Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Community Magnet Charter Elementary School

Charter | K-5

We are best known for fantastic teachers and program.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

159 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2006

This is the best school I could have ever wished for my daughter who is now in 1st grade. It is located in a safe, serene and wonderful neighborhood. Children know their teachers by first name. Parents can take part in many committees or volunteer in many ways and many do! The children really feel that the school belongs to them! Most kids ride the bus and although my daughter didn't during Kindergarten, she now wakes up early every morning to ride it. I think she feels more grown-up because of this. The principal, teachers and the staff are all incredible. Parents can receive a weekly newletter with important dates and announcements via email. Great new upper yard and a wonderful after-school program offered by Martha and teachers' aides who all the kids love dearly. The school will be celebrating its new library soon. Can't say enough about Community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

This is our son's second year at Community and we all love it so much. The staff, principal and faculty are all wonderful, caring people. The parents are quite involved and are very enthusiastic. There are great programs like CATCH (Caring Adults Teaching Children How) which is a mentoring program. I volunteered last year and am sorry I'm not able to do so again, it's a fantastic program. We had our son on the waiting list for 3 years and we were overjoyed when he was finally accepted. It's the start of an excellent academic experience for him and our family. Thanks CMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

Excellent academic program, very diverse student and teacher population, caring staff and administrators, involved parents and overall nice kids. Optional music, art, theatre programs and a socially conscious environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

Excellent small school with a great family feel. Caring principal and dedicated teachers. Kids and parents love this school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 19, 2005

My son has attended CMS for the past two years. Their academic program is without a doubt unique and very intense. My son had a great deal of homework and I don't mind. He is working on his time management skills to ensure he completes his homework each day. I personally have not volunteered as a parent but this will change during his 3rd grade year here at CMS. I see how invloved alot of the parents are and that enhances the school. The Principal 'Pam' is on first name basis with most of the students if not all of the students in the school, that in itself is unique. It is a family atmosphere, and if you can get past that waiting list you will be blessed to know your child is in good hands. One draw back for my son is that CMS doesn't have a basteball team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

A stellar school with a strong principle and teaching staff. Parents are key and everyone gets involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

When I made the choice for our daughter to attend Community, my husband said 'her safety is your responsibility, it's so far from home and etc.' It was hard for a while at the beginning to get used to the new schedule, running around in the morning getting her to the bus stop and so on but guess what, we're all so happy, she has learned so much it's not even a joke and there's no comparison to the regular lausd K classes. A friend's son who's also in K, does not know how to spell his own name and let's just leave it at that. At Community, our daughter Grisabel is so happy and now so excited about being able to read her books on her own. We realize it was the best decision for her education and she's gone ABOVE AND BEYOND here and will anywhere. Thank you Fanahi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

Community Magnet has been a wonderful experience for my Kindergartner and for me as a parent. My daughter has gained so much from this school her first year that I know her foundation is solid. The teachers really care and the principal is compeletely hands-on. She knows what's happening in her school. Parent involvement is huge here and plays such an important part in the success of this school. You can expect many enrichment activities and an environment that celebrates and honors diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

We have been voluntering at Community SChool and can say that the principal and teachers are very caring. It is a beautiful school at a beautiful camp and the children seem very happy. I hope my child can go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

Wonderful campus, wonderful principal. I hope my daughter gets to attend ths school. We volunteer at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

This school is exceptional! The principal is warm, caring, and goes out of her way to get to know each student and parent! The extracurricular activities provideda are phenomenal! The teachers are high quality and so dedicated! My daughter is so happy here as she is getting a private school quality education. However, homework is intense! Parental involvement is extremely high, which contributes to its success! So lucky to be part of the Community family!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 1, 2005

I have never been able to see a school where everyone is part of the community,the principal the teachers,and all the rest of the staff really cares about one another,is nice to know that when I live my child at school he not only will learn about academics but also great values and morals, they make you want to be involved in your childs activitites, the parents are the best,the community is incredible, they go out of there way to make every thing to the highest level...(Specially the tea party...The queen mum will love to be invited.) Great leadership and a fenomenal community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Community Magnet School is the 'Pearl of the LAUSD Empire'--second to none! The teachers and parents are not on airs and are down to earth. There are no cliques that drive other parents away but parents who all work together in a diverse environment to enhance our childrens education and social interactions with their peer group..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I was so excited to learn that my daughter was accepted to this great school. After a whole year of looking for just the right school I came acrosse CMS, and I am so greatful that I found this school, the staff is great, they encourage my daughter to excel in everything, and she loves her school and teachers. I was so amazed at the level of academic teaching that I said to myself this is what I want for my kids. Now I am waiting to hear from the school to see if my son will get in as well, I truly hope that he does, I wouldn't want him to miss this great opportunity to learn at the best school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 17, 2005

Stellar support among parents and a wonderful Principal make this a private school quality eduction with the public school experience. If you are look for a true diversity and not just paying lip service to the concept (see 100% of L.A.'s private schools) but demand a great and progressive eduction this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

Community Magnet is a bright, wonderful, welcoming campus with lots of parent involvment and an incredible staff. I have been mentoring there for just over a year and my daughter will begin K tomorrow! I've gotten to know some of the staff and the principal. Everyone is on a first-name basis and always available for the students/parents. The atmosphere is joyful, the staff is always upbeat - it's a terrific place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2003

My child has attended Community Magnet since kindergarten. The diversity, parent/teacher interaction, and committment to excellence is exceptional. When comparing the education to that of my daughter's (at a pricy private school nearby), Community's environment is similar to that of the $19,000 a year private school. I highly recommend Community Magnet to those with elementary age children looking for an excellent school in the Los Angeles area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2003

Our daughter started kindergarten at Community Magnet this year and so far things are great. The teachers and administrators I've met are extremely dedicated and very bright. The parents are exceptionally active. The pristine campus, nestled in the hills of Bel Air, is a work in progress but is already spectacular. Some downsides are the difficulty getting in (1700+ on the wait list I hear) and there seems to be a fair amount of homework for kindergarteners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2003

What a wonderful school. We switched from private to public education last year and couldn't be happier with our choice. As a magnet school, you get the benefit of a culturally and ethnically diverse student body. With the top-notch principal, teachers and staff, you get the benefit of loving and well-experienced individuals taking care of your kids. Our move to a new campus last year was difficult, but we pulled it off quite smoothly thanks to an active parent body and dedicated staff. Now we have a beautiful 20-acre campus in the hills north of UCLA . . . so close and yet so far from the city! Can't say enough about Community Magnet!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

962

Change from
2012 to 2013

0

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

962

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

0

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females84%
Males69%
African American47%
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females84%
Males80%
African American60%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Females94%
Males89%
African American82%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students99%
Females100%
Males97%
African American100%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Females98%
Males92%
African American86%
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students94%
Females93%
Males96%
African American83%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Females98%
Males92%
African American82%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students95%
Females98%
Males94%
African American82%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students99%
Females100%
Males98%
African American100%
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 38%
Asian 27%
Black 20%
Hispanic 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/AN/A
English language learners 7%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon
  • Distinguished School

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 382 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
78%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
76%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
80%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
87%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
87%
 

District average

 
74%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
87%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
96%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
73%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
93%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
73%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
73%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents16039%
Students20881%
Employees1428%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:07 am
School end time
  • 2:30pm*
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Carla Cretaro
Fax number
  • (310) 472-6391

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents are ture partners in their child's education at community magnet school. parents founded this school over 35 years ago to provide an integrated education for their children. today parents are involved in almost every aspact of our school.
More from this school
  • *Ending times: 2:30 PM (M,W,TH,F) and 1:30PM (T) *National Blue Ribbon School, 1999-One of the 266 in the nation. The only school in LAUSD to be so honored in 1999. *California Distinguished School, 1998-One of the two in the LAUSD in 1998.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
LACES
Palms Gifted Magnet
Paul Revere
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11301 Bellagio Road
Los Angeles, CA 90049
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 476-2281

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brentwood School
Los Angeles, CA


UCLA Lab School
Los Angeles, CA


St. Martin Of Tours
Los Angeles, CA


Uniques Preschool
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT