Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Downtown Business High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Mr. Chao! You were a wonderful mentor to my son. You inspired him to work hard and be engaged in the many math courses he took with you over his high school career. Your teaching style of active learning, having students work together to solve problems helped them to work as a team and support each other. My son is very lucky to have you in his life.

Downtown Business High School 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
I don't know why this school only gets a rating of 7 on comparison with similar schools because this school is great! My son chose to go to DMHS because of the computer programming track and it has been well worth the effort of getting up at 5:30 AM to catch the school bus to downtown. This is a small high school which is very college oriented. We are so very lucky to have a great college counselor (Ms. McGee) who is always available to help and is very knowledgeable about everything college. The teachers are very engaged with the students and know the kids on a personal level. The administration is friendly, supportive and always helpful. The kids are very accepting of each other - there is no racism or bullying that my son has seen in his four years here (he will graduate this spring). Downtown Magnets is truly a Stellar school.


Downtown Business High School 3

Posted April 24, 2014
- a community member
so... as much as I lack school spirit, I have to say that it's not so bad. there are some pretty cool people here. if you work hard enough, you'll pass your classes. sure, there may be some unbearable teachers, but you'll get used to it and eventually minimize your own complaints. people are supportive + the counselors are approachable. I just wish we had windows to see the sun.

Downtown Business High School 3

Posted September 29, 2013
- a community member
If you are planning to stay for an after school activity and take the school bus be prepared for a long ride. Also, make sure you do not overwhelm yourself with clubs and classes you know you can't handle or you will suffer.

Downtown Business High School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
This is a very impressive school. The teachers are committed and it's cool to be smart here. I could not believe the great luck in my daughter being able to attend here. Much better than many expensive private schools, I bet.


Downtown Business High School 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a parent
I have a son at this school, and I echo the reviews before mine. This school is stellar, and the amazing graduation + college attendance rate of its students is a testament to that. The recent budget cuts have not been kind to the school's extra-curriculars + sports, but the focus on academics is unwavering. The commitment from the teachers + administration is like no other, and there is simply no comparison to the neighboring schools (Roybal, Belmont, etc). The school draws students from all over LA, so only the best + most motivated attend. As another poster said, it's cool to be smart here, and that's a welcoming environment.

Downtown Business High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a teacher
It is a great place for students. I have taught here for 10 years and love it more than any other school I know. The students are safe and learning a lot and going to college at record rates. It is a great place.

Downtown Business High School
no rating

Posted October 11, 2010
- a community member
Because it's a safe place where it's cool to be smart, and everybody wants to go to college.


Downtown Business High School
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a teacher
I'm a teacher at this school, and I have so much faith in its teachers that I'd be willing to send my own children here.

Downtown Business High School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
Downtown Business High isn't like any other school. It provides diversity, unity, and a 1 to 1 on student-teacher ratio. Students are bussed in from different parts of the city, and yet these student treat each other equally. Downtown Business High lacks many necessary materials but it does not lack student involvement. Students help each other out, they are each others' support. Downtown Business High may be small in numbers but it is big in community, intelligence, and equality.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Downtown Business High School
1081 West Temple Street, Los Angeles, CA  90012-1573
(213) 481-0371
Last modified Downtown Business High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Downtown Business High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top