Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Buchanan Street Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
The magnet teachers are fabulous. I can trust them with my children's well being and education.

Buchanan Street Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
The magnet school is absolutely wonderful. My children are happy and feel loved by their teachers. The kinder teacher is a stellar and the teachers that follow are just as fabulous. The magnet school is truly a hidden gem and Highland Park's best kept secret.


Buchanan Street Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
My son is in the 3rd grade but has been attending this school since Kindergarten. Our initial thought when moving into this district was that if we found the school was lacking in any way, we'd put him in private school. Well, 3 years later we are still very pleased with Buchanan and what it has to offer. The teachers really care about their students and the principal, Mr. Baird, has been great. I am a proud Buchanan parent and am anxious for my 3 year old daughter to attend in a couple of years.

Buchanan Street Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a community member
One of my favorite things about this school is the participation of PTA and teachers working together. Great school to have your kids in. Love you Buchanan.

Buchanan Street Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2013
- a teacher
Buchanan Elementary is a great school. I have been the Magnet Coordinator at Buchanan for the past 11 years. The teachers in the main school and magnet are dedicated, hard working and caring. They work together to plan lessons and events. The PTA is active and contributes to the school. The principal encourages new ideas and supports the staff. The parents and community are supportive of the school and the teachers and staff.


Buchanan Street Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
I have a Second grader who is at the top of her class, which is excellent. Because I work longer hours I can not be as attentive as I would like to be as well as invovled as I would like to be. It is awesome that I get phone calls from her teacher letting me know how she is doing in school. The principal is new this year and have yet to hear any unstaisfactory news. The programs there are fantastic and the teachers are excellent.

Buchanan Street Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2010
- a community member
buchanan is the best school in highland park!!!!from the teachers to there janitors

Buchanan Street Elementary School 4

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 kids that attend this school for 2+ years now. Yes, the principal may seem difficult to many of us parents at times, but over all my run-ins with her seem to be at the end fair. Not what I was looking for as a resolution to the issue at hand, but fair once I took a few days to think out the entire situation. The principal, with the assitance of her school run a great program with all of the student/parent scheduled activities. All of the activities seem to get better year after year. I think over all it's a great school with caring teachers and staff (that I have had my children taught by). I must say that I am a very involved parent, I am always asking questions making sure that the school staff know who I am, this is key! Be present when ever possible.


Buchanan Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
My Daughter has been there since K and will be in 2nd grade this September. I do think there are some issues with the Principal but minor. I am extremely pleased as I get updates on my daughter by phone because I work far from home and at times can not attend all functions. She is fantastic. there are issues but again no school is flawless.

Buchanan Street Elementary School 2

Posted April 11, 2008
- a parent
The principal & vice principal need to be replaced for this school to even have a chance at being run correctly. The lack of discipline toward children who bully others is shameful. There are some good teachers that if managed correctly would thrive in their positions.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Buchanan Street Elementary School
5024 Buchanan Street, Los Angeles, CA  90042-2340
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (323) 255-7118
Last modified Buchanan Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top