Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Castle Heights Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 02, 2015
- a parent
Although I would have strongly agreed a few years ago, all the good things that I saw at this school are gone after the introduction of the most inefficient school Principal.

Castle Heights Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are amazing, however their challenge is more support from the community that keeps a great teacher happy.


Castle Heights Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
Common core standards is going to take some time to understand and I feel that this school on point with the process.

Castle Heights Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
This school is in a transitional stage and needs support with understanding the history and labor of what it took to achieve a great school before it can become a great school again.

Castle Heights Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
Respects starts is taught by parents first and then kids come to school and act what they see at home. The school isn't responsible respect but can help with proper guidance. It take a Parent, Teachers and Students willing to work together.


Castle Heights Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
There's a lot of pressure on these kids for such a young age. The system that has been set up years ago is changing to a more pushy mentality.

Castle Heights Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
Every child voice needs to be honored and respected but unfortunately the one with the biggest bark is heard.

Castle Heights Elementary School 2

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
This school (gem) is currently in a transitional stage. However a lot of changes are happening that affects the school spirit which it was built on. Teachers are leaving for various reasons and enrichment classes being cut for next year because of a new breed of parents that wants smaller class sizes. I know now know that Castle Heights as we knew has a more corporate vibe mixed with poker face parents who can be narcissistic, pushy and feels entitled because they raise or volunteer so much money and time to the school. Some parents are verbally insulting one another and complain that their personal needs aren’t being met. Great teachers are constantly having to prove themselves and under attack, being called to the principal office like they are on trial. On the other hand you have parents who have helped built a community vibe that is still active and still doing their part to keep a great school from losing its reputation. It’s like a good marriage that needs therapy. Its bitter sweet, either this school is going to survive the changes which I hope is will or it will tank like the titanic. Hit without seeing it coming. I would love to rate is like the 5 it is on paper but currently it is a 2. I never thought I would see this day for such an amazing school once upon a time.


Castle Heights Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2015
- a community member
This was one of the best schools I have ever been to. Castle Heights made me the person I am today.

Castle Heights Elementary School 5

Posted December 06, 2014
- a parent
We're a permit family who have two kids at CHES. Great experiences! Dedicated teachers, great programs, prepared kids. So thrilled to be a part of Castle Heights!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Castle Heights Elementary School
9755 Cattaraugus Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90034
(310) 839-4528
Last modified Castle Heights Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Castle Heights Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 166 reviews. Top