Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
104 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 176 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Emerson Community Charter School 1

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member

Emerson Community Charter School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member


Emerson Community Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member

Emerson Community Charter School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member

Emerson Community Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
The teachers fall sadly short. Classrooms are over-crowded and most teachers are just going through the motions.


Emerson Community Charter School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
The only "grit" being developed is having to deal with "street-tough" kids that come from other neighborhoods. It may be a good thing to be exposed to other types of people, but in general this school falls short of supporting individuals' differences and instead there is an "us against them" atmosphere with the bused-in kids and the neighborhood kids.

Emerson Community Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
Nope, no effort is made to talk about any of these topics "compassion, caring, empathy". No way.

Emerson Community Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
This schooll NEVER discusses the concepts of honesty and integrity. Public schools don't talk about HOW TO BE A GOOD HUMAN BEING.


Emerson Community Charter School 3

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
This school could be great but is unfortunately mediocre at best. 6th grade was OK. The 7th grade teachers are mostly really terrible. The vice principal is a wonderful person, and I wish she was running the place. The principal is no good and has his own agenda. My kid is in the "SAS" program which is supposedly an honors/gifted curriculum, and he is NOT challenged enough. If you are able, look elsewhere - mainly for better teachers.

Emerson Community Charter School 5

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about this school. The school offers so many great opportunities for the students. My only complaint is that it's not possible for my child to take advantage of them all. Our whole family went to see the musical production even though our daughter wasn't in it. The auditorium was packed. So nice to see all the kids come out to support their friends. And it was an amazing production. So much talent. I hear the students help build the sets and make the costumes. And I saw students running the light cues and sound board. They really learn how a theater operates. Also, the robotics students went on a field trip to the UCLA engineering labs two weeks ago. And the 8th grade history teacher had her students do a moot court with a real Superior Court Judge volunteering and parent lawyers helping the students prepare their arguments. I wish I could go back to middle school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emerson Community Charter School
1650 Selby Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90024
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 176 reviews. (310) 234-3100
Last modified Emerson Community Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top