Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Atwater Avenue Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
My daughter is in Kinder and she is sent home with packets due that Friday. It's perfect!

Atwater Avenue Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Mr. Rios our new principle, is always getting the children involved and news letters are sent out about respect and honesty


Atwater Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
My daughter started Kinder this year and in the 3 months of being in school she's learned so much. Mrs. Sagura is on top of her game! Might I add that it's nice to see so many smiles in the morning and after school pick up, the parents are so nice!

Atwater Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
A huge thank you to Ms. Emily! Shes the La's Best staff member for the younger children. It feels good to know my child is safe and having fun while I'm at work! Thank goodness for after school programs with staff like her!

Atwater Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
I wouldn't even know where to start. There are so many problems with this school. Lack of resources, lack of a good principal, moody teachers, and yes, that very abrasive British woman.


Atwater Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted August 24, 2014
- a parent
WOW! Seems like same old problems there. My son graduated a couple years back and I was thinking about my daughter going, but the same problems are allowed to continue with the bossy British woman who thinks she runs the school. It was there then and I can't believe it is still happening now. This causes so much tension which now seems to be effecting all aspects of the school. (Maybe that's why all the principals left!) Time to look elsewhere!

Atwater Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
As a previous poster mentioned there are problems within the parent group leadership. Thats an easy problem to fix though so it doesnt make it a bad school. This school has tried hard and until this past year it was doing pretty well. Hopefully we will be able to fix or remove the problems this year, and go back to being the great school we used to be. I'd encourage people to take a chance on this school. We have the potential to be great, even if we are having some problems now. Its a good little neighborhood school.

Atwater Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
. I don't know much about the parents groups, I only know what I had heard on the grapevine. My experiences at the school has been okay. My kids like there teechers. I went there to, class of '80!


Atwater Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
I'd love to give this a good review because I have lived in this neighborhood my whole life and my husband and me both went to this school. So much has changed. The parent group leader does turn people off, but who cares? An adult should be able to ignore someone with a difficult personality. The real problem has more to do with principals coming and going, and a uncaring staff. My child graduated this year so it wasn't a problem for us for too long, and I hope it improves by the time my grandbaby can start school. I'd love to be able to return.

Atwater Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
I can't imagine where all this is coming from. The booster club leader does EVERYTHING at that school. She has a few other moms who help out a little, but she is down there doing most of it. She is the most dedicated volunteer I have ever seen. She really does run the school, and they are all lucky to have her doing it! She led the movement to free us from the ineffectual new principal we had been saddled with, and she worked hard to choose the new one we will be getting soon. If more of the people complaining actually go down there to volunteer themselves, they will see exactly what this woman has done to protect our students, and how selflessly she gives of her time. You will see that she is there everyday, leading the other volunteers by example. We are a great school, with a great staff, and a rock star of a parent group leader! Come for a visit, and see for yourself.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atwater Avenue Elementary School
3271 Silver Lake Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90039-2253
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (323) 665-5941
Last modified Atwater Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top