Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 411
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 70 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

110 reviews of this school


Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
This school is wonderful it is more then just a school it is a family. I always feel welcomed by the staff and my 5th grader and kindergarder loves it along with my 3rd grades nieces and 1st grade niece. The teachers are great.

Carthay Center Elementary 4

Posted April 10, 2015
- a parent
My son is a 5th grader at Carthay currently. He went for kinder as well but we pulled him out because at the time we were learning that he had some learning challenges so we sent him to a charter in Hollywood for 1st-4th. Well, long story short we are back and he's having a great year! I'm so impressed at the many wonderful improvements, parent involvement and the new environmental studies magnet. One of the best things about Carthay is the beautiful garden! Check it out!


Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
Simply put: I love this school. Great administration. And I'm thoroughly impressed with how my child's teacher goes that extra step to reach all her students (no matter what level they are on).

Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
We came to Carthay School of Environmental Magnet from a horrible Catholic school that was six months behind academically. Carthay has been proven to be the polar opposite experience for our family. Our school has superb, caring and thoroughly trained teachers who are invested in your children's academic and social successes. Carthay also has a new dynamic, take charge principal, Mrs. Hall-Johnson who is both sensitive to the needs of the students and the parents. She's has a progressive approach, is open to ideas and suggestions but has a definite vision for what she wants the school to be and it's the very best. Mrs. Hall-Johnson is also a very hands-on principal. She's very visible and is not afraid to roll her sleeves up and help out . Carthay also has a terrific and extremely active PTA that create wonderful fundraising events and fantastic opportunities for families to volunteer. I feel blessed everyday that we found this school. I truly love sending my child here and being apart of its amazing community. It's definitely the best school experience my son has ever had in his entire academic career.

Carthay Center Elementary 4

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter went to pre-K at this school and we had a good experience but were lured away by a magnet. When we heard that Carthay was becoming a magnet beginning in 2014, we were so excited to come back to our neighborhood school for 3rd grade! We love the environment studies theme, the fabulous garden, and the chickens. Even with a "science-y" theme we have discovered some amazing opportunities for art and music studies at the school--which our daughter loves. She is thriving at Carthay, her teacher is caring and dedicated, and her fellow students are really awesome. The principal is new and I think still finding her sea legs, but she is definitely approachable and hard-working. Most of all, we have found the parents at Carthay to be welcoming, energetic, and invested in pushing Carthay to be an even better school.


Carthay Center Elementary 4

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
We love our neighborhood school! We are new at Carthay Center as our daughter is in kindergarten. The school provides a welcoming environment where we have met many wonderful families. The school is diverse on many levels and we love our daughter's teacher. Our new principal is engaged and promises to continue taking carthay in a positive direction. We are so lucky to live just a few blocks from Carthay Center Elementary and I highly recommend it!

Carthay Center Elementary 2

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
Carthay Center was a huge disappointment for my child last year. I like the diversity, it helps your kids develop an awareness for other cultures and beliefs. The parents are very involved. With that said, I am looking for another school for my child, I would rather pay for private school than go back. My child's teacher played favorites, allowed bullying and didn't seem to want to push kids to do better. If you asked during a parent conference what your kid could do to get better at a task or subject, she'd just say oh just have them keep up with school work... but the school work was so easy. The parents succeeded in getting rid of the principal after she dismissed several teachers, it was way too much drama for those of us that just want our kids to go to school and focus on learning. The front office staff is horrendous, one of them is really nice but the other one has the worst attitude ever and usually talks down to parents when you call to ask questions. There is no nurse on campus, no ice or bandaids - if your kids get hurt and ask for their parent to be called the lady at the front desk will tell them they don't have your number and go back to class.

Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
Carthay Elementary--soon to be Carthay Environmental Magnet-- has an impressive diversity of parents,students, teachers and administrators working together to make the school a real center of learning and activity for the neighborhood and the larger community. The Garden Science program created and developed by parents and staff is at the center of the new Magnet and promises endless possibilities for students to learn not only about food and nutrition, but about biology, solar energy, genetics etc. Parent involvement is strong at this school so bring your energy, enthusiasm, and ideas! They will be welcome! Does this school face challenges? Carthay receives money under the Title 1 program for disadvantaged learners--students who are at the greatest risk for failure and need learning assistance. It creates a big challenge for teachers who have to meet the needs of students at different levels. I've been a Carthay parent for two years and I haven't heard any complaints from my son's teachers. There is a great spirit of possibility at this school, especially now that it is becoming a Magnet and will be attracting students from all over L.A.


Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
Carthay is a wonderful school! My son has had the best experience in Kindergarten and loves his teacher. All the teachers truly care about the students and the school. We are so lucky to be able to have this great neighborhood school.

Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
Carthay is an amazing neighborhood school. My daughter absolutely loves her teachers, her new friends (she's in kindergarten), and the whole Carthay community. She has blossomed so much by the great learning environment at the school. As Carthay becomes a magnet, the school will grow even stronger and better!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carthay Center Elementary
6351 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90048
(323) 935-8173
Last modified Carthay Center Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carthay Center Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. Top