Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fifty-Second Street Elementary School 3

Posted April 23, 2016
- a parent
The school has made some improvement in the last few years. There are many programs available for all students and activities that promote a sense of community. Additional positive parent support is needed. Fellow parents, complaining and not helping will give our children the wrong message. WE have to be respectful and polite for our children to be respectful productive citizens in our community. Schools can only teach if as parents we support the education of our children.

Fifty-Second Street Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
Solid School like every school has its cons but they are making the effort to improve.


Fifty-Second Street Elementary School 1

Posted April 24, 2015
- a community member
The principal Mr.Jimenez does not handle management well at all. Student are violent, he does nothing. Students bring weapons to school, he does nothing. Keeps telling parents to talk to the teachers when it's actually his responsibility. He gives a "good show" but qualitatively does nothing productive or beneficial for the students or families. No teacher or parent I know respects him as a principal, but feel like there's little they can do. Time for a change!!!

Fifty-Second Street Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2013
- a teacher
This school has under gown some amazing accomplishments since the addition of Mr. Jimenez, the new principal, and an almost entire new staff. The teachers have worked tirelessly and collaboratively to revive the school moral and to empower parents to work with them as partners to their child's education. I believe that all these changes have benefited everyone, but in particular the students of this school. :)

Fifty-Second Street Elementary School 3

Posted April 08, 2011
- a parent
The old principal left in January. Since then, it's been great. Very welcoming and accomodating to parents and no more yelling! I went into the office the other day and wasn't treated like garbage. THANK GOD there's a new principal.


Fifty-Second Street Elementary School 1

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
This school could do good, but the principal is awful, the office staff is rude The principal yells at teachers infront of parents in the morning and yells all day long. Also, the kindergarten teachers can't even speak english right, but they are supposdedly teaching children english. What a joke. Their accents are so thick, no oneder the kids can't read.

Fifty-Second Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
I like this school. a good staff of teachers and administrators. The test scores go up every year. My son learned a lot there in 4th and 5th grade.

Fifty-Second Street Elementary School 2

Posted September 02, 2008
- a teacher
52nd Street Elementary is trying very hard to meet the California Standards. We are trying to push and encourage our students to achieve at the proficient level. Being an inner city school, it does have it's challenges and disappointments. However, over the 8 years that I have been teaching there, it is only getting better. I believe this school has major potential to be an outstanding school if everyone -- staff, faculty, parents, and students) make a huge effort and really get involved.


Fifty-Second Street Elementary School 1

Posted October 01, 2005
- a parent
This school is poorly organized and teaches to the lowest common denominator. There is nowhere for kids to shine as there is little extecurricular activities and the principal runs the school like a boot-camp. Stay away!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fifty-Second Street Elementary School
816 West 51st Street, Los Angeles, CA  90037-3603
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (323) 753-3175
Last modified Fifty-Second Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top