Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Celerity Troika Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 29, 2015
- a community member
Racism is alive and strong at celerity troika children being bullied and assaulted without consequence

Celerity Troika Charter School 1

Posted November 29, 2015
- a community member
There's a serious problem when racism is prompted and condoned my 6yr old daughter has been a victim of racism and bullying the school makes no efforts to resolve the issue... the schools population is 80% Mexican and 30% of that Mexican population doesn't speak, read or write in English so there's aids that translate and work with the none English speaking students....... illegal immigrants are allowed to be educated in our schools I'm not sure when they passed that law but that's what's going on


Celerity Troika Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
Ms Jacobson is a great kindergarten teacher my son is very active and she helping him improve in his behavior

Celerity Troika Charter School 4

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
This is my son's first year and I got to say I love this school . The behavior card really does help a lot my son was always getting red now as the 2nd month of school he doesn't get below green of course with the help if his teacher his behavior his improving for the best. Homework is not much . The minus one star is because there's no play equipment for the children.. the school does lack diversity but I don't mind you have to keep in mind that highland park community is mostly Mexicans :)

Celerity Troika Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
This year's homework is very different than last year. Lasy year our youngster had about one to two hours of homework, now its about thirty minutes.


Celerity Troika Charter School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Using words like stupid and shut up are not indicative of fostering integrity. The children are not taught self-management which may aid in promoting integrity and fairness.

Celerity Troika Charter School 2

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
The administration lacks transparency, is vague, and does not effectively engage with the parent population. This seems to be a common denominator within the Celerity organization. Leadership lacks integrity and honesty therefore its difficult to buy into the promises. Smaller class sizes was a huge factor when our family made its choice to leave mainstream public school and enroll our youngster in a charter school. There is a huge slant in diversity. The mass population appears to be Latino with a very limited prescence of caucasians, African Americans, or Asians. There are no studies which support that the behavior card methodology changes childrens behavior yet, as an example, this school moves the card if a child needs to use restroom outside of the designated times (i.e. recess and lunch). The need to use the restroom shouldn't be punishable nor linked to behavior. While the stated concept is impressive however the operation of this school is questionable. We are looking to move and would greatly encourage you to stop by, observe, attend some PTA meetings before making a decision. The school is located on a junior hs campus which has no play equipment.

Celerity Troika Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Yes of course!! Ms. Cuamea and Mrs. Moreno. They understand children as individuals, and somehow, find the time to give each child the needed attention in order to excel. Thank you so much Ms. Cuamea & Mrs. Moreno.


Celerity Troika Charter School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
I have found that it depends on the teacher. Luckily, my children have had excellent teachers. But I have heard of others that do not do so.

Celerity Troika Charter School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
At the least the teachers I have encountered have made it a point to make sure my children develop these characteristics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Celerity Troika Charter School
1495 Colorado Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90041
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (323) 344-0160
Last modified Celerity Troika Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top