Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 108 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


154 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Castle Heights Elementary School 5

Posted December 06, 2014
- a parent
We're a permit family who have two kids at CHES. Great experiences! Dedicated teachers, great programs, prepared kids. So thrilled to be a part of Castle Heights!
2 people found this helpful

Castle Heights Elementary School 5

Posted December 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is great. My daughter's kindergarten teacher is so energetic and caring. The children are learning and growing. But they are also taught a sense of community and care about all of their friends. The school also has a great community among the families. Most children walk to school with their parents. In the fall the whole school camps out and spends the night on campus. The kids have so much fun they usually don't want to leave. You see many playing in the front lawn after school while the parents visit with each other. It is a beautiful neighborhood school.
2 people found this helpful


Castle Heights Elementary School 1

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
PARENTS BEWARE! If you receive an intra-district permit and are accepted to Castle Heights, don't get your hopes up. We applied for an intra-district permit for my daughter entering T-K in June and received notification a week later she had a spot in the T-K program. A DAY BEFORE SCHOOL STARTED at 4pm, I received a call from the principal stating there was no longer room for my daughter and that we would have to attend another school in the area. We attended the beginning of the year social a week prior, had met the T-K teacher, the principal, and my daughter was so excited to begin school with some of her preschool mates. Completely disappointing. So, from what I hear Castle Heights is a great school, but don't be disappointed when your permit falls through.

Castle Heights Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
Castle Heights has provided an excellent educational experience for my children. We were fortunate, and all of their teachers were awesome. The school provides many programs, such as art, music, science, computer lab, gardening, and PE due to its active PTA and high parent involvement. Lots of fundraising opportunities in order to raise money for the school. Most LAUSD schools do not offer these programs, so it was a blessing to have my children here. Clean and well kept school.

Castle Heights Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This is an AMAZING school, with dedicated teachers, principal, librarian and parents. The STAR Program is fantastic and the level of parental involvement is fantastic!


Castle Heights Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
Castle Heights is the best thing that ever happened to our family. My daughter went there from 2nd - 5th grade. The school is culturally diverse and plenty of highly qualified instructors.

Castle Heights Elementary School 3

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
We have been at this school for awhile. It is an excellent community and the principals have been great. The teachers are hit and miss. There are some incredible teachers and there are others who are terrible. In general, teachers in CHES seem to have a hard time differentiating, a student who excels or is trailing- may not do well. They say there is differentiation but I have not seen it other than kindergarten (kinder teachers are awesome). Again, it depends on the teachers and there is not much that can be done with the poor performing teachers- it's the nature of the beast when dealing with LAUSD or any public school.
2 people found this helpful

Castle Heights Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a community member
Our school has a staffs that are wonderful and we have computer lab, science, art, music and so much more. And we also are raising money to provide charity for a endangered red fox so we can keep it in our environment. Also we have after school programs at our school we have helping teachers aids and librarians to help children with their homework inside the library.


Castle Heights Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
Castle Heights has the best parents, teachers, school & kids! We love you Mr. Feeney, Mrs Valdez, Ms Malloy & all of the other fantastic dedicated teachers who love & care for our kids!

Castle Heights Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
Great campus. The full curriculum that includes "the extras" of an organic gardening program, science, computer instruction, pe, for all the kids (K-5) make it a magical neighborhood school. Lots of parent volunteers and an engaged booster club set this school apart making it 'the best private school that public funds pay for". The key is the fundraising and families are asked to contribute.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Castle Heights Elementary School
9755 Cattaraugus Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90034
(310) 839-4528
Last modified Castle Heights Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Castle Heights Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 154 reviews. Top