Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-6|Private
206 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
Simply put, our teacher experience is very poor. She just doesn't care and not interested teaching. It's just a job for a pay check.

Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School 2

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
The students and their families are nice and welcoming and the facility is beautiful and clean. I feel the school isn't about good education for the students but a good place for the teachers and principle to work at. I am very disappointed in the quality of the main teacher in my son's class (many parents feel this way). The principle and assistant principle aren't caring or even interested to make a difference. Their beauty and quality of education is only skin deep...we are leaving the school.


Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
No. When they heard my son had a private aide, they determined he was unfit for their school and would not be able to succeed there. They determined he was already "broken" before even giving him a chance. I doubt this kind of attitude fosters persistence, grit and determination among its own students.

Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
Absolutely not. Again, it comes from the top. Upon leaving this open house, I have never felt so bad about myself or my son.

Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
Compassion, caring and empathy are sorely lacking at this school, and it comes from the top. See previous reviews.


Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
Honesty: Nope. The school chastised one of its own for speaking up about a situation. Integrity: Nope. The school wanted nothing to do with me or my son for being "different." They tried to speak very carefully to me so they didn't appear discriminatory, but it was very blatant that that is what they were. Fairness: Nope. How can they teach fairness to their own students when they themselves don't even set a good example? The school didn't even bother to find out details of my son's situation.

Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School 1

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
The staff at this school should be embarrassed to call themselves child educators. I attended an open house last year for my son entering Kindergarten. There was a Q&A portion at the end where the Head of School, Principal and Admissions Director encouraged the parents to “ask them anything.” I volunteered that my son attended preschool with a private aide to help him in some areas, and asked if the school was ok with having an aide (that I paid for) if my son needed it. If looks could kill, I would have been dead at that moment. One of the staff said immediately, “That’s a private question.” At that moment, one of the parent docents who was leading the tour revealed that there were indeed private aides who were helping kids with learning differences. The staff nearly fell off their chairs. At the end of the open house, I saw the Head of School chastising the parent who had spoken up. The Admissions Director came over to me to discuss our situation, and strongly discouraged me from even applying. This school should be ashamed to claim that they teach any sort of human values, lessons on diversity, or differentiated or individualized learning when they don’t even come close to walking the walk.

Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School
Grateful to: Student

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
Nice kids. They are polite and very welcoming. Because of the students; my son had an easy transferred.


Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
I find them very lazy, they want to do the minimum work and no teaching. The students need to come with no question and already knowing the lesson. The school imposes u on top of the tuition, education therapy (tutor who cost $150/hour) several time a week to minimize their teacher's work.

Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
The homework was a normal amount, but repetitive. It was done in less than 45 minutes. The only problem it is not correct it. So Students practice for their exams at home on theit homework that will never be correct it.

Nearby schools

Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School
7300 Hollywood Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90046
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (323) 876-8330
Last modified Temple Israel Of Hollywood Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Top