Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 411
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 63 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


109 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
Carthay Elementary--soon to be Carthay Environmental Magnet-- has an impressive diversity of parents,students, teachers and administrators working together to make the school a real center of learning and activity for the neighborhood and the larger community. The Garden Science program created and developed by parents and staff is at the center of the new Magnet and promises endless possibilities for students to learn not only about food and nutrition, but about biology, solar energy, genetics etc. Parent involvement is strong at this school so bring your energy, enthusiasm, and ideas! They will be welcome! Does this school face challenges? Carthay receives money under the Title 1 program for disadvantaged learners--students who are at the greatest risk for failure and need learning assistance. It creates a big challenge for teachers who have to meet the needs of students at different levels. I've been a Carthay parent for two years and I haven't heard any complaints from my son's teachers. There is a great spirit of possibility at this school, especially now that it is becoming a Magnet and will be attracting students from all over L.A.

Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
Carthay is a wonderful school! My son has had the best experience in Kindergarten and loves his teacher. All the teachers truly care about the students and the school. We are so lucky to be able to have this great neighborhood school.


Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
Carthay is an amazing neighborhood school. My daughter absolutely loves her teachers, her new friends (she's in kindergarten), and the whole Carthay community. She has blossomed so much by the great learning environment at the school. As Carthay becomes a magnet, the school will grow even stronger and better!

Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
We moved into this neighborhood after a long search and Carthay school was a big reason we decided to come here. We have two young sons who we'll be sending to Carthay soon. We chose this school because of the long standing strong history, the wonderfully diverse student body, the devoted teachers and most importantly, the incredibly engaged and dedicated parents that will do anything and everything to make this school the best environment it can be for our kids.

Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
The Carthay community is like a family. Our daughter is in kindergarten, and we have been thrilled with our experience thus far. Her teacher has challenged her to really fall in love with learning (reading in particular), and she has had some tremendous opportunities for enrichment through the garden science program, art, dance, and the STAR after school program. Our neighborhood school is where it's at - we would never go anywhere else!


Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
There is a sense of community at Carthay Elementary like no other. Our son has been a student for three years at our neighborhood school and from the moment we stepped into its hallways and classrooms we felt the energy of a "real school" with so much history and so much promise. Dedicated teachers, garden science, writing programs, gifted and talented programs, beautiful library. And now as a new Environmental Magnet there will be even more opportunities for project based learning and enrichment through the focus of the environment. California dreaming. Our child loves his school and we're very proud to be a part of the special community.

Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
We are becoming an Environmental Studies Magnet next fall and will be expanding some of the great programs we already have like Garden Science. Our garden is amazing. We have a super cool aquaponics system set up where fish fertilize plants and the plants clean the water and go back into the fish tank. We are also a biosphere collection site for the Natural History Museum - studying the insect life in Los Angeles. To enroll your child in the school for 1-5, you need to go through echoices, but if you live in our boundaries, you will have preference (there is a buffer of spots for neighborhood kids). Environmental Studies is a great framework for Common Core and our kids will graduate with matriculation magnet points.

Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
We recently moved into the Carthay neighborhood and look forward to sending to our kids to this school. In visits to the school, conversations with parents and time spent on the community Facebook page we have been impressed with the commitment and dedication of those involved.


Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted September 22, 2013
- a parent
To put it simply, Carthay Elementary is a wonderful school. Our son (in second grade) is in his third year at the school and loves it. The school is located in the heart of Carthay Circle, a historic preservation overlay zone rich in LA history. In it s hey-day, premieres of classic movies including "Snow White," "The Wizard of Oz," and "Gone with the Wind" were hosted at Carthay. The school is small, and feels like a family. Carthay is very diverse, truly reflective of the ethnic mix that is Los Angeles, with fifteen languages represented at the school. Both parents and community are involved with the school and help a very active PTA support additional enrichment programs, including Garden Science, Dance, Writers Workshop, Gifted and Talented Education, and a Science Fair. The quality of education provided by the dedicated and enthusiastic teachers at Carthay is unsurpassed. The school s transition to an ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES MAGNET in 2014 is long overdue and exceedingly well deserved. My wife and I are both faculty at UCLA, and we are proud that our eldest son is part of the Carthay family, and look forward to enrolling his younger brother in two years.

Carthay Center Elementary 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
I am delighted that my daughter has a school in our own neighborhood that is enriching her academically and socially. The teachers have been instrumental in challenging her to strive to be the best that she can be. We are also very grateful for the after school care program Star which is a extra added treat that we are forever grateful for.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carthay Center Elementary
6351 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90048
(323) 935-8173
Last modified Carthay Center Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carthay Center Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 109 reviews. Top