Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
102 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 170 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Emerson Community Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 29, 2016
- a community member
I have heard very good things about the teachers at this school. However, I am very concerned with the administration and the direction the school is headed.

Emerson Community Charter School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted January 29, 2016
- a community member
I am concerned about the direction this school is headed. I have seen it before.


Emerson Community Charter School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted January 29, 2016
- a community member
I am concerned about the direction this school is headed. I have seen it before.

Emerson Community Charter School 5

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about this school. The school offers so many great opportunities for the students. My only complaint is that it's not possible for my child to take advantage of them all. Our whole family went to see the musical production even though our daughter wasn't in it. The auditorium was packed. So nice to see all the kids come out to support their friends. And it was an amazing production. So much talent. I hear the students help build the sets and make the costumes. And I saw students running the light cues and sound board. They really learn how a theater operates. Also, the robotics students went on a field trip to the UCLA engineering labs two weeks ago. And the 8th grade history teacher had her students do a moot court with a real Superior Court Judge volunteering and parent lawyers helping the students prepare their arguments. I wish I could go back to middle school.

Emerson Community Charter School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to the Assistant Principal for always being available to my daughter when she's having a hard day. It's nice to know she has someone she feels comfortable going to.


Emerson Community Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers are better than others and my kids have clicked with some and not others. But one of the great lessons of school is learning how to succeed even when you don't like the teacher or you don't think the teacher is the best. But there are teachers that my daughter didn't like that I still thought were great teachers. This year, 8th grade, my daugher loves all her teachers. So great.

Emerson Community Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
It really depends on the student and not the teacher. The accelerated math classes are tougher and will have more homework. But it comes down to how well your child was prepared for middle school. Some kids come in well-prepared. Others spend the first semester just learning how to manage their time.

Emerson Community Charter School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
I think over the years, this has really improved. A few years ago, I would have said that the Sports Academy was the one place that really developed grit. But now I would say that about most of the academies, such as STEM and this year I would include the Leadership Academy.


Emerson Community Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Yes. The school lays down clear rules and expects students to follow them. Kids are given a lot of responsibility and opportunities to build trust.

Emerson Community Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
I have had two students go through this school. Each one has found teachers that they feel close to and feel that their teachers cared deeply about them. This is so important during these teenage years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emerson Community Charter School
1650 Selby Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90024
(310) 234-3100
Last modified Emerson Community Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Emerson Community Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 170 reviews. Top