Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brentwood Science School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

373 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2014

My child has attended this school for four years. I have been extremely happy with his teachers. From my understanding, often times when changes happen that impact the morning school yard area, it is to ensure the safety of the children. The school offers a variety of ways for parents to reach out, connect, volunteer, and inquire about issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2014

This is the 4th year in this school for my daughter and at the beginning I was so much more than happy but after the second year I'm thinking about to keep her there or not?. Academically she is progressing every year but at this point she's so unhappy with all this rules, she's just to bored of hearing this rude people who supposed to receive then with a smile every morning instead there is whistles and this kaind of military sistem,just now at the beginning of this 2014 school year you can here hand speakers telling all poor kids that they can't even been stand-up up and some of them are seated for more than 30 minutes you can see some of them sleeping on the ground totally bored , when they have the chance to play all around this wasted huge space. But worse than that is that the parents don't even know about all those rules and you can complain because when you try to do it no one here you!!!..... totally disappointed actually I feel my self very annoying and frustrated with the principal and her staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2014

Brentwood used to be a good school, but in the last three years, it has lost it's focus. A change in administration is needed badly to boost morale and make this school what it once was. Teacher morale is low, and this effects the quality of teaching. The principal is MIA, physically and emotionally, and the other administrators do not seem to know what they are doing. There is little parent involvement in the school. The school is supposed to be a science and technology-base school, but there is nothing innovative or special in the curriculum. The teaching and discipline strategies are outdated. The school has so much potential, but it desperately needs strong leadership, which is currently does not have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

The best elementary education in the entire Los Angeles area. Sending your children to BSM will create the substantial foundation all future learning institutions can safely be built upon.


Posted October 21, 2013

My son is in 4th grade and my daughter in Kindergarten at Brentwood Science Magnet. Our childrens' teachers at BSM have consistently been excellent, the academic level very high, the science labs are extraordinary, and there is a good after-school program (STAR), which is free. We also like the fact that our children are exposed to children who come from all over the city and speak 37 different languages. We have been thrilled with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

I love Brentwood! Some of the teachers special. I feel that this was the place that my son did become a little genius. I am happy with the school overall, I have very little complaint.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2013

A few years ago, my son was bored and not at all challenged. All he would do is worksheets. When I moved my son to Brentwood Science Magnet, he just flourished. The school gives an enriched education where students get to participate in hands-on activities during science labs as well as receive art and music which has been cut from most other schools. My son has friends from across the city. I love the diversity of the school. I am also proud of the strong parent support. I could go on and on about why Brentwood Science Magnet has been a great experience for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

This is our 8th year at this school (my older daughter is now in middle school having gone to Brentwood Science Magnet from kinder through 5th grade). This an is excellent school, with a strong line-up of experienced and caring teachers. My older daughter started middle school very well prepared, thanks for the excellent education she received at Brentwood Science Magnet. The student body is large in size and very diverse, and while that presents occasional challenges, the administration deals with them well and our overall experience at the school has been very good. The current Principal, Ms. Taylor, is exceptionally dedicated, kind and hard-working. Children are very fond of her, and parents respect her. I would recommend this school to any family that values good education, in culturally rich environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

My daughter started BSM in the 3rd grade and she is now in the 5th grade, ready to transition to Middle School. We are beyond impressed with how much our daughter flourished while at BSM. The science curriculum is wonderful. We feel like she has had a well rounded education and she has had excellent teachers for each grade. The school size is much larger then the school we were at prior...this is not a bad thing. She has been in advanced Math and English rotations so that she is challenged academically and she has the greatest amount of respect for all of her teachers. Her CST test scores jumped dramatically year over year (especially in math) and 5th grade afforded a chance to go to Astro Camp. This was a wonderful weekend camp excursion in the San Jacinto mountains. Do not pass on this opportunity, it is the trip of a lifetime for kids this age. Our daughter entered BSM a shy violet. After three years, she is outgoing, confident and willing to challenge herself even when she is scared. This is something I would have never expected but it speaks volumes of how much of a positive impact this school has had. I cannot wait to send my son to BSM!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

I love the school and the Principal works hard to improve the teaching learning process. My daughter is in first grade and the first teacher she had was a little bit irrisponisble and the principal changed the class for my daughter per our request and the teacher she has now is great and I am really satisfied with my first year experience in Brentwood Science school. Students also introduced many science labs which is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

We are in our last year at BSM. The first two years were wonderful under a fantastic principal and a great PTA. There have been two new principals since then and we have seen more rules enforced and less creative,educational activities. This school does NOT allow children to play before school begins in the morning. They are forced to stand in line, waiting patiently for school to begin. Even the younger children are made to do this. Not age appropriate at all. Out of five teachers, we have been okay with three, and LOVED one (who was let go due to budget cuts sadly). This school use to be wonderful. Now not so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

I wrote the truth once and it was rejected. Bad reviews are not accepted. There are better options then BSM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

If you post the truth it gets deleted. So in other words, if you say how GREAT this school is, they'll leave your comment up. So, the school would be GREAT if those in charge were GREAT. Let's see how long this one stays up. I resubmitted; noticed some errors in the last one. Submitted
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

