Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 100 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Castelar Street Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter has been attending for 5 years (early education program and on), and I have had a great experience with the teachers, staff and administration. I love that they still offer music, art, and physical education. I love their emphasis on the three Bs, Be respectful, responsible, and be safe. As a bonus, she's picking up Mandarin as a second language.

Castelar Street Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Castelar is a hidden gem. My son started learning in the dual language program two years ago. Now can converse freely in Mandarin as well as read and write in both languages. The teachers are kind, caring and professional. My neighborhood school is really great, but it can't offer Mandarin. I'm so glad I chose Castelar!


Castelar Street Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Han is a fantastic kindergarten teacher, as is Ms French, second grade English teacher. All the teachers I've met have been wonderful. I would like to thank all of them!

Castelar Street Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
All the teachers I've met at Castelar are kind, caring and professional. Observing Ms. Han's kindergarten class made me want to learn Mandarin. I'm constantly amazed with how organized and professional all the teachers are.

Castelar Street Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
The students learn about the "3 B's" Be Safe, be respectful and be kind." Castelar students learn that everyone deserves to be respected.


Castelar Street Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
The principal, Mr. Shum and all the teachers and staff I've interacted with are caring and empathetic themselves. Mr. Shum knows every student's name and personally greets and says goodbye to students. This creates and environment where students feel respected.

Castelar Street Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 03, 2016
- a community member
Thank you Ms. Han, Kindergarten Mandarin teacher, for making Chinese so fun and engaging! Kids love her so much, they call her "Mom"!

Castelar Street Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2016
- a community member
Castelar is my "dream come true" of a school. The Mandarin Dual Language program is top-notch. With no previous experience in Mandarin before Kindergarten, my second-grader can now write a 5-paragraph essay in both English and Mandarin. Native speaking friends and family marvel at her pitch perfect Mandarin accent. People always ask us, "It's a private school, right?". No, it's a totally public school. The teachers are fun and nurturing. No "scary" Chinese language teachers here. Many of the kids in the dual language program don't come from Chinese language backgrounds and will graduate with fluency in 3 languages (English, Mandarin, and their home language). Most of the students come from hard-working immigrant families who value education. Therefore, Castelar kids are more "innocent" than most. Kids are allowed to be kids. No one is in a rush to be a teen and there are no cliques or bullying. It is truly a nurturing environment with amazing results. We are so thankful we found Castelar!


Castelar Street Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a community member
I love the dedication of the teachers at this school, they are really interested in making sure your child is learning and if they need extra help, they provide it without hesitation. The staff and environment is great because its very welcoming and makes you feel included. Thank you Castelar, keep up the fantastic job!!

Castelar Street Elementary School 4

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
My children have been at Castelar for the past year, and we have been very happy with staff and school. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Principal Choi is very involved with school activities and students. Teachers have been good, they need a little more resources and parent involvement. I would like to see a PTA group or some type of group for parents to help and speak to activities in school, or other things to help. Academically my children are learning a lot, more than in my son's previous elementary school and daughter's preschool. Homework is given everyday and helps teach them accountability and to be responsible. The 4 star rating is because school lacks an internet presence to communicate with parents and delivery updates/newsletters on school activities and events.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Castelar Street Elementary School
840 Yale Street, Los Angeles, CA  90012-2328
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 100 reviews. (213) 626-3674
Last modified Castelar Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top