cruel racists jokes are made and the admin. apparently does not have knowledge of this; but if your child forgets a pen, belt or is growing a NATURAL facial hair they are sent to CP and they have the nerve to force the kids to shave at school with their 'CLEAN FACE" policy but their own teachers have facial hair and outrageous haircuts! Some teachers wear revealing tops and tight clothing. I was asked to be an embassador for this school; but I don't intend to go into the community and lie to people. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL! I agree that ELEMENTS program is discouraging children to pursue college careers. You do not solve a problem by segregating. Get organized and listen to your parents of ALL RACES !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2010

this school is not that good of a school but i went there for one semester and they just really don't have it under control. the school is very unorganized and they make up rules as they go. they also changed any C's to F's its just not a really school so please don't go to that school. they make students stand up if they didn't do their homework but yet they want to send students to CP (connecting place) which is like the deans office if they didn't bring a belt. the school is really unorganized and isn't ran well. i dislike the school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2010

I am not pleased with this school, no homework is given, My child was put into an program called Elements which segregates them from the other Bright Star students. No child left behind is not at all represented at this school. The school focus is set up to fail students. My child's classmates from their honors program informed them that the students in the Elements program will NOT go to college. I am not pleased with the dismal at the end of the day for the Elements student. I was informed by a parent who child is in the honors program had to stand up if homework is not completed. My child received a progress report was excellent...but I still questioned her grades...I now see why we as parents in the Element setting do not meet in a group but one on one. the office staff is not friendly at all until they are approached by a Spanish speaking parent and immediately a bond is formed. There were some things that I disagreed with at my child's former school but I addressed the matter and it was explained and I continued to support my child. My child enjoyed her middle school, but every since day one my child has not been pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Bright Star Academy has a great and challenging academic programs, That gives their students the right tools for their journey in the real world. In this school every student is an invidual and No!! student is left behind. Special Thanks to its founder for giving our Kids this opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

This is a fantastic school. My children have really progressed academically and are really enjoying themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

807

Change from
2012 to 2013

-20

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

807

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-20

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 25% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
55%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
61%
Biology/Life Sciences

The state average for Biology/Life Sciences was 58% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 38% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
4%

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 62% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
77%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 16% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 45% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated/Coordinated Science I

The state average for Integrated/Coordinated Science I was 26% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 38% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 13% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 39% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
28%
Biology/Life Sciences

The state average for Biology/Life Sciences was 41% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 46% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
39%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 52% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 15% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

The state average for High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11) was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
60%
World History

The state average for World History was 46% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 10% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 15% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
26%
Biology/Life Sciences

The state average for Biology/Life Sciences was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 32% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 8% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
n/a
High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

The state average for High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11) was 49% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 50% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
World History

The state average for World History was 19% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students15%
Females13%
Males17%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino14%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability18%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only19%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate19%
Parent education - high school graduate17%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)15%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state17%

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Biology/Life Sciences

All Students56%
Females42%
Males67%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate65%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state41%

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females57%
Males64%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disability13%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state38%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students61%
Females53%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Integrated/Coordinated Science I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students18%
Females17%
Males19%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability21%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only21%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Algebra II

All Students27%
Females40%
Males17%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino28%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability27%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only27%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Biology/Life Sciences

All Students39%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Chemistry

All Students62%
Females68%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females65%
Males58%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students26%
Females37%
Males17%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino25%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability30%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only31%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students68%
Females68%
Males68%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state45%

World History

All Students66%
Females63%
Males68%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate60%
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Algebra II

All Students11%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino12%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability12%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only8%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Biology/Life Sciences

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Chemistry

All Students56%
Females61%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females67%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate67%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students15%
Females15%
Males15%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino19%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability17%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only19%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

All Students50%
Females62%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

U.S. History

All Students61%
Females57%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 83% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE) to test high school students' skills in English language arts and mathematics. The results for grade 10 students taking the test for the first time are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The CAHSEE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of California. Students must pass all parts of the CAHSEE in order to graduate from high school. If they do not pass it the first time, students have multiple opportunities to retake the test. The goal is for all students to pass both sections of the test.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females90%
Males83%
Gender Unknownn/a
African American79%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Declined to staten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Economic Status Unknownn/a
Students with disability45%
Tested with modificationsn/a
English learner72%
Language Fluency Unknownn/a
Migrant educationn/a

Math

All Students92%
Females89%
Males95%
Gender Unknownn/a
African American79%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Declined to staten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Economic Status Unknownn/a
Students with disability85%
Tested with modificationsn/a
English learner81%
Language Fluency Unknownn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE) to test high school students' skills in English language arts and mathematics. The results for grade 10 students taking the test for the first time are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The CAHSEE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of California. Students must pass all parts of the CAHSEE in order to graduate from high school. If they do not pass it the first time, students have multiple opportunities to retake the test. The goal is for all students to pass both sections of the test.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 85%
Black 12%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 0%
White 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/AN/A
English language learners 16%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Monique Bonilla
Fax number
  • (323) 954-6415

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5431 West 98th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90045
Website: Click here
Phone: (424) 789-8337

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Synergy Quantum Academy
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT