Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts

Charter | K-6 | 500 students

We are best known for project based/arts curriculum.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $339,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 27 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

183 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2009

Amazing program, lots of arts, progressive teaching! We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

The Teachers are great! My kid loves going to school everyday and loves to learn. The school had a huge jump in their test scores last year. We love everything about this school and their teaching methods
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Our daughter loves going to school every day. She is able to express herself thru art, but also thru academics. She is being taught to think outside the box without even knowing it, and is learning new things every day. Their programs and curriculum are what all elementary schools need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

This is our 4th year in the school. Our daughter started the 1st year of the school (kindergarten) and we have seen amazing growth in the this school and especially by our daughter! The teachers are terrific and caring. The principal is one the hardest working individuals I have ever been around. I am not a Founding Parent BTW. The curriculum is simply fantastic and is a perfect fit for our daughter. One of the best things about the school is the incredible parent body. I am always amazed at how much time the parents give to the school and how much passion they have for the school. We have never worried about 'safety issues or behavior issues'. Our experience with Los Feliz Charter has been terrific and feel fortunate to have our daughter in this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

My daughter was attending a different chater school and wasn't sure she wanted to leave. After her first week at LFCSA, she was happy about being in LFCSA. We love Mrs. Duzinski and are looking forward to the new location in Glassel Park. I can't say enough great things about the school! The children all love the school and the parents really show up when events are going on. The support of the staff and the parents make for a great public school with a private school feel and education. My son will start in 2 years. Go see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

I have 2 children in Los Feliz Charter school 3rd and 4th grade. Both look forward to going to school every day love their teachers and learning. We were the freshman class at a new charter and took the leap of faith it takes to join a start up. Every year has rewarded us with fantastic teachers wonderful students and parent body. Having just finished our first round of true testing and scoring 858 we can only look forward to higher achievements as the school progresses and flourishes in the outstanding new home in Glassel Park. I can only look forward more of the marvelous, warm and committed teachers as we have had thus far. With their guidance my children are avid readers and writers and scoring above 95% in math along with being kind, caring and compassionate children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

It is simply the best! The teachers, parents, and administration work together as a team to foster the most outstanding education for our children. We are like family here! LFCSA children simply love learning, asking questions, and making connections! It is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 19, 2009

LFCSA is flat out an amazing school. We looked at all the charters w/in a reasonable driving distance and this one was by far the best. Now that our son is a in K there we are so happy we made this decision. He is getting a private school education for free. The school feels like a real family at the helm, not some LAUSD black hole. One in a million and it works, not even Schwartenager can screw it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Our son just started Kinder, he and we love this school. Teachers are amazing and the Principle is smart, strong and visionary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

LFCSA is an amazing new school that helps each of its students sustain a true love of learning, fosters creativity and imagination and supports caring, kindness, community and environmental awareness. My daughter loves going to school every day and I'm ecstatic to take her there every morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

LFCSA has a rich, vibrant curriculum that brings out the best in every child there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

For a parent to state in a previous review: 'it is better to go to a regular school where there is more resources available' referring to kids with issues or learning disabilities is not only against the law, but disgraceful. It is the teacher's RESPONSIBILITY to teach ALL children and bring out their potential. In my opinion, the teachers here are very green and tend to be biased towards the quiet, smart kids that show off their teaching 'skills' and are quite clueless with the rest. The principal seems to encourage this. A school that values each and every child's personality in a POSITIVE way can bolster the child's self esteem and learning. Not here. Don't send your child here if they have any issues. Their self-esteem will be damaged. LFCSA should bite the bullet and become a private school where they can choose students who fit their profile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

My son has been with the LFCSA since the beginning of it. The school had a rought start and is improving very fast. The 2009 CST result shows that. Mrs Newlin, the principal has stood against some parents that on my view want to have a say on the way the school is managed. I think she is great. LAUSD doesn't provide the same funding for special need education as it provides other regular schools. Unfortunately, If a child needs classroom support it is better to go to a regular school where there is more resources available. LAUSD doesn't like the charter schools and they are not helpful in funding special need education. Next year we will move to a permanent address. Go to losfelizarts.org and look for 'Our New Site'. I believe LFCSA will be a top rated school by the time it completes the 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

