Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
80 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 138 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canfield Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Principal Gullatt is truly dedicated to each of her students at Canfield Avenue Elementary in Los Angeles. Thank you for always putting the students first!

Canfield Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I think Mrs. LaMore is a fantastic teacher. From day one, she has been caring, loving but firm person that our son adores. She always shares her concerns with us but the thing i feel great about is that she always states our son's positive points first. She has inspired us to take a different look at our son's interests. Thank you Mrs. LaMore. We along with our son appreciate you very much!


Canfield Avenue Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The students are taught to be honest, caring, responsible, respectful and courteous to others. The students are looked at as group as well as individuals.

Canfield Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The Principal, staff, teachers and parents at this school work as a team to better the children's experience and learning. We feel welcomed to participate in all activities and are often asked to give our input. Our concerns are also taken into consideration.

Canfield Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Horton has been so caring, encouraging, fun and wonderful to my son. It is such a blessing he is in her classroom. When my son was struggling with anxiety about standardized testing, she helped calm him down and bring out the best in him. We are so lucky! Thank you, Mrs. Horton!


Canfield Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Great teachers, great community, strong principal, caring staff. We are so lucky to be at Canfield.

Canfield Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Canfield parent Kristie Vogel is amazing. Every day she is out at the track managing the Morning Mile, encouraging our kids and parents to walk or run. She knows all the kids' names and she is so kind and wonderful. Canfield is a better place because of Kristie.

Canfield Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Wong has been an amazing inspiration to his class! I've never seen students so eager to get to work in the morning and work so hard to make the Walk of Excellence! If that weren't enough, he inspires them artistically as well and gave each child a framed piece of their own art at our open house. Thank you for being a great teacher and influence!


Canfield Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
My child has been struggling for almost two full school years and the school has not provided a single resource. The principal is horrible she does not return phone calls and has a bad chip on her shoulder.

Canfield Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
Canfield is an excellent school with caring teachers and staff. I love that it's a smaller school with a strong sense of community. The principal really makes the effort to get to know all the students, and the parent involvement is outstanding. I am so happy my children attend this school!

Nearby schools

Canfield Avenue Elementary School
9233 Airdrome Street, Los Angeles, CA  90035-3201
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 138 reviews. (310) 552-2525
Last modified Canfield Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top