We selected BSM for it's wonderful diversity and well-rounded curriculum. This science magnet offers a revolving schedule of four (4) labs - earth science, life science, physical science and computer science. GREAT model. AND art and music that is funded through the active parent group (FBSME). The art teacher is a renowned local artist who draws out amazing creations from the kids and the music teacher is a talented musician adored by all. In this age of horrible budget cuts it is imperative that parents, teachers and administration work cooperatively to make a difference. BSM works! There are GATE opportunities (e.g. parent involvement, lunchtime enrichment) as well as intervention and support for English language learners and other sub-groups. We had our daughter in private pre-school and Kindergarten and worried about the transition to this VERY large public magnet school. Best choice we ever made. She transitioned with ease (now in 3rd grade) - thriving academically and socially with diverse friends from a variety of backgrounds. My only wish is that more parents could be active on a regular basis (difficult because of work schedules and horrible LA traffic).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

BSM is a great school! They have a new engaged principal who is very committed to improving an already great program (e.g. initiating a student leadership program for grades 3+). All staff respect diversity. The administration is caring and attentive, knowledgable, multilingual. Full time nurse and multiple specialists. Excellent science labs, enormous campus/park-like setting, heart of Brentwood, free bussing from your local school, free afterschool programs, lunchtime enrichment, family nights, etc. Excellent teachers who know teaching to the test is not a full education; utilize group activities and other approches to enhance children's learning. As a science magnet, critical thinking is emphasized throughout all subjects. GATE is embedded in classrooms with differential teaching; sciene labs would qualify as advanced science for all - hands on science. Our neighborhood school is a 950+; and we choose BSME because it is a great school, progressive, diverse, and respectful of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2011

Teachers range from average to great. There are some who seem to invest so much into their class and others who seemed they didn't care. Class work and homework depended on the teacher. Some teachers were organized and others weren't. Some gave frequent updates between grade reporting periods and others gave none. It's best if parents are proactive with their child's teacher. There is no separate gifted program which was very disappointing. You will need outside didactics if your child isn't challenged enough. The diversity of the student body is a major plus. My biggest complaint was the morning drop-off time at 7:50 am (and no earlier) which made it extremely difficult for parents who needed to be at work by 8 am. There is a particular main office staff member who was consistently rude and did not seem to understand or care. Cafeteria food was fair. The student body is very large with large class sizes. The school is amazingly well-organized and maintained to accomodate such a volume of students. However, if your child does not excel in this kind of enviroment, I would recommend a smaller school. A lot of fundraisers throughout the year. Overall I give this school a C+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

Great school. My gifted son finished his math homework early, and the teacher brought in math students from UCLA to challenge the advanced kids. Three afterschool programs, two of which are free. One offered free was running $400 or more at other schools. Kids were greatly enriched in the free after-school programs: 2 musicals per year. My daughter entered the orchestra program which will last from second semester of her 3rd grade until she graduates from 5th grade. My son was in the 4th grade chorus. Both kids received 3 units of science, 1 unit of computer science, a unit of music, and a unit of art in addition to whatever is being offered by their regular teachers. Full magnet points upon graduation. Getting my kids into this school is like winning the lottery, and with the strong academic standards, this is a better school than my local charter school which is rated in the 900s but won't spend a dime tested my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2010

I was an alumni of this school, and I won't say when and my name. In the beginning, Brentwood was a terrific school, with a great education. But now, great teachers are being promoted to lower grade levels. Many excellent teachers were fired, and I was shocked when they fired a very good 4th grade teacher. The cafeteria food is okay. The environment is becoming trashed and the bathrooms are smelly and slippery.


Posted October 27, 2010

I don't know how anyone can rate this a good school. I pulled my son out of a great school because of the good reviews on this website. I made a huge mistake! It's October 27th and to date I have not received one piece of corrected class work or home work from my child's teacher. Even after a letter to the principal and multiple requests to the teacher. The classrooms are very disorganized and messy. It seems to be a systemic problem and not just my son's teacher. A Big Sunday project is needed for this school- to help classroom organization, clean up and an auditorium makeover. So, if you're thinking of bringing your child to this school, think long and hard about it because I can't wait to get my son back to his home school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

This is my first year as a parent at this school. So far I am very happy. My childrenare so enthused about math and science, everyday they share their learning experiences, this brings me joy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

839

Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

839

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females56%
Males60%
African American54%
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state60%

Math

All Students69%
Females65%
Males72%
African American68%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females48%
Males52%
African American50%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability43%
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state51%

Math

All Students72%
Females66%
Males77%
African American69%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability77%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate65%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females63%
Males63%
African American62%
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state60%

Math

All Students72%
Females67%
Males76%
African American58%
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate62%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females68%
Males56%
African American55%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to state62%

Math

All Students53%
Females52%
Males54%
African American35%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state45%

Science

All Students61%
Females65%
Males58%
African American41%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 53%
Black 25%
White 11%
Asian 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
English language learners 23%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 1174 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
69%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
76%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
63%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
74%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
53%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
69%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
52%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
65%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
66%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
64%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
68%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
53%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
53%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents41540%
Students71591%
Employees4452%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Aleta Parker Taylor
Fax number
  • (310) 826-1021

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

740 Gretna Green Way
Los Angeles, CA 90049
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 826-5631

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Martin Of Tours
Los Angeles, CA



St Sebastian School
Los Angeles, CA


Brentwood School
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT