Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public charter
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 272
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School 3

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
Honestly, the downfall of this school has NOTHING to do with the current principle Ms. Jones. Ms. Jones is the seconded of two principles assigned to this school at the beginning of this school year. A school where virtually all teachers from the 2010/2011 year where gone. I found Ms. Jones engaging, respectful, and attentive to parents and students concerns and needs. I cannot say the same in regards to the last years principle Chambers. If Ms. Chambers had stayed at this school, I would not have returned. I removed my high performing seventh grader from this school this year at the end of first semester. This decision had NOTHING to do with the principle or teachers and everything to with the mismanagement of funds by ICEF. If ICEF got their financial legs back under them, I would return my student back to this school under Ms. Jones in a heartbeat.

Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School 4

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
MY CHILD HAS BEEN A STUDENT SINCE 6TH GRADE AND I WILL SAY THAT THERE'S A DIFFERENCE SINCE HER FIRST YEAR. HOWEVER IT IS NOT FAIR TO BLAME THEM ON THE NEW PRINCIPAL. LOU DANTZLER HAS THE POTENTIAL TO BE A VERY GREAT SCHOOL BUT WE AS PARENTS HAVE TO HELP IN THIS. I HAVE VOLUNTEERED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AND WITNESS THE CHILDREN OUT OF THE UNIFORM COMPLIANCE (WHO IS AT FAULT). I KNOW FOR A FACT THAT TEACHERS HAVE COME AND WENT IN THE PREVIOUS YEARS BUT THIS IS A REFLECTION ON THE TEACHERS THAT ARE POSSIBLY USING THE INNER CITY SCHOOLS FOR WHATEVER REASON OR SINCE WITNESSING SOME OF THE CHILDREN CAN'T DEAL WITH THE BEHAVIORS. MRS. JONES BLESS HER HEART JUST HAPPEN TO STEP INTO AN ENVIRONMENT THAT ALREADY HAD BEEN SPIRALING DOWN. I SAY LETS GIVE HER AND THE TEACHERS AND STAFF A BREAK AND AS PARENTS STEP UP AND FIND OUT IF AND HOW WE CAN HELP. PARENTS SOME OF US NEED TO PARTICIPATE(VOLUNTEER& COME TO PARENT MEETINGS) WHICH HAS ALSO DECLINED. YOU WILL BE ABLE TO SEE THAT LOU DANTZLER IS NOT SO BAD ITS JUST SOME OF THE CHILDREN AND THEIR LACK OF DISCIPLINE. WE CANT EXPECT THE STAFF, TEACHERS, AND PRINCIPAL TO DO IT ALL.


Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School 2

Posted November 29, 2011
- a parent
My chile enrolles here last year when the principal,chamber was still here the school was great in dicipline, learning, activities, teachers, and everything else. You could see the quality principal she was, how well she interacted with students. Unfortunately she left, this year a new principal came, the school went completely from being great to becoming a shame. There are no fun activities, everything MS.Jones plana is wack, she even had to apologize to the whole school for having such a boring pep rally. She doesnt interact with students at all, last heard teachers all left except for some , the In s that did stay were the non - quality ones. The new teachers are alll right, but this year about 3 teachers left of the new ones at mid- year, leasing the students with substitutes who cuzzed at the students. The class size has greatly increased it like 36:1 almost 40. There is no more band class. Many students are leaving. Last year I had school spirit for this school now I have nothing close to that. I would had recommended this school last year but definitely not this year, unless you really have to come here

Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School 1

Posted May 25, 2011
- a teacher
Many, many good teachers have left due to administrative incompetence in the past few years. Those that are favored are known to get away with incompetency while many hard working teachers who have disagreed with administrative policies were known to be given nit-picked, completely skewed evaluations and pushed out. In 2009, 50% (6 out of 12) of the teaching staff left and/or were pushed out. In 2010, 61% (8 out of 13) of the teaching staff left and/or were pushed out. Hopefully, this will enlighten the disgruntled parent who has witnessed LDP's best teachers leave.

Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School 1

Posted February 06, 2011
- a parent
This is the worst school i have ever sent my child to. There are teachers coming in and out of this school on a regular basis,which upsets me very much.Alot of the 8th grade students are enrolling into other schools because so many teachers keep coming in and out. I advise yo u not to send your children to this school-from a warm regarded parent


Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School 4

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
This is the second year for Lou Dantzler Prep middle school and it is WONDERFUL. The Principal and the teachers make it a great place for learning. My one regret is my daughter will have to leave after the 8th grade. Aslo, the extra activites are a plus and a great motivator.

Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 05, 2008
- a parent
The Inner City Education Foundation has set the standards for student excellence high. Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School has shown it is up to the challenge. Under the direction/Principal Carla Chambers LDPCMS completed it's first year. The classroom ratio of 21:1 is not often found in the inner-city of Los Angeles. The focus in on educational excellence and personal accountability in all phases of life. These young scholars are preparing to take universities across the country by storm. Tenure is a issue with the teachers but passion and desire for greatness from these young ones is not lacking. The foundation has been laid for these leaders of tomorrow. Our community needs them and they need the community. Keep up the good work LDPCMS.

Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School 5

Posted August 01, 2008
- a parent
I am a student going to Lou Dantzler, and it is the best school you can send you 6 grader to.


Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School 4

Posted July 01, 2008
- a teacher
I just got hired at this school after 5 years at a nearby LAUSD school. All my experiences at the other school weren't bad, but this is 100 times better. Being/working here is like a breath of fresh air. The teachers (everyone, not just one or two) are caring, strict, and promote responsibilty. Most of the parents are 110% invested in their child's education. If you live in urban Los Angeles, I would highly recommend sending your child here, or to another ICEF school.

Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School 5

Posted June 26, 2008
- a parent
This has to be the best middle school in the city of Los Angeles. Theprincipal Ms. Chambers epitomizes what education should be about,bringing out the best academically in all students. Not only areexcellence in academics a must at LDPCMS, but preparing the students tobe respectful and productive citizens in their communities are alsostressed. It is a small caring environment where parent participationis a must and that truly makes a difference. The small class sizes areconducive to academic excellence. My daughter & I absolutely love thisschool!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School
5029 South Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90037
(323) 290-6930
Last modified Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lou Dantzler Preparatory Charter Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top