I want to be clear about this, LFCSA would not exist without this Principal. She's not perfect, she's had admin challenges that would hairbrain the best of us, but this school is on the planet because of her. Without her, there is no LFCSA. It is very clear that because this year we are housed at a public campus she waded through insane bureaucracy, perhaps the curriculum suffered a bit, but not enough for me to pull my kids out! I too am an educator and I have seen many schools. We are lucky to have LFCSA and its teachers. She will persevere, and this school will flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

this school is the vision of its principal, and although this year was filled with challenges of all kinds, I feel that the core integrity of the school is intact. Also not worried about test scores, you will see soon enough they will jump as soon as the school reaches 4, 5 and even 6th grade as the cognitive thinking levels on the tests increase. A new school always deals with this, magnets too. I think that this school definitely needs to acknowledge and accommodate the lower income brackets. The after school program is wonderful, but it is just far too expensive for average or lower income. My children love their after school teachers, but they are heartbroken I won't let them stay for the science, or the violin, we just cannot afford this and the company the school has hired won't take financial aid or scholarships. This feels discriminatory!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

Administration and the Office Staff disrespectful of parents and the preferential treatment is a problem. The principal as lovely as she is lacks the proper tools for this specific school. Our vision of a creative parent involved community has worsened in the years that have followed. Parents are pushed out unless money is needed or manual labor required. Nice curriculum but will take many years to implement properly. Teachers lack experience and outside of the few who excel most sit average or below. We stay because of the many wonderful parents and their endless perseverance and struggle for all of our children, simply invaluable . If you can chip away at the nepotism and bring in a new administration this school has the potential to evolve into a sanctuary for many generations to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

As a parent and an educator, I find LFCSA to be an excellent school and am elated that we 'won' the lottery and are able to send our children to LFCSA. They use a research based curriculum which is excellent. The teachers and staff are great. The principal is one of the best principals I have encounter, and as an educator, I have encountered many principals. I think that some of the parents do not realize how good they have it. I write this as someone who opposes Prop 39 and has major reservations about the charter school system. The main problem I have with the school is with the classist attitudes of many of the parents. That being said, there is no other school in the area that I would want to send my children to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

The test scores are low here because the school cares about educating the kids, not training them to take a test. Fantastic principal, thoughtful administration, super-involved parents. Some of the teachers are better than others, but all are good. The one drawback is the lack of a permanent home, but hopefully by next fall, that will be solved.I love this school, and so does my kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

I'm astounded that the founding parent in the review below cannot face facts. The reason that test scores are so low is that these kids aren't all working up to the California State Standards, not because it's project-based. Look up other project-based schools and see the difference in the scores. BTW, one would think that getting a criticism and trying to fix it would be the way to go, instead of belittling the parent who has a legitimate inquiry and is worried. If this attitude does not change we will be taking our child elsewhere. Good reviews written by founding parents shows that there is a lot at stake for them if the school is not reviewed well here. I choose to look at it from the perspective of the child. It's for them. Not for the personal achievement of the parents. Not the school we hoped it could be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

Nice curriculum--not completely in place and still evolving--the teachers are still 'learning' how to implement it. Some can do it better than the rest. The teachers don't have much experience. Great parent involvement. Projects are set up to 'Ooooh and Aaahh' the parents, whereby many of the same things are done in public schools to less fanfare. If you have a child that is no trouble and a 'happy learner', then this is the school for you! Choose wisely before you enroll your child. The curriculum is accessible by all children, except when said child is not learning. Administration does not seem to have an understanding or be able to cope with kids that have issues like ADHD, etc. There is no support system as is routine in public schools. Parents are often blamed that they are not doing all they should be until the 'difficult' children are weeded out.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

836

Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

836

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females73%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females66%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females55%
Males37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino19%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)39%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate43%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females60%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate65%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females79%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females79%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females73%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students48%
Females49%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino15%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)26%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students66%
Females60%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students44%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 26%
Hispanic 28% 52%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 122%N/A54%
Female 249%N/A48%
Male 251%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 221 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
66%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
66%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
81%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
81%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
72%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents22144%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 2:50
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Farnaz Golshani
Fax number
  • (323) 539-2815

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Special education

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • We feel that students are more successful when family and community continually support the students' activities and learning. lfcsa parents are asked to volunteer and giving a variety of ways to contribute. there are also numerous committees to join where fresh ideas and help are always welcome. visit the community section on our website to find out more.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Los Feliz Elementary
Micheltorena Elementary
Franklin Elementary
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2709 East Media Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90065
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 539-2810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Blessed Sacrament School
Los Angeles, CA




Beverly Hills Rc School
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT