Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carthay Center Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 411 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

103 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2014

Carthay Elementary--soon to be Carthay Environmental Magnet-- has an impressive diversity of parents,students, teachers and administrators working together to make the school a real center of learning and activity for the neighborhood and the larger community. The Garden Science program created and developed by parents and staff is at the center of the new Magnet and promises endless possibilities for students to learn not only about food and nutrition, but about biology, solar energy, genetics etc. Parent involvement is strong at this school so bring your energy, enthusiasm, and ideas! They will be welcome! Does this school face challenges? Carthay receives money under the Title 1 program for disadvantaged learners--students who are at the greatest risk for failure and need learning assistance. It creates a big challenge for teachers who have to meet the needs of students at different levels. I've been a Carthay parent for two years and I haven't heard any complaints from my son's teachers. There is a great spirit of possibility at this school, especially now that it is becoming a Magnet and will be attracting students from all over L.A.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

Carthay is a wonderful school! My son has had the best experience in Kindergarten and loves his teacher. All the teachers truly care about the students and the school. We are so lucky to be able to have this great neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

Carthay is an amazing neighborhood school. My daughter absolutely loves her teachers, her new friends (she's in kindergarten), and the whole Carthay community. She has blossomed so much by the great learning environment at the school. As Carthay becomes a magnet, the school will grow even stronger and better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

We moved into this neighborhood after a long search and Carthay school was a big reason we decided to come here. We have two young sons who we'll be sending to Carthay soon. We chose this school because of the long standing strong history, the wonderfully diverse student body, the devoted teachers and most importantly, the incredibly engaged and dedicated parents that will do anything and everything to make this school the best environment it can be for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

The Carthay community is like a family. Our daughter is in kindergarten, and we have been thrilled with our experience thus far. Her teacher has challenged her to really fall in love with learning (reading in particular), and she has had some tremendous opportunities for enrichment through the garden science program, art, dance, and the STAR after school program. Our neighborhood school is where it's at - we would never go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

There is a sense of community at Carthay Elementary like no other. Our son has been a student for three years at our neighborhood school and from the moment we stepped into its hallways and classrooms we felt the energy of a "real school" with so much history and so much promise. Dedicated teachers, garden science, writing programs, gifted and talented programs, beautiful library. And now as a new Environmental Magnet there will be even more opportunities for project based learning and enrichment through the focus of the environment. California dreaming. Our child loves his school and we're very proud to be a part of the special community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

We are becoming an Environmental Studies Magnet next fall and will be expanding some of the great programs we already have like Garden Science. Our garden is amazing. We have a super cool aquaponics system set up where fish fertilize plants and the plants clean the water and go back into the fish tank. We are also a biosphere collection site for the Natural History Museum - studying the insect life in Los Angeles. To enroll your child in the school for 1-5, you need to go through echoices, but if you live in our boundaries, you will have preference (there is a buffer of spots for neighborhood kids). Environmental Studies is a great framework for Common Core and our kids will graduate with matriculation magnet points.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

We recently moved into the Carthay neighborhood and look forward to sending to our kids to this school. In visits to the school, conversations with parents and time spent on the community Facebook page we have been impressed with the commitment and dedication of those involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

To put it simply, Carthay Elementary is a wonderful school. Our son (in second grade) is in his third year at the school and loves it. The school is located in the heart of Carthay Circle, a historic preservation overlay zone rich in LA history. In it s hey-day, premieres of classic movies including "Snow White," "The Wizard of Oz," and "Gone with the Wind" were hosted at Carthay. The school is small, and feels like a family. Carthay is very diverse, truly reflective of the ethnic mix that is Los Angeles, with fifteen languages represented at the school. Both parents and community are involved with the school and help a very active PTA support additional enrichment programs, including Garden Science, Dance, Writers Workshop, Gifted and Talented Education, and a Science Fair. The quality of education provided by the dedicated and enthusiastic teachers at Carthay is unsurpassed. The school s transition to an ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES MAGNET in 2014 is long overdue and exceedingly well deserved. My wife and I are both faculty at UCLA, and we are proud that our eldest son is part of the Carthay family, and look forward to enrolling his younger brother in two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

I am delighted that my daughter has a school in our own neighborhood that is enriching her academically and socially. The teachers have been instrumental in challenging her to strive to be the best that she can be. We are also very grateful for the after school care program Star which is a extra added treat that we are forever grateful for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

All three of my children have gone through the public school system in Los Angeles and each of them has had a different experience but shared one thing in common: the schools they attended has that "something special" quality to them that enhanced the learning for each of my kids. Carthay is a very special school. A very diverse population, an enthusiastic teacher base, a dedicated school staff and some deeply devoted, energetic and active parents. The garden project in the school has won monetary awards. Plans for campus enhancements are in the works and next year, Carthay HAS BEEN DESIGNATED A MAGNET SCHOOL in the environmental sciences area! This is an astounding achievement for a small school in the heart of the Mid-City area. We got involved before our son entered Kindergarten and have already seen amazing things occur over the last couple of years in the school itself. What's most exciting, though, is our son loves to go to school, he never complains about homework, and we are thrilled to be able to walk him to school and feel he is in a very safe environment. We couldn't be happier with this school and we hope other parents agree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Carthay Center Elementary is a wonderful community school that my daughter (currently 3rd grade, student since Kindergarten) absolutely loves. We have been involved with the school for 8 years and have been part of the growth of its environmental studies and science programs. The teachers and principal have been fantastic. Being a small community school, everyone knows each other, and the kids all look out for one another. The parents are engaged, and the teachers REALLY get to know the kids as they watch them grow up. The academics are great, and there are wonderful enrichment activities (chorus, dance, talent show, garden science etc.). We see friends from school wherever we go in the neighborhood (parks, restaurants, shopping, anywhere!), and it makes a huge difference in keeping our daughter engaged. The after school (STAR) program is also phenomenal, and as a family with 2 working parents, we couldn't do it without them! Next year, the school will become a community magnet school for Environmental Studies. We think this will be a huge benefit to the school and the neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

This our second year at Carthay Center and our daughter loves it. The teachers and staff are amazing; they genuinely care about each and every student. The school has a rare soul that embraces all families, cultures, community and the environment. The STAR program is an added bonus with the aftercare structure and classes available. We truly believe our daughter is well off to a great start at Carthay and on her way to becoming a model citizen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2013

This is my son's third year at Carthay and we are very happy with the education and his teachers. Garden science, the writing program, the beautiful library and organic vegetable garden are just some of the wonderful elements. No school - whether public, charter, private - is the perfect school. Speak to other parents, observe classrooms, meet with the principal....this is how to best decide where to send your child to school. We are thrilled that Carthay is becoming a MAGNET school for Environmental Studies starting next year (2014).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

carthay center is best grade school :) its small the teachers are great very attentive to cchildren. I love the diversity all different nationality all get along well.. iv had my child here for. 6 Year, and my child loves it, happy to arrive for school every day ready to learn. There are a lot of opportunity's for parent involvement, in the school as well for the ccommunity, it feels like a small family where your child fells always welcome :)......over the years I have seen the school improve more and more over the years, and the possibilities of greatness are endlesss! I would recommend this school to anyone :) GO CARTHAY CUBS!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This is a good school to send your child. It has a diverse student background and the teachers and school administrators are helpful. This school is a true diamond among many fake diamonds. My son is enrolled in the Beyond The Bell after school program and it is very good. It is a mixture of study time (home work) and playtime, which is good for my 2nd graders. The key is for the parents to reinforce what each child is learning in school, so parents we MUST get involved with the school and work with the teachers and administrations. I would like to see the clean up of the tunnel that is under the street. It is to dark, dirty and smells very bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

My son just started Carthay Center Elementary this past August. This is our neighborhood school and we were skeptical about sending him here just because we knew nothing about it. I have to say we couldn't be happier! This is a fantastic school that ,for some reason, gets a bad rap. The teachers are fantastic and the principal is one of the top in the district. With the budget cuts, like every school, Carthay needs money, but because it is so small, they don't need or try to raise hundreds of thousands of dollars. I would seriously consider this school as an option. It has a beautiful campus, a working garden and a principal and teachers who care!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

GREAT SCHOOL THEY DESERVE THE BEST EVREY DAY . ALL THE TEACHERS AND PRENTS WORK TOGETHER .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

A wonderful neighborhood school with a gorgeous campus. The students are amazing - very bright and talented as can be seen by attending their annual talent show, or their California Dance Institute performances, or from their annual Young Writers' Workshop performance. The Principal is just stellar - very proactive engaging parents, teachers and students alike in building a strong and supportive school community. Parents write grants and diligently fundraise to provide the very best including a one-of-a-kind, hands-on Garden Science program, Dance, STAR P.E., Field Trips, etc. The families fund raise to keep their incredible Librarian, Ms. Cruz and Plant Manager, Mr. Williams. It is a special place,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

This school has come a long way in the past six years. It only continues to improve as the parents new and old together with the principal and teachers have worked to get grants. These have been used to start a fantastic outdoor hands on science classroom along with much needed new technology instruments in the classrooms. We're very enthusiastic about Carthay's future and that of it's students. My children are very fortunate that we chose to come here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

Small neighborhood school. Great principal, who knows how to communicate with parents. School would benefit from a good dedicated assistant principal, one that's dedicated and return year to year. Currently they have a new AP every year. Didn't care for the last one. Teachers caring. Ignore test scores, or you'll lose out on a good safe school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

I believe the school is on its way to becoming a better school with more funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

This school is a gem, in the heart of Los Angeles. There is a dynamic new principal, Tracy Calhoun, who is full of energy and new ideas, and who welcomes the input parents. The campus is small and gorgeous, and houses the best teaching garden in all of LAUSD, and maybe California. The school's garden science program is the pride of LAUSD and was featured on Anderson Cooper 360 and in the Huffington Post. There is music and arts instruction through the Arts Prototype Program, and, dance with the California Dance Institute. And, there is a very active and involved group of parents who are always ready to welcome new families. This is a real neighborhood school with close ties to its community. It is for parents who want to be involved in their child s education. Most importantly, the children of Carthay love this school and they want to be there all the time. My son told me, he never wants to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS SCHOOL IS THE MS. CRUZ AND MRS. CATHERINE!!! I FEEL THAT THE STUDENTS THERE WERE CHEATED FROM THEIR EDUCATION!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

The new principal is absolutely fantastic. She is focused on what is best for ALL of the children at Carthay. My children love learning, love going to school and have become avid readers. They often curl up with a book rather than watch TV at home. They also love the phenomenal Garden Science program, which doesn't seem like "school" even though they are learning a ton. Great community-oriented school with kind and caring parents, teachers, and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Carthay is a school with involved parents and an engaged staff that is committed to it's children and embraces the diverse community that exist there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

It's a truly diverse school that engages the community and has the biggest organic learning garden in LA.


Posted October 7, 2009

Emma and Alex love the teachers and subjects and are willing to tell everyone about their wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

They have the best teachers and very well behaved students...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

community spirit and terrific opportunities for parental involvement!and parents who actually do become involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

Upgrades, renovation greatly needed. Neglected. A philosophical liberal ethic pervades. Cliquish. Poor administration. New year, new principal - let's see what Carthay's focus will be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

My Grandson is a student at Carthay and is reading and loving school because of the teachers and the librarian, Ms. Cruz
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Wonderful school - great parents, great teachers!!!


Posted September 25, 2009

It's an attractive, cheerful, welcoming and happy place to be; and the students seem happy there. Ms Cruz and the Library are very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Brilliant school, a little slice of heaven!


Posted September 25, 2009

great school, supportive parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

it is the most amazing school I have ever seen! The energy between kids, parents, and the school is huge! There is a powerful flow and bonding between the school, the teachers, and the families
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Carthay Center School is great because of some of its dedicated teachers. And also a well loved librarian, Mrs. Cruz, who has made a difference for many children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

It has been My Daughters school since preschool. The Teachers are all dedicated to guiding our children toward excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

I love Carthay Elem. School because the teachers care for their students.


