Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clover Avenue Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $497,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

111 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2009

Great parent support and super teachers. They really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Clover is a school where students, teachers and parents all contribute for students' successes, a simple fact that exists in only a very few schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Clover Ave is a great school. I've heard so much about it and finally now my son is in the pre-K program, I can certainly see why people say that Clover is great. The school has many activities for both the parents and the students. Also the parenting class available is certainly a great source for the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Clover Avenue Elementary School is everything that a great big family is - loving, guiding, caring, teaching, giving, firm and yet fair in rules, reaching out to help everyone, involving the community, and always remembering the preceding generations with fondness. It is a school where multiple generations of families can be found (for many of the school's alumnae return to the neighborhood so that their children can attend, and possibly even have a teacher in common, too!) Many of the teachers are active parts of the community, for instance, coaching many of the students' after school sports teams or encouraging their students to trick-or-treat at their homes. Parents are encouraged to be involved in all ways possible that they are comfortable and able to, and they are encouraged to ask questions to insure full understanding of what's going on with their children's education. Clover is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I love Clover Avenue Elementary School because it is truly a nurturing environment. This is our 4th year and starting with the principal to the teachers to the parents and volunteers to be open, flexible, and creative. All who are part of our school want it to be great and it is, despite budget cuts and bureaucratic limitations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

invested teachers, caring and involved parents, happy kids = great school! couldn't be more proud of Clover Ave Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Clover is a school where the principal, teachers, staff, and the parents commit every ounce of energy and time into believing in the children. The booster club does all they can to earn extra money in ensuring that this school will and always be on top! As a parent, I believe in this school, and am delighted to have my children be a part of this school and the community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Our school has been in the top 10 for publice elementary schools in L.A. county. My kids love the school and don't want to go anywhere else. There is lots of parent pariticipation and very good teachers there. We are blessed to be able to have our kids attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

This school does a great job of of educating our children especially in the areas of arts, social studies, computers, and even the aerospace program. It's great to see our diverse community in attendance and in full support of our local public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

Great school with experienced teachers. We have two kids in this school and they are both loving it, which is the best we can ask for. The socio-economic profile of this school is a little lower than some other West LA schools but this is because UCLA's graduate housing is in the vicinity. The school has great intellectual capital.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

My daughter has been at Clover for the past 2 1/2 years, and we absolutely love the school. The teachers and staff are wonderful, and the parents are very nice and are extremely involved. As a UCLA aluma as well as a neighborhood Mom, I think the criticism of school is unfair and unwarranted. One must remember that this is a public school, and as much as we want to have smaller classes, it is simply dependent upon the budget it receives from LAUSD. Also, yes, the campus is old and can be cleaner, but with only one custodian for the entire school, what can we expect? We have a lot of parents who go above and beyond to help the school, but sadly, there are plenty who just sit back and criticize.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

I am a graduate of Clover from back in the day and my daughter just started kindergarden this year at Clover. I'm thrilled she's going there. I love that she's being exposed to international students in her classroom, just like I was when I went there. I remember having best friends from India, Africa, Asia and the Midwest and now she can have the same experience. The staff in the office and the classrooms are wonderful. There are so many opportunities to get involved and her teacher does an amazing job at staying in touch and keeping parents informed. I feel very welcome in my daugther's classroom. I know first-hand the strong education I received at Clover and I can see this happening for my daugther as well. The high test scores are great, but it's the students, teachers, staff and parents that make Clover the best school on the Westside!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I am a parent of a 3rd and 5th grader at Clover as well as a Teacher's Assistant. I didn't start working at the school until last year and I am so happy to be part of the Clover 'family'. The Clover Staff, Booster Club, and parents are such amazing people. Not only is it a fantastic school academically, the teachers I work with are so dedicated, bright and fun to be around. My son will be graduating this year and I know he will look back with memories of Clover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

This is my third year as the Librarian at Clover, and I must say, I absolutely love working here. The community created by the staff, parents, and students is one of the warmest I have experienced. As a member of the staff, I know first hand how much time teachers and administrators spend outside of school talking, planning, and brainstorming ideas about how to improve the quality of education and experience children have here. I have found the staff here to be deeply invested in the success of all students, and working in that kind of environment is exciting and inspirational. The parent community is very supportive, and teachers are always happy to listen to and work with parents on school improvement through fundraising events, lesson planning, school beautification, and goal setting. It is truly a privledge to work here. Clover is simply fabulous!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 19, 2008

I love Clover, I have a 3rd and a 1st grader attending the school and I am very happy with their education. I can't wait for my little one to be ready to go to Clover. The teachers are wonderful, the parents are very involved, the campus is continuosly being worked on to be more beautiful (by parents), I love its diversity, and it has a loving staff, who knows and cares for my kids. I can't imagine my kids going anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I have two kids at Clover for the past four years and am very pleased with the quality of their education, the teachers, the school's diversity and the parental involvement. We have high enrollment because of the school's outstanding reputation and scores. We have some amazing new teachers that are great additions to the Clover team! There is much to do regarding parental involvement from fundraising to beautification days where kids and parents all chip in to help wash, plant, pick up trash and more. This is a community school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

We love Clover and are very thankful for having found such a great public school. The teachers make learning fun and interesting and really care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

Clover is a major disappoint. First, it is dirty and in a state of disarray. If this is a good school I cannot even begin to imagine what a bad school looks like. The idea that they subject young children to this type of environment is appalling. Second, the leadership is to be questioned. Communication with the parent community is spotty. The adminstration is smug and nasty. We understand that there are certain realities of public schools BUT this attitude is unforgivable. Finally, they seem to be oblivious to the needs of children. This year there were too many kindergarteners...but instead of addressing the situation as quickly as possible they waited until 4 weeks in and then moved kids the day before a holiday. Frankly if I ran my business this way, I would not have a business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

We love Clover. But, I am disappointed to read a parent write 'UCLA Students prevent a 'neighborhood' culture from forming on the school campus...I encourage my kid to only build relationships with the neighborhood kids.' As a UCLA parent, I feel that this comment perpetuates to an 'us vs. them' attitude. One thing that 'neighborhood' parents should consider is that many UCLA parents do indeed stay within the Clover boundaries once they complete their UCLA education. I understand the concern of having a bestfriend move away, however, based on my experience traveling to other countries and living throughout the US, it is so enriching to create close friendships even if we are together a short time. We must also consider that even 'neighborhood' parents move for work, school or family reasons. I hope that other Clover parents will encourage their children to make friends with any Clover child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

We too love Clover, Molly and Sharon, and it is the best of the Westside schools, but it does have its downsides. I think the UCLA Students prevent a 'neighborhood' culture from forming on the school campus. There is an 'us' and 'them' attitude. As a neighborhood parent I encourage my kid to only build relationships with the neighborhood kids as the UCLA kids will be moving soon and I don't want to have to deal with the heartbreak of best friends moving year after year. I agree with all the criticisms of the gifted kids programs. They are bored. I have been told that my kid will be GATE next year, but they are not broken out into different classrooms, only different work groups during the day. My kid is bored with the homework, thereby making homework time a nightmare.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

952

Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

952

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females89%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner95%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females92%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females79%
Males69%
African American62%
Asian77%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females93%
Males81%
African American77%
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner87%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Females96%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students97%
Females98%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females87%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females89%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students88%
Females87%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 41%
White 30%
Hispanic 16%
Black 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/AN/A
English language learners 12%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 545 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
86%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
80%
 

Employees

This school

 
93%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
81%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
92%
 

Students

This school

 
67%
 

Employees

This school

 
84%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
80%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
68%
 

Employees

This school

 
93%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
78%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
78%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents25948%
Students25896%
Employees2854%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11020 Clover Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90034
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 479-7739

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Adat Shalom
Los Angeles, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT