Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 05, 2015
- a community member
The teachers follow no curriculum and do not follow the common core. Children are not taught basic skills and cannot read or do math. The school is disorganized and there are no walls.

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a community member
The children witness the adults being rude and putting each other down publicly. They have witnessed teachers being brought to tears by other teachers, so no they do not have exposure to caring people


Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a community member
Kids are so lost here because there is no direction. They treat staff with disrespect and rudeness because they see teachers treating each other that way.

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 1

Posted July 05, 2015
- a community member
First, the principal has driven this school into so much debt that they have resorted to standing the parking lots begging parents for money. Second, teachers get fired left and right and no one can do their job. There is no curriculum, no communication and harassment amongst the employees, including extreme bullying. If you are fine with your children not learning how to read or do math, then send your children here. I feel sad for the children when this school goes out of business. They are the true victims here because they are in for a shock when they find out how far behind they are from their peers in typical schools.

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
We love LFCSAl! Both my kids are thriving and happy here. This school is very good at teaching kids to think for themselves and supporting them when they do. The classroom teachers (as well as the art, dance, music, and PE teachers) are really great. The subjects at LFCSA are not separated, but woven together in a very interesting way that allows the children find deeper understanding of what they are studying. The art teacher is especially amazing. (Hint: She teaches more than art! The lessons are wrapped up in culture and history and she is a wonderful story teller.)


Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Great school in an interesting achitextural environment, filled with cool students and parents. It was an easy decision to send my son here. They have a great after school and organic lunch program as well. Please don't overlook this school. They might add more kindergarten or 1st grade classes so get in now while you still can! Go check it out for yourself...
1 person found this helpful

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 5

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
This school has been through alot of administrative changes in the last year. The students have not suffered at all. The teachers at this school are amazing and fully committed to project based learning and the needs of all of their students. Every type of learner is valued and the arts integrated curriculum engages students and creates a love of learning. I am so thankful that a public school like this exists. This is my son's 2nd year to attend this school.

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 4

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
I have two children enrolled in LFCSA for a combined 6 years of attendance. We are absolutely thrilled with our experience thus far. It is true that changes in leadership have taken place, causing some bumps in the road from our perspective as parents. But they have been improvements in every way. We love the ability to change what's not working. LAUSD schools are not afforded this level of self control and flexibility. These bumps in the road have gone largely unnoticed by the children. It is also true that this school might not be the right choice for children with sensory issues. The collaborative approach, and large open spaces can present challenges to children with those sensitivities. The faculty, with few exceptions is beyond reproach. We have been floored by their abilities, dedication, focus, and attention. They are universally approachable, quick to respond, and do a wonderful job of working with the high achievers and slightly behind alike. My children are performing 2 & 4 years above their respective grade levels. Ultimately, the truest measure of the school is exhibited in the fact that my kids wake every day looking forward to going to class.


Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 4

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Our two sons have been at this school since the 1st grade and are currently in the 5th grade. Though this schools has and continues to see many changes, it has nonetheless been a fun and inspiring learning environment for our kids. The integration of the arts into the curriculum is a great idea and though there are still many kinks to figure out the direction is an exciting one. That said my kids have had some really great teachers(too bad they haven't been able to keep them) that have made quite a spark in dance, music and theater. The lack of consistent leadership and a bad choice of space has not really impacted my kids as much as I would have thought, and though that is food for thought before picking a new charter such as this, we have been lucky with remarkable teachers and at the end of the day that is what has counted so far.

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 2

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
We loved this school years ago and sadly it's gone down hill when the new principal quit after just one year. Now there's an interim principal who's left to navigate all the inherited decisions made by former principal. Next year who knows? There's been 4 over hauls in admin in 7 years. Too much admin and teacher turnover adds to already chaotic environment. Test scores worrisome. Handful of great teachers redeem but they deserve better. This school should be great, living up to potential but now it just seems like "emperors new clothes".

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts
2709 East Media Center Drive, Los Angeles, CA  90065
(323) 539-2810
Last modified Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 198 reviews. Top