Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
99 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 168 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fairburn Avenue Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
Most teachers are above average; however, I've personally seen (and been told by another parent) that there is one teacher who works at least once every week (to every other week) high.

Fairburn Avenue Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
There is A LOT of busy work geared towards the average student. If your child is a top performer, Warner is a FAR better choice.


Fairburn Avenue Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
I don't see how teachers can send these types of positive messages when they teach while they're high.

Fairburn Avenue Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
I don't see how teachers can send these types of positive messages when they teach while they're high.

Fairburn Avenue Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
It's obvious that the principal is running a tight ship except for one teacher. I don't think that educators can teach students compassion, caring or empathy if they're high.


Fairburn Avenue Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
I don't see how teachers can send these types of positive messages when they teach while they're high.

Fairburn Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
The principal is an all star in every way. She's obviously well educated, high engaged and dedicated to the students.

Fairburn Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
Fairburn is a truly a gem. The school provides the type of quality education that our children deserve. The teachers are outstanding. Ms. Marantz has always been a family favorite and Coach Sasha is nothing short of a legend on that campus.


Fairburn Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
This school is truly amazing. The education is excellent and my child is beginning to LOVE going to school! His grades have improved greatly and the language arts teacher Ms.Marantz is my child's favorite teacher. I would recommend this school to everyone.

Fairburn Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
I don't think that there is any doubt that Fairburn is a great school. That greatness continues but, I have felt a bit of a disconnect between the school and the parents over the last couple of years. Instead of working together for the betterment of all (as was done in the past), it has become a strained relationship. That being said, my children have always, and continue to enjoy their experience. They have loved their teachers and rave about Coach Sasha. The STAR after-school program is also an outstanding part of Fairburn.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fairburn Avenue Elementary School
1403 Fairburn Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90024-6014
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 168 reviews. (310) 470-1344
Last modified Fairburn Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top