Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Thomas A. Edison Middle School 1

Posted October 07, 2015
- a community member
You DO know that your new principal single-handedly destroyed the teacher and student morale at Eagle Rock High School, yes? Shame on LAUSD for leaving him there for 9 years and giving this monster another job! (He was suspended for nearly two years for his bullying and inappropriateness.) Got rid of several teachers and counselors -- ALL of them Caucasian, btw. Good luck with this psychopath!

Thomas A. Edison Middle School 3

Posted September 29, 2012
- a community member
im a student in my last year of middl school. well, im in the honors program and im a straight A student (yes we exist) no im not a unicorn. the teachers arent all at the same level, some teacher dont care about students and some do. every teacher does offer tutoring for free and the principal is good too. there 2 cops walking around campus and 3 deans there rarely any fights and we wear our student IDs around our necks at all times, we have around 5-10 clubs year book, AVID ,MESA, football, soccer, anime club, cheer, allstars, chop shop, book club.


Thomas A. Edison Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2012
- a teacher
Thomas Edison Middle School has made great forward strides in student discipline and academic achievement over the past 15 years. The campus is clean, students are generally polite and respectful and student attention on learning makes teaching at the school a pleasure. One area that still needs improvement is parent participation with their children's homework. When a majority of parents are actively involved with their children's homework/learning, Edison will take another giant leap forward with their mission of college ready, life-long learners.

Thomas A. Edison Middle School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a teacher
Edison is now one of, if not the highest performing middle school in local district 7. It is to be commended for its efforts. Thanks to the awesom leadership and wonderful teachers, Edison middle school students are college prepared and career ready! They now have an SAS program in Math (School for Advanced Studies). Way to go Edison!

Thomas A. Edison Middle School 1

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
Should basically be abolished. Nothing I see has changed in that school except for the huge fence around it that makes it seem like a jail.


Thomas A. Edison Middle School 5

Posted May 21, 2010
- a teacher
I love Thomas Alva Edison Middle School because it is full of teachers and staff who are dedicated to helping our students become life long learners, no matter what challenges lay before them.

Thomas A. Edison Middle School 4

Posted March 18, 2009
- a student
I attended ThomasAlva Edison on 2003-2004 and my experiences were amazing. There was alot of gang related people thatwere disrespectful but his school showed me the true meaning of life and also showed me that if I wanted to become someone I had to ignore things around me and move on with my life because only the strongest survive. I would recommend this school because it makes you responsible for yourself and gives you great opportunities and prizes if you do.

Thomas A. Edison Middle School 3

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
I think the API growth is great! I am glad that the principal we currently have cares about the students and is making positive changes....just visit the campus and you can see the difference!


Thomas A. Edison Middle School 2

Posted November 07, 2006
- a student
I was a student at Edison Middle School from 2000-2002. The school was under mass improvement with Ms. Banton as principal. She did a remarkable with the little time she was there and should be applauded. Test scores rose and the overall appearance of the school improved. Education in the gifted program is challenge and kept up to date. There are no sports extracurricular but there is a great leadership and music program.

Thomas A. Edison Middle School 3

Posted August 18, 2006
- a parent
Since the school has received a new prinicpal I have seen improvement in overall discipline at the school. The new leadership has been a positive change to the climate at Edison Middle School

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas A. Edison Middle School
6500 Hooper Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90001-1264
(323) 826-2500
Last modified Thomas A. Edison Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas A. Edison Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top