Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
My daughter graduated from Bancroft Art Magnet program last year and she had a great experience. My son now attends Bancroft's STEAM Magnet program. It is his first year here and has had only positive experiences. The teachers and staff have been helpful and friendly.

Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank the teachers and staff for their attentiveness, support and for helping me with both my children.


Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to the teachers that motivated my child to set high standards and meet them. Mr. Lee, Ms. Hula, Ms. Tate, Ms. Williamson, Ms. Murphy, Ms. Lawrence, Mr. Kennedy , Ms. Harris, Mr. Hauser , Ms. Harris

Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
My daughter spent 3 years here and has since moved on to high school and met with much success there. I cannot speak highly enough about all the opportunities she had while part of the Performing Arts Magnet program. The fact is, that because SHE looked for things to be involved with and took advantage of all kinds of opportunities, she had a great middle school experience. From clubs, to leadership class, to dance and theatre shows, to great master classes and field trips- she got to do more in Middle school than one might expect in a public school setting. She also took foreign language and visual arts as well as her performing arts classes (dance, music and theatre.). The majority of teachers and staff are at the top of their game and truly care about the student experience at the school. The majority of classes she had showed good academic rigor and expectations for students. The complaints she expressed more than a few times included frustration about the work ethic of the students (not teachers) in some of her classes and the fact that the school could do more to reward all the students that do all the right things instead of pointing focus on poor choices made by some. Overall it was a great MS experience for a high-achieving, self-driven student willing to try all sorts of new things.

Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School 5

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. Each two to three weeks there are meetings with principal. We got to ask questions and go into classes to see how kids work with their teacher. The teachers are great. My kid actually had fun while going to school. One of the best teachers there are Mr. Stiles, Mr. Hauser, Ms. Lawrence, Mr. Sutton, Mr. Gonzalez, Mr. Sussan, and Mr. Adrian. Yes there are some things you might not like about school, but doesn't every school has its flaws. By the way my kid just graduated from this school.


Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School 5

Posted May 24, 2014
- a community member
Bancroft middle school is a great school . I graduated Bancroft as class of 2011 and never have I had problems here (only when I got MYSELF into them). Teachers were really respectful and ready to teach all the time. Almost all the reviews on this school and teachers are negative, but this is coming from a former student who experienced this school. Teachers were good, great. Every class I had, I passed with a B or better, I was an honor roll student, 3.4 gpa and it was all because of the teachers and their encouragement. I recommend this school. I feel proud of the students there because I know they're being taught as well as I was.

Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School 1

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
It smells like trash there is alot of trash in the school. I reccomed this school to shut down my kid went here and everyday he would cry coming home from school .

Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Ms Rico has always been very responsive to my concerns/requests. She has personally responded to my emails and has even called me at home. She cares about the students immensely. Susan Webber is another fantastic administrator who really cares about all the students of Bancroft. This school agrees to teach every kid that walks in the door, unlike many/most charters that pressure kids with disabilities or low test scores to leave their schools. I have been very impressed with the caliber of many of my child's teachers at this school.


Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
THIS SCHOOL IS GREAT,,, MY DAUGHTER GRADUATED FROM THIS SCHOOL AND SHE WAS VERY HAPPY THERE, NOW MY SON WILL GRADUATE NEXT YEAR AND HE ENJOYS GOING TO SCHOOL, BECAUSE HE KNOWS HE HAS GREAT TEACHERS WHO ACTUALLY CARE ABOUT A STUDENT.

Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School 1

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Don't send your kids to this school!!! The staff is very unprofessional, the principal is always hiding from parents . it's a very bad school overall. It doesn't even deserve a star.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School
929 North Las Palmas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90038-2421
(323) 993-3400
Last modified Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hubert Howe Bancroft Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. Top