Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
109 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 142 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Burroughs Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
7th grade history homework took 5-6 hours, homework, not project, 7th grade math 8 difficult problems homework

John Burroughs Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
some teachers "yes" but some "no", throwing away project is not respect of students 5 days project work


John Burroughs Middle School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
I don't think they "care" if they care, they would do something about the problem they have

John Burroughs Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
fairness? project paper doesn't say indicate location, you get "b" because did not indicate location

John Burroughs Middle School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Job well done!! Extra curricular's are great making students inspired to do well. Dedicated teachers & staff.


John Burroughs Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to all the teachers, staff & to the principal. With your awesome help & dedication to the children they become the real future of the country. Kudos!!! There is no exact amount of appreciation for all your hardwork to make our kids reach their goals. You may continue to thrive for the best:-)

John Burroughs Middle School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
John Burroughs Middle School is a great school. The teachers and curriculum are fantastic. Yes

John Burroughs Middle School 3

Posted September 11, 2013
- a community member
i never attended this school but a family member did this school should improve and the staff should improve i attended emerson junior high in 1970 a much better school and i made lots of friends.


John Burroughs Middle School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
My daughter gose here i went here as well as all my other children , my Brothers and sisters this is a great school love the teacher and the Principal.

John Burroughs Middle School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a community member
I graduated from this school in 2008, and have read some of the comments on this site regarding it. Yes, I agree, there were some racial cliques forming when I was in school, too. However, my group of friends were multi-racial and close-knit. (We were Ethiopian, Russian, German, Italian, Thai, Korean, Filipino, and Romanian.) While other kids may have been in their own racial groups, I still feel that so many students had a friendly connection to their teachers. Going to school was something I looked forward to daily, and I'm appalled students in the present generation disagree.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Burroughs Middle School
600 South Mccadden Place, Los Angeles, CA  90005-3829
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 142 reviews. (323) 549-5000
Last modified John Burroughs Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top