Posted September 24, 2009

I love Carthay because it has provided an environment for my daughters, son, and nephew to flourish intellectually and socially. Carthay's beautiful garden is one of it's best attribute.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Love the parent participation. Great community participation, culturally diverse. Love our teacher Mr.Whalen this year.l...the new principal isamazing...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Carthay is an amazing neighborhood jewel where the administration, teachers and parents work together to create a wonderful learning environment for our children. Under the leadership of our new principal, Ms. Calhoun, we are on the precipice of greatness. It's palpable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Wonderful school, truly invested in the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

very committed parents and caring teachers; awesome K teacher Mrs. Cathern!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

great school...great teachers


Posted September 23, 2009

Carthay has an amazing small school with bright future. It is all about the children and the parents are a true reflection of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Great Library & teachers


Posted September 23, 2009

Besides the sheer beauty of the school and its buildings, Carthay Center Elementary has the feel of a mini United Nations. The teachers are wonderful, the students diverse and the parents deeply committed to their community. Smack dab in the center of Los Angeles, Carthay Center Elementary stands as a model for all urban schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Lots of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

It's the place where kids learn to discover...Ms. Cruz makes it happen.


Posted September 23, 2009

Great environment/teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Carthay is a small neighborhood school with truly incredible resources: an excellent library and a librarian, Ms. Cruz, who is the heart and soul of the school; art, music, dance, and drama classes funded through the Arts Prototype program; a great special education program; a Gifted and Talented program; a pull-out intervention program; student teachers from USC helping in some classrooms; book clubs; a teaching garden, and much more. My kids have had outstanding teachers: dedicated, enthusiastic, passionate about teaching, and warmly supportive of all their students. There is a terrific group of active parents and volunteers from the community, a strongly supportive administration, and, best of all, a warm and wonderful sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

They teachers care about the students and want the best for all of them


Posted September 22, 2009

I love Carthay Elementary school because the education level is high and the children are very important to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

As an outside obsever I don't ever remember seeing so much time and patience being offered to the students of Carthay by the teachers. Above and beyond they give of themselves their time and their wallet. These are teachers that look under ever rock to find a diamond in all of their students.


Posted September 22, 2009

The children of friends attend this school and they think it is a terrific educational venue. Way to go, Carthay Center Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The teachers and staff at Carthay really care about their students. The parent involvement at the school is better than I have ever encountered at other public schools. Vote for Carthay!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Carthay Elementary has an extraordinary combination of high quality teachers and highly motivated parents. A phenominal experience for any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

These parents and teachers care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Its a great school and the staff really cares for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Carthay is a super school -- dedicated teachers and staff within a diverse community of students and parents that work well together to build a caring, hard working, high achieving, environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I have to say the thing that I love the most about Carthay is that we've got not only a an excellent and committed staff of administrators and teachers, but we've also got wonderful parents that really care about our school. Our teachers take the time to get to know their students and the best way to help each one advance. The parents get together and think and act on the best ways to help our school succeed. One of our largest success stories is the Carthay Center Garden. It is a focal point of the neighborhood and something our children love to work and learn in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

We have teachers and a community of parents that believe our children can achieve anything and deserve everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Carthey Center does a great job of making their kids happy to learn.


Posted September 21, 2009

carthay is a great place to learn the whole staff and the parents are amaizing.


Posted September 20, 2009

we love the teachers, the new principal, the pta, the community, perfect school for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Great parents who are involved in their children's future. They only want the best for them!


Posted September 20, 2009

The only reason we aren't a five star school is due to budget cuts!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2009

We love Carthay Center! Parents and teachers care about our childrens well being and education. Go Carthay!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Carthay has the most wonderful community of involved parents and teachers. Our school teaching garden is amazing. My kids love their school and the opportunities it provides them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

We are creating a wonderful, caring, involved community of administrators, teachers, parents, and most importantly, children!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2009

The school is a family of diversed and caring individuals. The teachers, staff and parents are united in providing a safe, caring and nurturing environment where the children and flourish and feel secure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

My two grandkids love Carthay. Great environment. Wonderful, involved faculty and families! Very warm, caring environment.


