Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 371
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
54th st school street school is a great choice when looking where to place your child. My child is a special needs child. They have an excellent special education teacher that knows how to teach these special needs children. Mrs. Neal Thomas is an excellent teacher. The principal and staff are excellent. The principal Mr. Fortie works very hard to ensure the safety of your children and the education of your children is important to her. It is important as a parent to feel as your child is in great hands and 54th street assures me this.

Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2011
- a parent
My daughter recently finished Pre-K and is on to Kindergarden. I found the parents coordinator, Ms. Alexander, to be frank, helpful, and very caring about the kids success. Although the principals seem to change every 2-3 years, Ms. Alexander's and the other staff's investment in the students and parents make it seem as if the school is always under the same chief administrator. I am excited for my daughter to continue at 54th in a safe, caring, and nurturing environment.


Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2010
- a parent
Hard working Principal, caring teachers

Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
I love the teachers and the parent representative.

Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School 4

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School 4

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in Kinder, this year at 54th and I just love it. The school has a strong push towards creating a college going culture and has shown veery high expectations for their students, even the Kinder students. The school is safe and well staffed and maintained! The Prinicipal Dr. Davis has demonstrated strong leadership and continues to build a strong foundation. The main reason that I have given a 4 and not a 5 is because I feel the school could do a better job with enhancements in the Arts department. The school hasnt had many social activities in whick kids in my opinion need in order to couple with the academic side. I am definately sending my child for 1st grade. Lastly the Teacher Mrs. Moore believes in a STRONG foundation, she pushes the kids to heights that even they probably didnt believe they could go.

Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful school. Wonderful leadership from Dr. Davis. He has some amazing programs in place such as Spanish, a great computer lab, a lego league, etc...My son was in private school and I was terrified to put him in public school within LAUSD. However, 54th street has assured me that not ALL schools are bad. This school is better than the private school my son was attending. Highly recommend this school!

Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School 1

Posted August 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School 4

Posted January 13, 2007
- a parent
This is a very strong school that just proved itself by pulling out of school improvement status. Kudos for all of the hard work the staff of 54th Street has done to bring that school to another level.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School
5501 South Eileen Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90043
(323) 294-5275
Last modified Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fifty-Fourth Street Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top