Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Clifford Street Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
Children at Clifford are taught both self-respect and respect for others. Bullying is not tolerated and children are expected to be kind to one another. This behavior is modeled in that the princiipal and teachers are always respectful to each other and the students.

Clifford Street Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
Clifford is a special place in that the principal, teachers and parents all work together to create a safe and nurturing environment for the children. Bullying is absolutely not tolerated and children are taught to treat one another with respect and compassion.


Clifford Street Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
The principal and teachers at Clifford work very hard to instill strong values of honesty, integrity and fairness. Instead of emphasizing punishment, the school works with children to take responsibility for their behavior and work to both make amends for doing the wrong thing but also figuring out how to do better in the future. And parents are always kept informed of what's happening with their children and how they can help their child to behave well at school

Clifford Street Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
We love Clifford! It's the smallest school in LAUSD (149 students in grades K-6) so my son and his classmates get lots of personalized attention from teachers and staff. Clifford places a strong emphasis on academic achievement. For example, last year some students were struggling with math so the school applied for and won a grant to start a Saturday math academy that students could attend for free. The school has won numerous awards, including being named a U.S. Department of Education Blue Ribbon School of Excellence and a California Distinguished School. Principal Armineh Alexan is incredibly accessible. She knows the children personally and works very hard to ensure their success. We feel very fortunate to be part of the Clifford family!

Clifford Street Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to Ms. Alexan, and all the teachers at Clifford for your continuous efforts to all the kids!!


Clifford Street Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
My children attended Clifford since pre -school. Year after year they have had positive experiences. The teachers here are dedicated to instruction. They give your children the tools and education that last a lifetime. Unfortunately we moved out of the area to continue their remaining primary years. If your looking for a school committed to help you child grow and succeed, then Clifford is the right school for you!!

Clifford Street Elementary School 4

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
My personal opinion on Clifford elementary is that it is a school with great potential, not only is it Blue Ribbon school but it has been recently recognized as a California Distinguished School! It is an honor for me to have my child attend this school. If you are looking for a privet school but can not pay the prize? This is your school! Great parents , great teachers, great staff, and great friendly Principal!

Clifford Street Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
My son started Kinder at this school and so far it has been a welcoming experience. He was a bit ahead of the kinder game when he first came in so the teacher has accommodated him by assigning him more challenging work. There is a regular PE Teacher. As far as creative stuff goes, Clifford does partner with LACMA and offers orchestra, however, it would be great if there was more creative stuff and technology. Principal Kherley is very accessible, the teachers are friendly, the parents are warm and welcoming, the kids are well-behaved. The campus is clean, shady, and safe. School population is small. This school has a lot of potential and it was recently given the prestigious honor of being named a Blue Ribbon School!


Clifford Street Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
This school is fantastic. Principle Ponce is dedicated to his students and the teachers. The small size of this school works well for the development of strong relationships with the staff and between students. I was new to the LAUSD and had heard all the horror-chatter in the booby-brigade, the press, and on blogs about public school but this little gem of a school changed my views completely. This is a very nice school and my son loves it.

Clifford Street Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2008
- a parent
I'm a very proud parent at Clifford Elem. My girls are very lucky to be a part of this family. The entire staff is great Mr. Ponce is an amazing principal and person. Thank you to Ms. Tountas, Ms. Guanlao, Ms. Nguyen, Ms. Rathbum for everything they have taught my girls. I'm honored to have my children go to the school eventhough I don't live in the area. Thanks to the teachers and staff there my girls are amazing students, they love attending school. Billie Jean - parent of Annette, Alexis, and Alyssa Delgado

Nearby schools

Clifford Street Elementary School
2150 Duane Street, Los Angeles, CA  90039-3919
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (323) 663-0474
Last modified Clifford Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top