Posted September 20, 2009

Carthay Elementary School is awesome! Support your neighborhood school and make it a school you WANT your kids to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Great teachers, great kids, great parents, great community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Great PTA, amazing principal, beautiful facility, vibrant student body, dedicated teachers, and growing community support!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

I love my school because it is truly a nieghborhhod school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Carthay Center School has a fabulous garden and a fantasticly diverse group of involved parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

This school has a lot of wonderful students who's parents are very involved. The kids love going to school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Carthay is a fabulous school with the most dedicated staff and parents. There is a very strong sense of community and everyone at the school works together to ensure success for all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2009

Loving, brilliant teachers; devoted, knowledgeable administration, and an organized, motivated group of parents. This is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

There's is lots of involved parents. Most teachers supportive of the children and the goal is to motivate children to do thier best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

What a terrific new principal we have in Ms. Traci Calhoun. She is enthusiastic, energetic and obviously cares about the students. We all look forward to her stewardship this year and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I absolutely love Carthay Center School. The school is very family and community oriented, the teachers and administrators are always available, and the curriculum is book and reality based. My third-grader has been at Carthay for a few weeks now, and she absolutely loves it. We've already had one PTA meeting, and the concern and support for the children and teacher's needs was overwhelming. I am so grateful to be a part of the Carthay family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

Fantastic campus, lovely diverse students, exceptional staff and administration, and open, excited and diverse Faculty. Integration of the arts is outstanding, and the learning garden is an amazing and beautiful tool that all the students get to experience. My children thrive at Carthay Center
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2008

What a wonderful learning environment! An historic campus, small classes, engaged parents, inspired teachers, an arts prototype school, a superior teaching garding, chess, science, dance, book clubs, and more, all in the heart of LA. My son loves to go to school every day. I cannot ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

This is an excellent example of what neighborhood schools can become. There is a true feeling of community, with parents who walk their children to school, work in the garden, volunteer in the classrooms and assist with an after shool reading program. There is an active community group, Friends of Carthay Center, which has increased local business support for the school. The principal participates in a monthly 'Coffee with the Principal,' giving parents a chance to speak directly to her about current concerns. Several initiatives developed out of the coffee meetings including an afterschool reading program. This is a strong emphasis on academics at Carthay. The children are also taught how academics and science work in their daily lives -as in the garden where nature and science are integrated into the teaching program. There is a real sense of a community here which gives its full support to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

A Jewel of a school. Perhaps the loveliest setting in the LAUSD, with one of the finest Elementary School Gardens, public or private big or small. Active, involved, progressive Parents Group. Experienced, hard working teachers who run a 'tight ship.' The children are a delight; bright, inquisitive, well dressed, well mannered, and respectful. All obviously working hard to surmount the myriad of family languages. HM, Master Gardener UC Cooperative Extension
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

My son attended 1st grade at Carthay. While the teachers and support staff were outstanding, the adminstration was very cold and uncaring. My son experienced a very serious situation and it was not dealt with in a caring or professional manner. The parent group is excellent and trying their best to improve things, but without a supportive and caring administration, they've go their work cut out for them. I pulled my son out of there and he is doing excellent at one the top rated schools in the district. We do miss Mrs. Finn, she was great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2006

Staff is not good. School lacks funding. Bad attitude from office staff and many teachers who walk around arrogant, unhappy and lacking maners. Bad local district direction. Bad test scores and overall education. Lack of organization. Poor lunches. If you must send your child to this school, make sure you pour your attention into education at home. The kids are nice at this school though and my child misses them very much but her new school is so much better. She was way behind but has since caught up do to our switch of schools. And she was one of the smart ones in her classes at Carthay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

Carthay has been great for my child! He is confident, comfortable and loves his many friends. Academically, my son has amazed us. Yes, he has homework in Kindergarten but he usually finishes it quickly and asks for more. He never cared for art in preschool but through Carthay s Arts Program, his interest and abilities have blossomed. Carthay Center has truly been a wonderful surprise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Disappointed in the preschool program. Lacks understanding of early childhood. Homework nightly. Not warm and cozy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

While I am very pleased with the parental involvement, the diversity, the spanish in the preschool classroom and the FCC motivation, unfortunately this preschool is very much in the box. Creative thinking is not encouraged. Projects are precut, color in the lines, dittos; nothing left to the imagination. Homeowork is the same. Nightly coloring in the lines. Parenting classes are required.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

We love this school. Great community involvement. Teachers are outstanding. The school is small and there's a strong sense of community within it. A little involvement goes a long way here. Students are exposed to a wide range of experiences -- in the arts, field trips, computers, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

There is an amazing group of parents, Friends of Carthay Center, who want nothing more than for Carthay Center to continue to excel. The FCC is highly committed to the school and has been striving and accomplishing great goals. The new field looks fantastic. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

School has good teachers that are very dedicated to the children. Not enough parent involvement in the PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

I love the school. Great environment of a young child. Teachers are wonderful! Administration is very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

This review is for the pre-school program only. My daughter attended this school for about 4 months and we have found it to be an excellent school. She learnt something almost everyday and seemed excited about it. The teacher, Mrs.Ecker, who is in charge of the class is very dedicated and enthusiastic. She is very active and ensures that the students have something to do throughout the class. I would highly recommend the pre-school to anyone who is interested in having their children go to a place of learning, not some place where the only thing the children do is play on their own without supervision or watch television.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2004

I have been volunteering at Carthay Center over this past year. I have discovered that the school has much to offer in terms of an experienced and caring teaching staff, a welcoming principal, an energetic new assistant principal and many wonderful qualities too numerous to list. Carthay Center is one of the few schools to offer full-day kindergarten in the fall of 2004 and they will be incorporating the same blockwork program that Westwood Charter has used for years. Carthay Center is a small school which allows the teachers, students, and staff to develop a bond not found in larger schools. I look forward to entering my daughter in Kindergarten in the fall of 2005.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2004

I have been an active parent at Carthay for 8 years. My son graduated from Carthay and is now about to complete Emerson's Honors Program. My daughter is in 4th grade at Carthay. I serve as PTA President. While Carthay has faced many challenges, there have always been a core group of dedicated teachers, staff and parents who have worked to make it a better place for our children to learn, to achieve and to excel. A few years back, the state designated us an under-achieving school. The result was that a group of stakeholders, including teachers, parents, administrators and neighbors volunteered many hours to write a viable school plan. That plan has been implemented for the last few years and has resulted in increased test scores. Improvements will not be completed overnight but we expect continued success with the many wonderful plans we have put into place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

My children went to this school many years ago. It was excellent. I now am a reading partner. The teachers have been very helpful and friendly. It would be great if there was a bit more of parent envolvement which seems to be coming.


Posted November 12, 2003

There has been a high turnover of teachers this year and the quality of the teaching is very poor. My son has been in this school since first grade and the decline on all levels is painfully visible to myself, other parents (with the same history) and my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

777

Change from
2012 to 2013

-38

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

777

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-38

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females61%
Males54%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state67%

Math

All Students50%
Females61%
Males42%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females56%
Males36%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state27%

Math

All Students51%
Females44%
Males57%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females87%
Males38%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females65%
Males52%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students32%
Females38%
Males27%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state27%

Math

All Students37%
Females33%
Males41%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state18%

Science

All Students45%
Females42%
Males50%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 6%
Hispanic 35% 52%
White 12% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 324 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
70%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
75%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
72%
 

District average

 
74%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
76%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
90%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
55%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
83%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
70%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
70%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents15354%
Students15689%
Employees1545%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Traci Calhoun
Fax number
  • (323) 933-2698

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6351 West Olympic Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90048
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 935-8173

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT