Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Canfield Avenue Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

77 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2009

My daughter has been at Canfield since K and is now entering the 3rd grade. My son has also been at Canfield since K and is now entering the 1st grade. We permitted our children into Canfield because when we were looking for a good public school for our children (we don't have any in our area of residence), Canfield fit our criteria...highly rated, great test scores, awesome programs, great teachers and other faculty, a racially and culturally mixed environment and small class size. We have been extremely and continuously amazed with what a great school Canfield is. Our children have been so happy here. I would recommend Canfield to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

My son has been in Canfield since K and he is now entering 3rd. I never dreamed I would have found a neighborhood school to fulfill all of my needs for my child. The teachers are amazing and go the extra mile for their students. The parent involvement is outstanding and provides many extra activies as well as professionals that make this school the best beginning to provide your child with the knowledge and the skills to be a caring and thoughtful individual. Can you imagine we were number ONE in the U.S. for our Scholastic Book Fair! Canfield rocks because we all care, the students, the teachers and the parents! We are fortunate to be a part of Canfield!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

My younger daughter graduates from Canfield this year (her older sister graduated three years ago) and this wraps up an eight year stint for our family at the school. We bridged the crossover between principals, and though Principal Gullatt lacks the empathy and dynamism of former principal Rogers, the school has maintained its excellence. It is a true community where families can find support and growth opportunities. In a sprawling, intimidating city, Canfield feels warm, intimate and small town-ish. There are many wonderful extracurricular opportunities for kids that include The Paw Print student newspaper, the spring musical, etc. A new coach at the school has innovated an engaging and challenging P.E. program. Both my children thrived there, not only getting a top-notch education, but garnering the confidence that comes from growing up in a nurturing, close-knit community. We are so grateful for Canfield!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

Canfield is a great school and academically, it ranks. I don't agree with the negative comments from other parents that posted such comments. You have to get involved in any school to help make a difference for your child and others. If you don't lke something about the school, then get involved to make that change. The administration personnel were wonderful to us and so far we love it. The STAR program is exceptional. The staff is ALWAYS upbeat and personal. WE feel so fortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Teachers are great, Parents are amazing, and the principal and students are fabulous! My kids love this school and we all feel like one big family, with one goal in our mind - our kids' best interest. We love it and wish we could stay forever...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

This school has so much potential, if only we had leadership via the Principal. Parents care, and teachers really make great efforts to enrich the students' lives on a daily basis. We just need the administrators to take pride in the school, and help take it to an above average school in an above average neighborhood. What's wrong with a new paint job and improved cleanliness!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

Canfield is fantastic! My child has flourished academically and emotionally in the four years we've been at Canfield. This school offers many, many activities and classes that most LAUSD schools do not provide. We have Physcial education weekly and dance and music, just to name a few. There have been some negative remarks - which I find suspect. Canfield is a great school with great teachers and active parents. Maybe the complainers haven't been active? Their comments seem bitter and unrealistic. A great school has to have a combo teacher/parent relationship to truly succeed. Maybe some of the negatives come from the fact that those certain indiviuals haven't really participated in their child's education. From my perspective, we lucked out when we enrolled at Canfield!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

My son is graduating from Canfield this year and from K-5th it has been a wonderful experience. The staff is warm and supportive. The teachers are very progressive and teach to the individual needs of the student. The student diversity is the best in LA - really a representation of the city -what a super way for a child to grow and learn!! I've been spoiled by Canfield, can't believe he's going to middle school, but I know he is both academically and emotionally prepared. The school has made real investments in the library, theatre arts and pe programs and it shows!! This school is a very special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

Canfield lacks academically. The teachers are not held accountable. The school spends more time on fund raising than teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

I'm not a happy parent. I have had several issues with both the teacher and the principal. My child has regressed in the course of this year and there is little interest from the school's leadership to work with me or to even listen to my concerns. My son will not be attending this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

Canfield is an excellent elementary school. The teachers are first-rate, and the parental involvement provides support for all the enrichment opportunities - in academics, the arts, sports, etc. If your child is fortunate to attend, be sure to take advantage of the many unique programs at this gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

we are very happy with canfield, the ladies at the administration have been very nice, helpful and knowledgeable from day 1, this was 5 yrs ago. parent involvement is a lot which makes for a good school. we have been very lucky with our teachers who were but one excellent. like that the school is a small school.The principle is new and very strict which I think might be necessary to run a good school. There was only once that I got angry with the school for a major misunderstanding with paperwork that I was lucky to found out,no thanks to the principle but thanks to the administration ladies, and what is being put in the right. so only once in all those years is not bad, we really love canfield great participation from parents in all degrees, overall great to fantastic teachers. from happy parents and happy child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

Canfield is one of the worst schools my child has attended. It makes me wonder how the LAUSD pick their leadership to oversee our children. The principal is rude and needs to learn how to communicate to all the same. The standard of the school has diminished over the past couple of years. Prior to 2006 Canfield was one of the better schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

I couldn't get my kids out of this school quick enough. there are many safety concerns and kids are unsupervised. the new principal doesn't know what she is dong
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

Canfield is a school that is welcoming. The teachers and administrators work together to strive for excellence for all the students. I am a new parent and could not be more happier at Canfield. It is like having an extended family to help guide my child along the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

Canfield is very selective in all their extracurricular activities, My child has attended the school for 5 years and we leave with a bitter taste. Academically, the school is top notch, thanks to the teachers, not the parents who run the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

Canfield is terrible, it has a selected group that it focuses on for success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

Canfield is a terrific public school! The parents are extremely involved and the teachers welcome parent participation. The kids really benefit from the dedicated teachers and the wonderful after-school activities but it's like everything in life...you get out of it what you are willing to put into it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Canfield has a great arts programs, parental involvement and diversity. However the administration is disorganized and rude (they lost my child's paperwork twice for his asthma prescription). The new principal seems to lack experience (unable to answer our questions). We had a terrible year in a class that did not challenge my child at all. As a result, we transferred our child promptly, who is now at the top of the class and whose test scores have improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

Canfield is a wonderful school. Our son absolutely loves it and we do too. It is a wonderful environment for any student to learn and to be happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

889

Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

889

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females76%
Males63%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students69%
Females69%
Males68%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females85%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females85%
Males93%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner77%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females93%
Males77%
African American88%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females93%
Males90%
African American88%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females80%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females74%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students68%
Females67%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Black 17%
Hispanic 13%
Asian 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
English language learners 11%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 260 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
67%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
78%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
90%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
81%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
99%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
86%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
94%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
75%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
90%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
81%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
66%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
97%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
85%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
85%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents12031%
Students11556%
Employees2552%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9233 Airdrome Street
Los Angeles, CA 90035
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 552-2525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gan Chabad School
Los Angeles, CA


Darko La
Los Angeles, CA




Kabbalah Children's Academy
Beverly Hills, CA


Page School-Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT