Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Los Angeles, CA
 

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Breed Street Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2012
- a teacher
I used to work at this school and some others schools and I like Breed the best and I can say Breed St. Elementary is one of the best schools. The teachers are GREAT, EXCELLENT!!! they have great communication, just have to say the kinder teachers are AMAZING!! they are great with the kids, you can see the kids enjoy being in their classrooms, the kinder teacher and work together and plan lessons together so that all students are learning the same thing. In facet, the teachers in each grade level meet and also plan lessons together!! There is great communication between Teachers and TA's they work together to help students exceed!! The T.A.'s also work in an intervention program where each TA works with a group of students who need extra help. Those students are divided into the skills they need help in, therefore, the TA's work with a group of 4-6 children on those skills, such as reading comprehension, or paragraph development, long or short vowel sounds. They work with each grade level different days of the week. There is great communication between teachers and the principal. Seriously great teachers even the school's API for the CSTs went up and they surpassed their goal!!

Breed Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2011
- a community member
Breed Street Elementary has one of the BEST TEACHERS, and i say that because i was a student their. They are very consern teachers they incurage their students to reach higher than what they think they could, and never give up in what they believe in!! Ive seen high paying teachers in the Hills not carring for the students but for the money. In live we need teachers, parents to believe in our young ones and trust me thoes words of wizom would never go away. They are excellent on the tutoring programs, love the paciante they have for the kids:),


Breed Street Elementary School 4

Posted December 03, 2008
- a community member
There are many dedicated teachers. They have high standards for themselves and their students. There have been many changes and only time will tell if they have been for the best.

Breed Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 27, 2008
- a parent
I have also decided to move my children from this school, their is a lack of communication among the teachers and the administrators and I feel this is affecting the staff moral. I also feel that if the teachers had more support and communication the staff moral would improve. As a parent I feel this has affected the quality of education that my children were getting at this school. I recommend that the entire staff get training on leadership, equity and team work. This will help improve the quality of education that all the children in our community need

Breed Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 25, 2007
- a teacher
I want to stop these malicious rumors. The principal and her team are working hard to improve the academic structure of this school. Since she has arrived they have hired more TA's than ever before, more in fact than any other school around. There are more volunteers, and more instructional workshops for parents. They got a group called City Year who is working with the school. Someone is obviously handing out bad and misleading information to the community. If you really want to know what's going on...go to the school. Go to the council meetings, and workshops, events, and volunteer. I know Ms. Madady is here for the students.
1 person found this helpful


Breed Street Elementary School 2

Posted October 22, 2007
- a parent
I pulled my 2 kids from Breed this year. It wasn't due to academics or after school program. Both of my kids scored Advanced on the CST/SAT9 and enjoyed staying everyday after school. The teachers have been given lemons and they are making lemonade. Granted there is no sugar (support from administration, PE, etc.) but the teachers continue to teach. The declining support of the SOS atmosphere the school once had is most key to its decline. The availability of Administration to address issues like wild under supervised recesses and a kid sent to the principal's office (my son once waited 2 hours) also combine to give you Breed's current downward trend. Things that were the essence of BREED have been removed or discounted - SOS, writer's workshop,Breed's Best, Multicultural program, and yearly performance. The principal feels the PI status pressure, and Sugar Honey Ice Tea is flowing downhill. Poor teachers.

Breed Street Elementary School 1

Posted October 20, 2007
- a parent
This school has been a big disappointment since Ms. Madady came to this school as the principal most of the curriculum has dramatically deteriorated so that it is at best mediocre currently. Most programs and workshops had been cancelled. The caliber of most teachers has been shockingly poor. It has therefore given none of the advantages that the students deserve.

Breed Street Elementary School 1

Posted October 14, 2007
- a parent
The school has changed principal and many teachers in the last two years. This school year is a challenge. The problems are huge; the school district is not paying is employees properly, the teachers are under constant pressure, there is no room for creativity, teachers can't teach, they are like programmed robots trying to teach wild, out of control kids, I don't blame the teachers for calling in sick constantly, the 4th & 5th grade classes are over 30 kids per class, there are no TA's, the assistant principal and principal are questionable and I mean questionable? Parents don't seem to care. The rumors are too scary to be beliveable. I love my neighborhood but my loyalty is with my kids, I'm pulling out...Can anyone save this school?


Breed Street Elementary School 2

Posted September 13, 2007
- a parent
School/staff seems more concerned with making sure they meet their quota than with the education of the children I feel they have forgotten what the focus of their job should be and the children suffer for it having said that there are a few teachers that do care but as a whole the staff is not great the education of the children is mediocre at best the children who are ahead along with those that are behind seem to be suffering the most as a result of overcrowded classrooms and lack of individualized instruction the physical activity comes from playing at break times on a positive note there are sometimes music recitals and performances parent involvement is limited if you are going to enroll your child in this school I would strongly advise that you develop a relationship with teachers so they know your child's education is important to you

Breed Street Elementary School 2

Posted March 11, 2006
- a parent
The teachers are fabulous. Parent involvement is extremely low.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Breed Street Elementary School
2226 East Third Street, Los Angeles, CA  90033
(323) 269-4343
Last modified Breed Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Breed Street Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top