Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-6|Private
435 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


UCLA Lab School 3

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
The tuition at the Lab School has been steadily increasing and is not positioned to be as expensive top notch private schools in the area. Yet, the student to teacher ratio or time a student gets to spend getting individualized instruction is not on par with private schools...it's a truly beautiful campus with some very magical elements, yet it's education and organization seem highly disorganized. Kids are bumped around from one activity to another all day. By making the school as expensive as private schools, many middle income families will leave and the school will be left with only very wealthy and those that qualify for substantial financial aid. The academics are bizarre and it seems that at least 50% of the kids we know get private tutoring and that the school expects that from parents. The after school teachers are truly outstanding and so are many of the teachers, the librarian, etc. But, there is a general vibe that families should not criticize the school and that everything is explained off as part of the school being a 'lab' - sad. I think the magical history of this great school is at a low point.

UCLA Lab School 4

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school and environment. Teachers vary in quality. Nice balance of diverse backgrounds, except they are forcing out their middle class families with their year after year excessive tuition increases. Core academic standards are not high and require outside tutors to maintain academic levels equivalent to outside public and private schools. This is in exchange for an emphasis on creativity and more emphasis on conceptual learning. Overall, very nice, happy kids.


UCLA Lab School 5

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
I somewhat disagree with the last post. The school in fact has its fair share of tiger parents (though definitely not the majority) and does a good job of challenging its students - for example, my kid's teachers made sure she was reading books appropriate for her level (about three years above her actual grade level). Keep in mind that a sizable proportion of the families have at least one parent at the University (surgeons, tenured prize-winning professors, etc.) and those folks don't take kindly to teaching to an 'average' level. Kids undergo standardized testing every year so parents have a benchmark for how their kids perform relative to national norms. Definitely a balanced environment, with a lot of happy students and a caring community, but not pure 'granola.'

UCLA Lab School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
Any child who can get in here would be lucky in every way. This is a sweet, diverse, caring community. However, it will not suit any Tiger Parents with their hearts set on Stanford. The academics are balanced and geared towards the average child. Those parents who had their kids reading in preschool should look elsewhere. Nicely granola for the rest of us.

UCLA Lab School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My son has been attending this school since pre-school. I absolutely love the school. I love the fact that the school sits in the middle of a redwood forest and has a charming creek flowing through it. Most of the teachers my son has had have been great. They go above and beyond teaching. My son has been nurtured and massaged into the person he is today. The psychologist Dr. Jacobs has been a fundamental positive staple in my son's life. The math program is phenomenal. As with any programs there are pro's and con's. As far as the con's I wish the administration and school board was more diverse. The safe school policy should have more consequences that happen to repeat and serious offenders/offenses. The writing program is great and many things are taught that I feel as an English tutor will be next to impossible to teach older adults, however the grammar/spelling should be focused on earlier than fifth grade. Overall, the school is great. I am so glad that my son got a great start in life. I know that his academic and social foundation has been so greatly molded here at the lab school that no matter where he ventures to next he will do great.


UCLA Lab School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
I never write reviews, but I had to respond to the insecure parents who think they must hire tutors so that their children can academically compete with their friends' kids at other schools. How sad. Both of my kids attend school here and I can't say enough positive things about the quality of their education--both academically and socially. My kids are happy to go to school every day and it's incredible the amount of critical and analytical thinking that's a part of every grade level at the school. And yes, my kids are academically challenged in every subject as well. Also, contrary to the naysayers, the 6th graders who leave the school consistently go to the top independent schools in the city. This is a FACT. But if keeping up with the Jones' and the "academic rigor" of your friends' kids is your thing, this isn't the school for you.

UCLA Lab School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
As part of UCLA s Graduate School of Education, you can expect that the curriculum will reflect best practices for teaching. After years of rotating principals, the school now has an excellent leader, Norma Silva, who is committed to recapturing the school s position as a national leader in education. The school s emphasis is on the whole child, looking at children s social/emotional learning but also offering differentiated instruction in multi-age classrooms. Under Silva s leadership the academics have improved substantially and while it is true (as one writer complained) that some families have tutors, this more likely reflects the aspirations of the parents than any deficiencies in teaching. The teachers know what they are doing, and while the process may occasionally seem mystifying to parents who attended more traditional schools, one cannot argue with the product. The children are incredibly happy and extremely self-confident and move on to the top middle schools. Cool Tools, which may seem a bit strange to some parents, gives children behavioral and ethical guidelines that they can use for their entire lives. The community of families is racially and economically diverse.

UCLA Lab School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
My child is in a 2 room combined age grouping - there are less than 50 students in total and they share 3 full time teachers and 2 full time teaching assistants - need I say more? In addition, they have Spanish or music taught by a specialist in their classroom daily. The school promotes lifetime learning, confidence and leadership. Comprehending concepts is favored over learning by rote and with the student to teacher ratio, each child can learn at his/her own pace rather than be limited by the average of the larger group. The community is rich in diversity but singular in its commitment to education. As it is a laboratory school, it is at the forefront of instructional theory and methodology. It has recently extended its Learning in Two Languages program which teaches for fluency in both Spanish and English. The campus is located in a redwood stand and a creek runs through it. PreK - 6th grade.


UCLA Lab School 3

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
The grounds are simply divine - your child will attend school in a lush redwood forest. I agree with all the comments about there not being enough academic rigor. My child started getting bored in 4th grade when the teachers kept doing the same projects year after year - literally the exact same project. A lot of the parents in our class were not happy with this. I hired outside tutors in order to prepare for testing and the ISEE exam to get into middle school and was accused of being abusive (?!). My kid wants to go to a top school, they object. Teachers there can really push an agenda and act like your kid is their kid. There is bullying at the school and it is supported by the administration, this thing called "cool tools" is a joke - they don't practice what they preach. If you move to protect your kid from this bullying and the bullies are richer than you, the principal will retaliate and make your life hell. Several parents have experienced this. Many of us are eager to get out of the school. If you do go it's probably best to hire tutors and get your kid out after 5th grade - the last year is really trying - my kid got everything from outside tutors the last year.

UCLA Lab School 1

Posted February 22, 2012
- a parent
A lovely location with some kind and caring teachers but sadly lacking in academic focus or rigor. If you have the time, money and inclination to hire outside tutors to supplement then it might work for you. My kids are getting bored and coming to the realization that they are falling behind their peers who attend other schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

UCLA Lab School
330 Charles E. Young Drive North, Los Angeles, CA  90095
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (310) 825-1801
Last modified UCLA Lab School is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Top