Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Los Angeles, CA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eagle Rock Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
First of all the School is a combined Elementary and Magnet center. The Magnet center concentrates on the academically gifted and consists of Gifted and Highly Gifted. I have 2 boys, between them both have been going to this school from Pre-K to 6th grade. Through the years the school has lost many great teachers who not only taught academics but traditional family values and yet somehow ERE is still able to replace their losses with wonderful teachers who do well in supporting the parents. One method of support; supplement the teaching regimen by providing workshops for the parents and/or caregivers. Another method, the school provides PTA and EREEF activities for families to get involved. I have seen 4 leadership changes in the Principal position, yet the school seems to maintain its high standards by raising its API score every single year from the first time my oldest entered school in 2009. If you are considering sending your child to ERE/Magnet please be involved with your child's education the school can only do so much cause a balanced education first starts at home. Your children look up to you for guidance and the teachers rely for support. You must have a TEAM mindset to effectively educate your child.

Eagle Rock Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
My son has gone to this school since Kindergarten and just started 3rd grade today. It is a great school and he has had wonderful teachers.


Eagle Rock Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Ms. Crawford-Li, who has taught Pre-K at Eagle Rock for 2013-2014 school year, is an amazing teacher who goes the extra mile! She methodically organizes a high-level instructional program and provides engaging activities, performances and field trips.. She encourages social/emotional development for all style learners and her students are thoroughly engaged while having fun and calmly following her direction. She includes the parents in routine volunteerism and corresponds daily with a cute folder & bag (the home work is meaningful and not burdensome!) She is an A+ teacher and her T.A.. compliments the program.

Eagle Rock Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My kids started in the magnet here this year and really love this school. their teacher is very creative and works hard to meet the needs of each of her students.

Eagle Rock Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Eagle Rock Elementary is a good school. My daughter had a wonderful third grade teacher last year who was responsive to her learning problems and was very supportive, my son had a good 1st. grade teacher who was strict yet open minded. The after school YDP program is a good program that introduces the kids to art and music.


Eagle Rock Elementary School 1

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
While there are some gifted teachers in the Gifted Magnet, there are incompetents and these bad ones are so stunningly awful that it can make you forget how good the good ones are. If you get into the program, don't think your child is going to have great opportunities.They talk a great game, but are still teaching to the test here. STAR testing is the holy gril: Magnet kids are expected to score ber high to make up for the low scores in the regular school so the administrators can look good and get promoted to some cush job on Beaudry Ave. Gifted education, which used to include lots of enrichment, is now More Math, More Homework, More Rote Learning and Less Creative Thinking. Socially, the gifted kids are marginalized as behavior problems or "weird," both by their non-gifted peers and by some of the teachers and administrators. These kids are then labeled, and dismissed, by the school. The administrators here do not seem to understand or care that the gifted children think and behave differently, and are largely intolerant toward them. The playground is utter chaos with lots agressive/violent play and bullying where no adult is present to intervene. Grade?: Fail

Eagle Rock Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2013
- a parent
My daughter entered the magnet program in the fourth grade, the experience was wonderful. The fourth grade magnet teacher sincerely cares about each and every student as if they were her own. My daughter felt welcomed by the teacher even entering the program later than the rest of the students. I left my child at school each day knowing she was in good hands and learning. I can't say enough good things about the fourth grade magnet program. It was a great year and I still can go to this teacher for help, she goes above and beyond.

Eagle Rock Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
Eagle Elementary needs to work on the massive bullying problem. They have no supervision in the yard and those bathrooms are beyond disgusting. Teachers need to be more sympathetic and not target students they do not like. I notice that the teachers there play favoritism and do not believe that certain students are capable of the worse!!!!! Too many students for just one principal; my children will not be attending next year. Can you say private school.


Eagle Rock Elementary School 4

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
This school has been wonderful and exceeded my expectations despite the reputation of largely overcrowded LAUSD schools. The principal really does care about the welfare and education of each student. He also started a valet program and occassionally you will see him out there directing students and families to safety. There are great teachers in the Gifted program that set high expectations and do their best to enrich their student's lives. My daughter is in the GATE program and it is definitely a more vigorous workload than a regular classroom, but she is learning skills that I believe will set her apart from the average student. Parents have the option to meet on a monthly basis with all the Gifted teachers to discuss progress. There is an orchestra at this school that is voluntary. This school offers an afterschool program for free provided by the county and any student can apply. The crew is run by young college age kids so most of the activities are social and homework time within your peer groups. There are music and art programs occassionally. Overall-ERE is a great school and my daughter is in a classroom with great kids.

Eagle Rock Elementary School 4

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
Eagle Rock Elementary is a great school. Both of my sons (pre-k, 1st grade) love the school and their teachers. There is a strong sense of community with amazing parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eagle Rock Elementary School
2057 Fair Park Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90041
(323) 254-6851
Last modified Eagle Rock Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eagle Rock Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top