Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Berendo Middle School 1

Posted July 17, 2013
- a parent
I went to this school a couple years ago and frankly, it's quite terrible! Teachers call it "after school tutoring" but it's more like forced detention. I hope administrators realize that keeping students for over an hour needs a 24-hour prior notification to their parents? Also, the school is practically run by the parents.

Berendo Middle School 4

Posted March 26, 2012
- a community member
im currently a 8th grader and im about to finish middle school in 3 months ;( let me tell you something this school is GOOD! the math department is really good we score really high in math tests because berendo has before school and after school tutroing and that helps alot. the classes are good and the elctives are creative too but now we only have dance band and digital arts but they are good this school has the most amazing people and i honestly dont want to leave it berendo has been very fun they celebrate diffrent cultures and have dances:) they are very fun this school has improved ALOT!


Berendo Middle School 5

Posted March 21, 2010
- a community member
I am a garden volunteer who helped out on a project at Berendo for the Mayor's Day of Service. I was so impressed with the families and the administration. Hundreds of students and their family members came out to serve their community. Principal Bilovsky has assembled an exemplary staff that works above and beyond to create a safe, beautiful and enriching environment for their students and the broader community. They are heros, and Berendo is an amazing school.

Berendo Middle School 5

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Berendo Middle School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Berendo Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
This is a Pretty Cool School for your children. It has Cool Teachers and good supervision. They also have the most strict deans so its mostly rare for your kid to het in trouble !

Berendo Middle School 5

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Berendo Middle School 5

Posted November 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Berendo Middle School 4

Posted November 07, 2008
- a student
Im a current student at this school and its a great school! It used to be non-academic and test scores were way too low! All of that has changed now and teachers are really showing a lot of dedication nowadays. Especially in the 8th grade, where teachers even make you show up before school, after school, nutruion, lunch, and make you go to saturday school and intersession. I have honors in all my classes and in my algebra class, the head of the math department goes to visit us daily and sometimes even teaches our whole period because he's so impressed with our work and we are always ahead in our work compared to normal classes. When the normal algebra class is studying slopes and linear graphs/equations, we're, on the other hand, studying quadratic equations and functions or polynomials and factoring.

Berendo Middle School 0
no rating

Posted June 23, 2008
- a student
I was a proud Alumni at this school. The problem in this schoolis that the students see it as a social gathering not a place of education. I you have a good child that wants to study then there should be no problem. But, the education is not that demanding. It took me a really long time to adjust to Hamilton Humaities Magnet. (which is a great school and it is worth all the work) So, maybe try sending your child somewhere else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Berendo Middle School
1157 South Berendo Street, Los Angeles, CA  90006
(213) 739-5600
Last modified Berendo Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Berendo Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top