Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 987
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 44 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eagle Rock Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
My son has gone to this school since Kindergarten and just started 3rd grade today. It is a great school and he has had wonderful teachers.

Eagle Rock Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Ms. Crawford-Li, who has taught Pre-K at Eagle Rock for 2013-2014 school year, is an amazing teacher who goes the extra mile! She methodically organizes a high-level instructional program and provides engaging activities, performances and field trips.. She encourages social/emotional development for all style learners and her students are thoroughly engaged while having fun and calmly following her direction. She includes the parents in routine volunteerism and corresponds daily with a cute folder & bag (the home work is meaningful and not burdensome!) She is an A+ teacher and her T.A.. compliments the program.


Eagle Rock Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My kids started in the magnet here this year and really love this school. their teacher is very creative and works hard to meet the needs of each of her students.

Eagle Rock Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Eagle Rock Elementary is a good school. My daughter had a wonderful third grade teacher last year who was responsive to her learning problems and was very supportive, my son had a good 1st. grade teacher who was strict yet open minded. The after school YDP program is a good program that introduces the kids to art and music.

Eagle Rock Elementary School 1

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
While there are some gifted teachers in the Gifted Magnet, there are incompetents and these bad ones are so stunningly awful that it can make you forget how good the good ones are. If you get into the program, don't think your child is going to have great opportunities.They talk a great game, but are still teaching to the test here. STAR testing is the holy gril: Magnet kids are expected to score ber high to make up for the low scores in the regular school so the administrators can look good and get promoted to some cush job on Beaudry Ave. Gifted education, which used to include lots of enrichment, is now More Math, More Homework, More Rote Learning and Less Creative Thinking. Socially, the gifted kids are marginalized as behavior problems or "weird," both by their non-gifted peers and by some of the teachers and administrators. These kids are then labeled, and dismissed, by the school. The administrators here do not seem to understand or care that the gifted children think and behave differently, and are largely intolerant toward them. The playground is utter chaos with lots agressive/violent play and bullying where no adult is present to intervene. Grade?: Fail


Eagle Rock Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2013
- a parent
My daughter entered the magnet program in the fourth grade, the experience was wonderful. The fourth grade magnet teacher sincerely cares about each and every student as if they were her own. My daughter felt welcomed by the teacher even entering the program later than the rest of the students. I left my child at school each day knowing she was in good hands and learning. I can't say enough good things about the fourth grade magnet program. It was a great year and I still can go to this teacher for help, she goes above and beyond.

Eagle Rock Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
Eagle Elementary needs to work on the massive bullying problem. They have no supervision in the yard and those bathrooms are beyond disgusting. Teachers need to be more sympathetic and not target students they do not like. I notice that the teachers there play favoritism and do not believe that certain students are capable of the worse!!!!! Too many students for just one principal; my children will not be attending next year. Can you say private school.

Eagle Rock Elementary School 4

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
This school has been wonderful and exceeded my expectations despite the reputation of largely overcrowded LAUSD schools. The principal really does care about the welfare and education of each student. He also started a valet program and occassionally you will see him out there directing students and families to safety. There are great teachers in the Gifted program that set high expectations and do their best to enrich their student's lives. My daughter is in the GATE program and it is definitely a more vigorous workload than a regular classroom, but she is learning skills that I believe will set her apart from the average student. Parents have the option to meet on a monthly basis with all the Gifted teachers to discuss progress. There is an orchestra at this school that is voluntary. This school offers an afterschool program for free provided by the county and any student can apply. The crew is run by young college age kids so most of the activities are social and homework time within your peer groups. There are music and art programs occassionally. Overall-ERE is a great school and my daughter is in a classroom with great kids.


Eagle Rock Elementary School 4

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
Eagle Rock Elementary is a great school. Both of my sons (pre-k, 1st grade) love the school and their teachers. There is a strong sense of community with amazing parents.

Eagle Rock Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2011
- a parent
My child loves the highly gifted magnet. It seems like there were more activities like the class musical AND more homework in the third and fourth grade class than in fifth grade. The lady who teaches third and fourth grades is excellent. She cares very much and made good projects. I thought fifth grade would be harder to prepare for middle school but I think there's less work. Sometimes I don't understand my child's homework journal. All year it seems like homework gets added or changed or moved. Also, in my opinion there is no schedule to the class. I asked "what did you do in math today" and my child says there was no math but they played hockey. The man who teaches the class seems much more relaxed. Still it is an excellent program with art and science and music. Also, the teacher reads good books in class. I wish Eagle Rock high school had highly gifted classes.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eagle Rock Elementary School
2057 Fair Park Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90041
(323) 254-6851
Last modified Eagle Rock Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eagle Rock Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top