Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
118 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 211 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
The teachers work hard to develop kindness and empathy in students, starting right away in Kinder. In my son's class they have a buddy bench, they do repair squares, and they talk about using "put-ups" instead of "put-downs". It sounds a little hokey, but it really works.

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 5

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
Dedicated teachers and staff, involved caring parents, and a diverse community make this a great school. My son loves learning through the arts integration approach.


Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 5

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
I have been a teacher at LFCSA for several years. From day one I was inspired by my colleagues' commitment to our students, by the parent involvement, and by the opportunity to create a learning environment that is engaging, creative, just and inclusive. My work is anchored by our school's powerful mission, vision and values. Our school is strong. And getting stronger!

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 5

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
I've had two children in LFCSA, and have been very happy with the experience. The teachers are smart, motivated, and intellectually curious, which is transferred to the kids in their classes. The mix of the arts with more traditional subjects keeps the kids engaged and excited to go to school every day. Sure, there are some organizational glitches, as with any charter, but nothing that seems outside the norm. And the community of parents here is great. I've been so grateful to have a charter option that gives my kids a chance to learn in such a fun, unique way.

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 05, 2015
- a community member
The teachers follow no curriculum and do not follow the common core. Children are not taught basic skills and cannot read or do math. The school is disorganized and there are no walls.


Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a community member
The children witness the adults being rude and putting each other down publicly. They have witnessed teachers being brought to tears by other teachers, so no they do not have exposure to caring people

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a community member
Kids are so lost here because there is no direction. They treat staff with disrespect and rudeness because they see teachers treating each other that way.

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 1

Posted July 05, 2015
- a community member
First, the principal has driven this school into so much debt that they have resorted to standing the parking lots begging parents for money. Second, teachers get fired left and right and no one can do their job. There is no curriculum, no communication and harassment amongst the employees, including extreme bullying. If you are fine with your children not learning how to read or do math, then send your children here. I feel sad for the children when this school goes out of business. They are the true victims here because they are in for a shock when they find out how far behind they are from their peers in typical schools.


Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
We love LFCSAl! Both my kids are thriving and happy here. This school is very good at teaching kids to think for themselves and supporting them when they do. The classroom teachers (as well as the art, dance, music, and PE teachers) are really great. The subjects at LFCSA are not separated, but woven together in a very interesting way that allows the children find deeper understanding of what they are studying. The art teacher is especially amazing. (Hint: She teaches more than art! The lessons are wrapped up in culture and history and she is a wonderful story teller.)

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Great school in an interesting achitextural environment, filled with cool students and parents. It was an easy decision to send my son here. They have a great after school and organic lunch program as well. Please don't overlook this school. They might add more kindergarten or 1st grade classes so get in now while you still can! Go check it out for yourself...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts
2709 East Media Center Drive, Los Angeles, CA  90065-1700
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 211 reviews. (323) 539-2810
Last modified Los Feliz Charter School For The Arts is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top