Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aldama Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $280,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Amazing Teachers and Dual Language Program. This school is at a very exciting time, huge parent involvement and high standards in curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

I love Aldama! My daughter is in the dual language program and her teachers are the best. I look forward to the next 6 years!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

this school is great because they seem to try to stop bulling so hard and i as a student feel like this a wonderful thing


Posted October 24, 2013

I am a dual language parent and I am extremely impressed by the knowledge, dedication and creativity the teachers in the DL program exude. In addition to the teachers, great families and a supportive and encouraging principle made this the top choice for me. (I, too, looked at Magnets, Charters, etc) As a bilingual, I was having a hard time transferring my knowledge to my son and this school is completely bridging the gap. Also, to know that the arts (drawing/art/dancing) play as much a role as readers/writing workshops & CGI math, makes me feel like I made the right choice. The growth I've seen in 2 months has been amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I am another Dual Language parent that is very happy so far with Aldama. Like many of the other parents who end up choosing Aldama, I went on a long search before deciding on this school. Besides the advantage of learning a second language, they have innovative methods to teaching other subjects, such as Reader/Writer Workshop for language learning and CGI for math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

One month in for our kinder gal at the Dual Language program at Aldama and we couldn't be happier. Great principal, fantastic families and extremely dedicated teachers. I am amazed at how much she has learned in English, Spanish and all subject areas in such a brief amount of time and can't wait for more to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Aldama Elementary has a fantastic dual language immersion program. It is absolutely mind blowing to see these kids listen, learn and then speak two languages at such a young age. The teachers are great and we can't wait to see how our little one progresses each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

I am a grandparent of two students at Aldama and a weekly volunteer. Aldama has a thriving Dual Language program (English/Spanish). The 6th grade has moved back to Aldama from the local middle school, a distinct advantage for the students. The teachers and staff are dedicated and caring. The students are involved, anxious to learn and polite. Don't let the "3" score chase you away. This is a fantastic school!


Posted February 19, 2013

We feel so lucky to have found such a great school nearby. Our daughter is in her second year in the dual language program, and we continue to be blown away by the talent and dedication of the teachers. GO HAWKS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

Thanks to the dual language program at Aldama, my little gringitos can talk to anyone in our neighborhood. We walk to school. We love highland park. But, the most impressive part of the school to me are the teachers. They are incredible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

I am the proud parent of a 1st grader who is enrolled in Aldama Elementary's dual language program. I am amazed at the dedication of the teachers, school staff, and parents at this school.There is a great sense of community at Aldama and everyone rallies together to support our wonderful Aldama students. She is only in 1st grade, and I am excited to see my daughter's proficiency and continued growth in reading, in TWO languages!! And my daughter loves her school and her teachers : )
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

I love our school! I myself came here as a kid and have nothing but great memories! So, when it came down to enrolling my son in school, I never second guessed my decision in signing him up for Aldama. The staff & teachers are incredible. Everyone is so invovled with the childrens education & it makes us as parents want to be part of all the amazing activities they have for kids. My son looks forward to going to school everyday! Theres nothing more I could ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

I love our school! I can't imagine there being staff and faculty more dedicated anywhere. Our children are so lucky to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

I am new to Aldama Elementary's Dual Language Program. My daughter is fortunate to have two "winning" teachers in her kinder program. Teachers who are dedicated, motivated to learn and teach, fun, loving and bring something new and exciting to the classroom each week. Sra. Saenz and Ms. Jung are way above average on the dedicated to teaching scale. They respect their students and love watching them learn. I witness this. My stepmother has been a life long educator and principal in San Diego County and when she observed the program, she was impressed by the strategies and teaching methods they brought to the classroom. It is within LAUSD and therefore faces the budget challenges that most schools (private or public) have in these economic times. But the commitment by the parent community and PTA to raise funds to support important programs at the school is strong and growing. It takes a village these days to make any school great and I am proud to be a part of Aldama's community. I am dedicating my time and energy to see this school succeed and am motivated by my daughter's enthusiasm. Principal is new so I give her 4 stars for enthusiasm. Parent involvement growing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

I am thrilled that we found Aldama. My son is in kindergarten and we have been absolutely blown away by the dedication of the teachers and what he has learned in just a few months. We really love the Readers/Writers Workshop approach. And the CGI math has taught him different ways to think about numbers, which he has enjoyed exploring. I would argue that the schools API scores don't accurately reflect what is going on in the Dual Language program. Both in terms of language and cultural education, I feel he is getting a very well-rounded education. Given the socio-economics of the neighborhood and the budget challenges public schools face these days, the school is definitely lacking in resources. We're working to address these things, but need more active, involved parents to help. Despite this, the caliber of the educational experience in the dual program is definitely top-notch
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

How lucky for us that we found this gem in our own neighborhood! This is our third year at Aldama, second year in the dual program. My son is reading above grade level in his primary language and getting stronger in his secondary language everyday. The teachers are caring, committed and wonderful. My son is not only gaining knowledge, he's gaining cultural pride and confidence in who he is and where he comes from. The school is diverse and the program becomes stronger every year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2012

My son is in the dual program at Aldama Elementary and I couldn't ask for more in terms of learning Spanish as a second language, being connected to a network of supportive and caring neighborhood families and with a faculty and administrator who are committed to ensuring that children care about and find meaning in what they are learning. My son is not only gaining a fantastic educational experience, he is also living and learning with children from diverse cultural, linguistic and economic backgrounds. The realities of our city and community are at his doorstep and everyone's experience and cultural norms are becoming his. This experience is priceless and our family feels so fortunate to have this opportunity in our very own neighborhood. Our school brings families of Northeast Los Angeles together! And... Abuelita is proud of her only grandchild who knows how to speak Spanish :)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

Exciting things are happening in the Dual Language program in terms of teacher training, thanks to the efforts of the teachers themselves who are very motivated. The school principal is wonderful- warm, yet with great executive abilities and accesable to parents. The facility itself is clean, airy and bright. There is parent participation in the Dual Language program primarily through the PTA- who fundraises for enrichment programs- however parent participation and collaboration does not extend to the classroom. Parents are discouraged at the onset from visiting the classroom and there is no regular communication from the teachers about what is going on there. Classroom management techniques consist of the standard LAUSD behavior "color card" system and teachers are not trained in methods that better promote social and emotional intelligence. The curriculum also does not appear to be project based. The Dual language program has its pluses and minuses. Overall, it is an above average program with room for improvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

I can't express enough how amazing this school is. We are now in our fourth year at Aldama with two children in attendance. They both have amazing teachers! The staff and Ms Naval in particular work very hard at their job and improving our school. Coach Williams and the PTA continue to make Aldama fun for the kids. Ms Alvarez makes Aldama feel like a home. She nurtures and loves each one of our children. I am so glad we chose our local school instead of a charter. Our girls are in a great place. Thank you Aldama!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

Aldama's dual language program Spanish-English program is on the leading edge of education in Los Angeles. With excellent teachers, a strongly supportive principal and highly involved parents, students are getting 21st century skills and top-notch education. As a parent at the school, I don't have experience with the regular elementary classes but know that the benefits of dual language are transferring to the whole school in fundraising, parental involvement and buzz. Aldama has been featured in the Los Angeles Times and gotten strong support from current and former school board members.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

772

Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

772

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females62%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state55%

Math

All Students55%
Females70%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students28%
Females32%
Males26%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino25%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability29%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate11%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students47%
Females44%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Females56%
Males27%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students50%
Females53%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females49%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate26%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females73%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate74%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students50%
Females49%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate21%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females51%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students47%
Females43%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 93% 52%
White 3% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 680 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
73%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
77%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
63%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
52%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
64%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
71%
 

Students

This school

 
56%
 

Employees

This school

 
66%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
64%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
67%
 

Employees

This school

 
61%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
48%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
48%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents31056%
Students34598%
Employees2550%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Paula Cordoba
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (323) 254-2159

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

632 North Avenue 50
Los Angeles, CA 90042
Phone: (323) 255-1434

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hillside Baptist Academy
Los Angeles, CA




Sycamore Grove School
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT