Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

El Sereno Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1358 students

El Sereno Middle School & Magnet Center is an International Baccalaureate School

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 7, 2014

I went to this school and I can say it was pretty cool, most teachers were very friendly and nice, example; Mr. Stemnock, Ms. O'Sullivan, Ms. Yee, Tellez, etc. The campus is spacious and offers places to go to. Security does pretty well too. I attended here from 6th to 8th and I'm glad I went there. I got to meet some cool teachers and students as well. Hope anyone else who goes there has a great time!


Posted April 24, 2014

My School is Awesome!! El Sereno Middle School has been turned upside down & inside out!! Our new principal has turned things around here, We are an International Baccalaureate School! The students have IB profiles & units that help them think outside the box, college ready, career ready, life ready. We have a garden, kids enjoy planting, weeding, mulching, learning in an environment that enrichs their learning skills.. Thanks to Enrich LA, Tomas O' Grady & Dr. Gipson our principal for bringing this oppurtunity to our school, our community, our students. Come check out the scholar way murial. 6th graders have an option to enroll into the USC NAI program. My other daughter is a 1st grader, so I am hoping the program is still here when she enrolls in 4 years here at ESMS. Come & See what El Sereno Middle School has to offer. It is different, it feels different. This public school offers so much that other private schools charge lots of money for. Forget all you have heard from the past, this is now, and these kids are our future & here they can grow to be difference makers in this world, our community & in their families!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Wow! I attended ESMS too.. Never in my wildest dreams I thought I would have kids and have them attend ESMS also. I have three kids and two of them graduated from here too. Now wishing for my youngest to do so too.. ESMS is a good school and it has has all the tools that student need to achieve their education.. I tell my kids the same words my mo Mold told my brothers and sisters when we attended school here! This school might have a bad reputation but it's not what the school makes for the student? It's what the student takes from the school! I could proudly say my kids have gotten the principals award and the 4.0 GPA award!! I am proud to say "I am a proud parent of ESMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

I am now a junior attending Azusa Pacific University, but I still make it a priority to come back and visit the teachers and staff whenever I have the chance. Everyone who works here is dedicated, passionate, and they strive to ensure student success. I was involved in both the Environmental Science Academy Program, which included some of the most academically influential instructors I have had the pleasure of working under, and the AVID program, which ensured that I was actively involved in paving a path toward success at the university level. I consider each and every staff member of El Sereno Middle School to be a family member and I have no idea as to where I would be academically if it were not for the staff and instructors who constantly poured their hearts and souls into molding me into the high achiever that I have become over the past ten years.


Posted August 19, 2013

School just started, and I couldn't be a happier parent. My 7th grader loves her classes and teachers. The school has a really positive vibe :) this school has made a special place for everyone. You can go to two magnets, an environmental science academy, dual language academy, or even start with USC now and get a scholarship for your kids future. ESMS is a special place!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

Woo hoo, our school is an International Baccalaureate School with both Mandarin and Spanish dual language programs. My teachers are awesome and we have a real arts program that wins more trophies than any other middle school- our drumline rocks. I'm getting ready to change the world and my teachers are getting me ready :)


Posted June 4, 2013

My school is very good. There are less fights and more activities June 4, 2013


Posted June 27, 2012

i am a student i did not like teachers and i didnt care about school but wen i became intrested in music i became a trombone player in the 6th grade as a beginner i was nat good but my teacher mr.legaspi helped me and i was inspired and never gave up i am now in advansed band and currently in the drumline we have won 1st place for th 5th time in a row . i am hoping to be able to be in the all city band whitch marches the rose parade . i am going to march the 4 of the july parade this year i am learning low rider and many other music . look if you kids or parents want a good middle school for your kids i recommened el sereno its the one school i felt like home but the worry if you dont want your son to be in a band but they like mariachi or playing the drums the music deparment will be the place you will like and we also have some really good piono players if you wanna see the drumline practice or here the tipe of music we play please go to you tube and put el sereno drumline or pep band or even mariachi. we even have a jazz band for you people who like the nice good soft music there is even diffrent activities that we have in this schoole lik S.R.L.A . -written by a student :)


Posted September 3, 2011

This school has improved allot.It use to be one of the worst schools in LAUSD but has hugely improved.I just graduated this year 2010-2011.And well my experience here wasn't that great.I went to the deans allot and i got bullied.But hey i did meet some cool people.The only good counselor in this school was Ms.Seranno but she got a pink slip and so did the whole music department.There were some good teachers like Mr.Bautista,Ms.Corona,Ms.Pena,Mr.Huey,Mrs.Schooler,Ms.Wu......I sometimes felt sorry for them because i felt they deserved a better school than this dump....But i did have some nice memories here.....


Posted March 6, 2011

This school is simple, bad grades, bad teachers. Good grades, good teachers. Bad community, bad everything, pretty much.


Posted September 13, 2009

Awesome school! Im a 7th grader. (NEW TO THIS SCHOOL) And I was so nervous to come here. But before the day it began my mom and me went to take a tour of the school. And the next day it was like I was there forever. I love it. TO any new students in the future dont be scared even of switching classes, making friends, or having more than one teacher. Its awesome better than Elem.! I was told this school was bad so many times but thats a lie! I totally recommend this school other than Emery park i used to go to a private school but this school is way better and even more better with the help it is getting from the mayor! You'll love it this school is awesome! Even P.E is awesome,and im a girl. So thats about it but youll love it! Trust me!


Posted May 31, 2009

El Sereno is an okay skool. If ur looking for a good school, I recommend the El Sereno Magnet.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

Nice :) This School is Awesome; Im a student and i think its great. i barley moved here i was going to a private school and the very first day the teachers were very welcoming and the students were very nice and open. as of when i went to a private school the teavhers didnt even talk to me :(
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2009

This is a wonderful and great school for all kids. its very open to the community, and very inspiring. i learned alot from here and im a succesful buisness man


Posted March 18, 2009

the books are good they are gving new book nesxt year and teh school is goood everyone that says that el sereno middle school is bad school should check because i go there and its good i learned way more than in private schools
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

The administration of this school is out of touch with what is really going on. Their only concerns are with the CST and enrollment. They are too week to enforce even the dress code effective and the new notebook program is regarded as a joke. Teachers are unsupported by the administration or the district and classroom matterials, such as textbooks and desks are terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

They have a wonderful magnet program which presents wonderful opportunities to their students. The teachers are nice,friendly, and understanding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2008

Its a pretty nice school with an awesome magnet program. Been in the magnet for my 3 years. I've made many great memories with the magnet. Its a close-knit community. The school has a decent number of afterschool activies and has an above average security. A decent number of electives, just not enough for the magents. The dress code isn't all that bad but I'll be glad to be done with it after this year. The staff and teachers are pretty friendly and try their best to help. My only complains was how they changed the magnet program to 3 classes instead of the orginal 2 and the fact that after the pe teacher left they spread us. The campas is pretty clean. I'll be sad to leave this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2008

El Sereno MS is a big and organized campus. The security staff are fair and most teachers are considerate of their students. It's an awesome school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2008

This school is the best school ever. Their teachers are very nice and their Magnet Program really helps the students raise their grade levels. They have pretty good safety rules. But I don't really like their dress code. They get you really prepared for the CST's and high school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

732

Change from
2012 to 2013

+7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

732

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
20%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

528 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
29%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
8%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

571 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

530 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females53%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asian44%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%

Math

All Students47%
Females43%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students80%
Females77%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state86%

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females47%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability24%
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state37%

Math

All Students33%
Females35%
Males31%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability33%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only38%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate34%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students28%
Females27%
Males30%
African Americann/a
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability17%
Students with no reported disability29%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only28%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented60%
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate25%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state24%

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Females43%
Males35%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate66%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to state34%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students12%
Females14%
Males9%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino11%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability2%
Students with no reported disability14%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only14%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate14%
Parent education - high school graduate4%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)19%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state12%

Geometry

All Students85%
Females83%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate88%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state88%

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students44%
Females45%
Males42%
African American36%
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate57%
Parent education - declined to state36%

Science

All Students50%
Females48%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to state46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 92%
Asian 4%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
White 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/AN/A
English language learners 17%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 1%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
German
Hebrew
Japanese
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • QEIA Promising Practice (2014)
  • LAUSD Model of Excellence (2012)
  • International Baccalaureate Authorization (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Healthy Start Collaborative (2014)
  • Enrich LA (2013)
  • Global Youth Awareness (2014)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Flag girls
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • DualLanguage Programs
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 1297 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
62%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
65%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
60%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
60%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
59%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
60%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
45%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
58%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
35%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
43%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
49%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
56%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
43%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
46%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
46%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents17219%
Students106976%
Employees5637%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Frances Gipson, PhD
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (323) 223-9024

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Dual Language
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • DualLanguage Programs
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • magnet bus transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • ASL- American Sign Language
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Flag girls
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Recycling club
  • SFE- Students for Equality
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • WEB-Where Everyone Belongs
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Farmdale ES
El Sereno ES
City Terrace ES

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Wilson HS
Lincoln HS
Bravo Medical Magnet
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2839 North Eastern Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90032
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 224-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT